Chevron Left
Back to Social Norms, Social Change II

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Social Norms, Social Change II by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
307 ratings
73 reviews

About the Course

This course is Part 2 of the Social Norms, Social Change series. In this course, we will examine social change, the tools we may use to enact change, and put into practice all we have learned in Part 1. See Social Norms, Social Change Part I at this link: https://coursera.org/learn/norms This course covers scripts and schemas, the cognitive structures in which social expectations are embedded, and their relationship with social norms. The course then examines the essentials of norm abandonment, including the relations between personal beliefs and social expectations. We will also evaluate existing intervention strategies, including legal reforms, information campaigns, economic incentives, and group deliberations. Finally, we look at a variety of tools policy makers may use to effect change, highlight the role of trendsetters in social change, and explore the conditions under which they can be successful. The course is a joint Penn-UNICEF project." Please see the following link for a 30% discount on the book that accompanies this course: https://global.oup.com/academic/product/9780190622053/?cc=us&lang=en&promocode=AAFLYG6...

Top reviews

ES

Oct 08, 2017

I absolutely loved this course. One issue I would like to point out though is that there are mistakes in the transcripts (for example, instead of trendsetter, the word, transactor appears often).

SM

Aug 05, 2017

This course is outstanding . I love it and i haven't been boring of any section of it..\n\nIt is good to know how can one social norm can effects the community and how can we avoid doing it

Filter by:

51 - 74 of 74 Reviews for Social Norms, Social Change II

By jflegere

Nov 26, 2016

Very interesting co

By Kleber L d S

May 25, 2020

Curso maravilhoso.

By Arupa S

Feb 09, 2017

Excellent course !

By Xiaoyu H

Mar 29, 2019

It is quite good!

By Ruth N

Jul 09, 2019

Exhaustive

By Audra B

Aug 21, 2017

excellent!

By Ali m E A H E

Jul 03, 2017

very good

By Ila A

Dec 21, 2016

Excellent

By BAHAA E G

May 31, 2020

awesome

By Пресич П А

Jun 02, 2019

Great!

By Hassan A A

Sep 28, 2018

Thanks

By Md S R

Apr 17, 2020

good

By Youra A

Oct 10, 2019

I had no background knowledge in social science but I feel like I can understand the basics of human interaction related to humanitarian aids. I am surprised how fun it can be to learn this course. I was able to finish the series just within few days as it was really engaging and interesting.

By Pamela M

Jun 11, 2017

The course was a more practical continuation of Social Norms I, and brought the social norms abandonment in perspective. However, the main emphasis was on the knowledge and less on the skills to be able to practice and use the information in work related activities.

By Catherine H

Mar 05, 2019

You have to work hard and pay attention in this class, but I think the information is very valuable, and you can tell that the professor is very knowledgeable about her field.

By OLUFUNKE A

Jul 27, 2020

it's been an enriching and eye opening journey for me. So glad i had the opportunity via this platform. I've learnt a lot.

By Sankar V

Jan 06, 2017

A Good course with an informative execution centred curriculum

By Craig C

Feb 18, 2017

Another great social norms social change online course.

By Quentin J

May 10, 2020

Very accessible and comprehensive. Thanks

By Maisha S

Jun 14, 2017

good program

By Simon L

Dec 28, 2017

Generally a very interesting course, the later part particularly dealing with Trendsetters would have benefitted from more examples - to enlighten the theory.

By Nang M

Feb 11, 2020

The course i learn is very good and it related our community. So we need to change disadvantdage norm. All of the lessons have effective for learner.

By Pooja S

Sep 05, 2019

I found this course to be a little drag in terms of being able to keep my interest consistent. Too much done with four weeks and done in a mechanical way. Part 1 is easier to understand and there is a coherency of method which gets lost in part ii by the time we reach the 2nd week.

By Ni N

Aug 07, 2020

not well-structured.