Chevron Left
Back to Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chicken Behaviour and Welfare by The University of Edinburgh

4.8
stars
1,061 ratings

About the Course

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

Top reviews

MS

Jul 30, 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

NW

Oct 28, 2020

I learned so much. I am a hobby farmer with a small flock, but I really enjoyed learning about all aspects of chicken welfare as it pertains to both small and large scale operations. Thank you!

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 385 Reviews for Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

By Troy D J

Jul 27, 2016

Awesome! I took the course to go along with my current job training and will use it to help me advance in my current career.

By Alex J

Jun 19, 2020

I have learned a great deal about poultry welfare and now feel confident in evaluating their well being via their behaviour

By José A C S M

May 22, 2020

I study veterinary medicine. Behavior, welfare and avian medicine interest me.

Everything I could learn was very enriching!

By Helen G

Feb 16, 2022

As someone who has worked with birds before, but only recently started keeping chickens, this was helpful and informative.

By Jobayer S

Oct 26, 2020

I like the course very much. I have learned many things. Hopefully it will help me in near future. Thanks all the mentors.

By Dr . G M A

May 2, 2020

It was a wonderful course I learned a lot Thank you from the bottom of my heart

Veterinarian Ghazwan Muhammad Al-Sheikh

By Yana S

Feb 11, 2018

I learned so many things in this course. I particularly liked the behavior and how to manage it portion of the course.

By Misty K

Dec 1, 2016

Loving this course!!!!! When I was a teenager we lived on a farm and raised chickens I even had several for pets!!

By Lola M

Dec 18, 2022

A lot I already knew but defienetly some helpful advice and fun facts! The chickens in the videos are too cute! :)

By Maddie L

May 24, 2021

As a backyard chicken keeper, I realise I had a lot to learn. I enjoyed this course and found it very informative.

By Mary M

May 4, 2020

I enjoyed taking this class. I have raised chickens and learned about housing, feeding and mercy killing chickens.

By Helen L

Oct 14, 2016

Good overall information about small personal flocks as well as the commercial use of chickens for eggs and meat.

By Michelle V

Feb 5, 2021

Great course. I learned a lot about chickens and now can take care of mine with much more knowledge and success.

By NEWTON L

Jan 10, 2020

This is coarse has very rich material and I advise anyone in the sector and along the value chain to take it.

By Vivian C

Oct 16, 2017

Excellent course in both material content and the friendly and easy to understand approach from the lecturer.

By Bitney M

Nov 3, 2018

Well balanced course. Presented in a structured way. Providing excellent information and good perspective.

By marijke

Apr 24, 2020

Wonderful course, great level of information. Good layout, well presented. Well pitched level of learning.

By Matthew A

Jul 14, 2017

This course is a good course for beginning and experienced poultry farmers I would recommend it to anyone.

By Diane M

Jan 5, 2021

This was detailed and inclusive and I will find the information useful with my new flock of layer hens

By David M

Jul 28, 2022

Excelente introducción a las cuestionas básicas para la cria de gallinas ponedoras y pollo para caren

By Oluwaseyi M

May 15, 2021

I learnt about the specific welfare of chicken and handling of chicken to help improve my knowledge.

By Annie P

Aug 5, 2019

This course was excellent. Brought knowledge about chicken, raising them and their welfare issues.

By Cynthia A

Aug 11, 2016

This is a great class. I enjoyed the videos. I hope to see more classes on poultry in the future.

By victoria w

Sep 12, 2017

Absolutely invaluable teaching for anyone keeping poultry and seeking to be a better flockmaster