Chevron Left
Back to Child Nutrition and Cooking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Child Nutrition and Cooking by Stanford University

4.8
stars
7,664 ratings
2,380 reviews

About the Course

Eating patterns that begin in childhood affect health and well-being across the lifespan. The culture of eating has changed significantly in recent decades, especially in parts of the world where processed foods dominate our dietary intake. This course examines contemporary child nutrition and the impact of the individual decisions made by each family. The health risks associated with obesity in childhood are also discussed. Participants will learn what constitutes a healthy diet for children and adults and how to prepare simple, delicious foods aimed at inspiring a lifelong celebration of easy home-cooked meals. This course will help prepare participants to be the leading health providers, teachers and parents of the present and future.The text and other material in this course may include the opinion of the specific instructor and are not statements of advice, endorsement, opinion, or information of Stanford University....

Top reviews

ZP
Oct 6, 2015

This course is immensely informative, as well as fun! I loved the way Maya made things simple, with diagrams to accompany all of the the nutrition information. I hope she does more courses like these!

RH
Sep 16, 2017

very useful and practical course.. it boosts my positive energy to cook more and more in healthy way for my baby coz much love=much healthy.. It inspired me, it's very simple , easy and very healthy..

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 2,361 Reviews for Child Nutrition and Cooking

By Irina N

Oct 14, 2015

Thanks to this course I buy healthful foods and cut my grocery bill by almost 40%. Tomato sauce and crepes are staples in our family now. I got really inspired to pack not only my children's lunches, but also my and my husband's brown bags. Thank you Maya and your team for improving our lives!

By Anyigor O N

Apr 26, 2020

This course was has opened my eyes to a whole lot of things about healthy diets for my children. Thanks for the wonderful demonstrations. Though some of the ingredients used are not readily available in my country, Nigeria, I understood all they meant to contribute to the whole meal prepared.

By David A M

Aug 31, 2020

This course provides an in depth look at not only nutrition but also sheds a lot of light on how the foods we consume are produced and the environmental impact our eating habits contribute to. I especially liked the cooking demonstrations because it proved how simple home made meals can be.

By B K

Nov 3, 2019

All human beings deserve to know about what they eat, its unfortunate that some do not even questioning the food offers we have because everyone else does it. I was one of them too. My sincere gratitude for offering this course free of charge and making it so fun, easy to follow and useful.

By jessica g

Mar 17, 2017

Such a great stepping stone to cooking simple and delicious foods. I have been encouraging clean eating gradually with my daughter and she absolutely picks vegetables now that they are presented differently. I would love to see more recipes from Maya to incorporate in our everyday menus.

By Andrea K

Jun 19, 2016

Dr. Maya has done a fantastic job of creating this easy-to-follow course which covers a wide range of fundamental knowledge everyone should know! I work with kids and whilst education is merely one side of it, ensuring they receive good nutrition is equally important. Thank you Dr. Maya!

By Anastasia K

Aug 20, 2015

I loved almost every episode of this course. They are very different: some are practical, some are very informative and all of them are easy to get. The course is simple and i would say basic especially for those who have decided to change food behavior, but does not know where to start.

By Philip O

Sep 2, 2020

This course is a great one which everyone should have a knowledge of especially parents and people giving care to children. All in all, everyone should want to partake in this course before we all eat should and anything worth doing at all is worth doing well. So eat well, stay healthy!

By Esteban E

Aug 30, 2015

This is an excellent course for parents! You can learn many simply tips that will have a profound impact on the way you cook for your family. Cooking healthy food doesn't need to be more expensive or more complicated that not so healthy options. Very recommendable! Maya is a great host.

By Tania S

Mar 1, 2021

A well planned and structured course , cooking suggestions and info really worthwhile. A learners community may be started so that across the world they can share the healthy food options for children. Wish Maya a great journey ahead in sensitising the community about Child Nutrition.

By Inna P

Nov 4, 2019

Maya is a very inspirational speaker and gives very clear and valuable information. The whole course is a perfect base to start your own way into the world on nutrition science and conscious eating and consumption. I'm looking forward to starting Introduction into Nutrition with Maya.

By Govinda G

Jun 29, 2019

It is very helpful to get reliable information from authentic source. As there is so much misleading information shared by food companies. The best thing about this course is to practically demonstrate ( with recipes ) how healthy cooking is absolutely possible in the busy life style.

By Eduardo D V V

Oct 19, 2015

Great Course!! Very well explained, easy to understand and overall very useful information. I have learn a TON with this course and definitely i would recommend it to anyone concerned about their children nutrition.

It would be great to see a Child Nutrition and Cooking 2!

Great work.

By Abena Q

Mar 19, 2020

So well-explained and easy to understand. Its obvious the teacher tries to live in a way that matches her beliefs and values so it feels very real and down-to-earth. She makes you feel empowered to make small, yet significant changes in the way you cook, buy and eat food. Loved it!

By Greeshma

Apr 10, 2020

Loved the course! Highly recommend it to all new parents! Just like new parents are recommended to take child birth lessons, I think courses like these about child nutrition should also be recommended by doctors so there is widespread education on how to prevent childhood obesity.

By Janna H

Dec 25, 2016

I found this class to be doable with a 2-month-old infant. I enjoyed the reading. My older kids, ages 7 and 11 enjoyed the videos with me. The class helped our family have many great conversations about what we see at the grocery store and why we cook at home as much as we can.

By Franziska C

Jan 29, 2016

This was a very inspiring and motivating course. I changed the way of eating now and enjoy more fresh foods and vegetables. I also go to a food market once a week and take my child with me who enjoys a lot. Thank you very much for installing this course and sharing your knowledge.

By C B

Nov 2, 2015

My favorite parts from my course are when Mum Adams talks with us from her kitchen. It makes me feel like we are the kitchen together talking mom to mom. She is imparting helpful tips and tricks to be a good mom. The student was not as good at imparting that feeling of closeness.

By Maria E G

Aug 20, 2015

This is a course that shows, in a practical and funny way, fundamental nutrition concepts. I recommend to take it even if you do not have children, but you are interested into understand how our bodies processes food and how eating healthy could be easier than you ever imagined.

By MARIA V

Feb 8, 2016

Buenas tardes, retome nuevamente este excelente curso, soy vegana y me encanta la cocina. Agradeciendo los tips para dar buen sabor a los vegetales, y en general a la comida que preparamos.

Muchas gracias por ayudarnos a las personas que preparamos la comida saludable.

att. Pilar

By Yessica D

Aug 10, 2017

En lo personal, este curso es muy útil, no solo te ayuda a comprender elementos básicos de la nutrición, si no que además te enseña a preparar opciones saludables para ti y tu familia. Lo que más me gustó fue la forma como lo explican y también, lo visual que es todo el curso.

By Rafael S L

Oct 22, 2016

Excelent course, highly recomended for all parents that seek the best orientation on their childs nutrition. Is very simple and clear, but also the information is very complet, the videos quality is very good as also the content. Greetings from Monclova, Coahuila, in Mexico.

By Talia K

Apr 15, 2016

Maya is an inspiring teacher and mother. I also consider her an artist for the wonderful animations that accompany the course. Thank you for inviting me into your home and kitchen, and reinforcing my choices as a mother and a consumer. It was a fun and interesting experience!

By aisha d

Sep 2, 2015

I really enjoyed the passe and the visual stimulation. I appreciate that Dr. Maya Adam made the lecture personal by sharing her experiences and including her family in the videos. Thank you and I look forward to completing more courses especially if Dr. Adam is the presenter.