Chevron Left
Back to Child Nutrition and Cooking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Child Nutrition and Cooking by Stanford University

4.8
stars
7,210 ratings
2,231 reviews

About the Course

Eating patterns that begin in childhood affect health and well-being across the lifespan. The culture of eating has changed significantly in recent decades, especially in parts of the world where processed foods dominate our dietary intake. This course examines contemporary child nutrition and the impact of the individual decisions made by each family. The health risks associated with obesity in childhood are also discussed. Participants will learn what constitutes a healthy diet for children and adults and how to prepare simple, delicious foods aimed at inspiring a lifelong celebration of easy home-cooked meals. This course will help prepare participants to be the leading health providers, teachers and parents of the present and future.The text and other material in this course may include the opinion of the specific instructor and are not statements of advice, endorsement, opinion, or information of Stanford University....

Top reviews

ZP
Oct 6, 2015

This course is immensely informative, as well as fun! I loved the way Maya made things simple, with diagrams to accompany all of the the nutrition information. I hope she does more courses like these!

RH
Sep 16, 2017

very useful and practical course.. it boosts my positive energy to cook more and more in healthy way for my baby coz much love=much healthy.. It inspired me, it's very simple , easy and very healthy..

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 2,216 Reviews for Child Nutrition and Cooking

By Putri M

Nov 19, 2020

I'm so grateful to have an opportunity to join this course, I've learned a lot. The teaching method is fabulous, the lecture feels fun and the method makes us learn easier. The materials are complete and could be given in a little amount of time, and we still can catch up with the materials. Thank you

By Tambudzai T

Mar 28, 2018

This is a great course that should be taken by every parent and everyone working with children. Maya is so graceful when she teaches. I love all the recipes and I have done most of then at home for my 9 year old son, he loved them. Now when I go into a shop I start from the fruits and vegetables side.

By Buket F

Jan 19, 2016

Excellent course! I loved taking this course.

Eventhough I did not learn much new, I got assurance via this course, that what and how I cook for my 2 year old is healthy and the right way. ;)

While seeing some of the videos, I found it funny that I actually cook basically exact same way as Mrs Adams.

By Deleted A

May 11, 2020

Es verdaderamente ultil este curso por todas la habilidades que se logran a través de todos los módulos brindados. Se aprende a grandes rasgos sobre la buena alimentación y pienso que no solo es aplicable para los niños sino para toda las personas en general, sea, adolescentes, adultos y ancianos.

By Laura H

Jan 8, 2020

While I already had a background on this topic, I picked up some good details from this course. The presentations were concise and well done. I loved the cooking demonstrations! This course has reminded me how much I enjoy cooking for my kids and that nutrition is also aligned with my career goals.

By David W

Dec 13, 2015

Excellently done. Easy to follow and well organized. I learned a lot! It was a pleasure to see the professor so excited and passionate about the subject and about her family.

I love the plurality of the subtitles. Surprised and pleased by the quality of them (korean is the only one I can vouch for).

By Aida L R

May 9, 2020

Me gusto la forma como se explicaba la importancia de la nutricion en los ninos, ya que estos son la base de la nueva generacion, y la responsabilidad de los padres en cuanto a tener un conocimiento para obtener una buena base alimentaria y que esto sirve para fundamentar las nuevas generaciones.

By Damjan M

Jan 7, 2016

Incredibly informative, definitely appropriate for beginners, but also useful for advanced readers in the field of nutrition, cooking or healthy living in general. The explanations are beyond great, even for people whose native language isn't English. In general, very very interesting and helpful.

By Fabiola P S

Jan 8, 2018

Estuvo increíble, aprendí la importancia de la comida integral y sus consecuencias en la salud de los niños, así como el impacto que puede tener en ello ya siendo adultos.

La expositora me encantó sus platicas fueron cortas sencillas para aquellas personas que no somos expertos de la salud.

Gracias

By Megha M

Aug 12, 2016

Its a wonderfully compiled course which teaches us how to encourage and inculcate good and healthy eating habits in children and also gives an insight into what is food and how can food be made more healthy and palatable. Some easy recipes have been taught which will surely interest the children.

By Zaraa F

Aug 12, 2015

This course has really good information. Very simple and straightforward and I am happy to say that I am using lots of the tips and ideas with my boys. I did find that some of the tips given were a bit unrealistic however it still makes you want to make better choices about food and your family.

By Jennifer J B

Jan 22, 2017

This course definitely changed the way I feed my children. It requires more trips to the store, but knowing I am putting healthy, sustainable choices in front of them makes it feel like less of a burden. The way the material was presented was very understandable and made you want to continue.

By Elsa M I A

Mar 18, 2016

Thanks a lot Maya, I am cooking your recipes and my famly love them. I adjust them to ingredients in my country, I from Peru. The knowledge is great to complement my work. I am a doctor, i got a certified speciality from ACSM, so the course is important for my family and my patients. Greetings.

By Yuridia L C F

Nov 2, 2015

Good evening, I'm from Mexico and I am a teacher in a School of Nutrition, however, I am Biochemical Engineer, the truth is that this course is very interesting and easy to understand, besides extending the criteria and me about this science. I appreciate the matching available online. Regards.

By Irina N

Oct 14, 2015

Thanks to this course I buy healthful foods and cut my grocery bill by almost 40%. Tomato sauce and crepes are staples in our family now. I got really inspired to pack not only my children's lunches, but also my and my husband's brown bags. Thank you Maya and your team for improving our lives!

By Anyigor O N

Apr 26, 2020

This course was has opened my eyes to a whole lot of things about healthy diets for my children. Thanks for the wonderful demonstrations. Though some of the ingredients used are not readily available in my country, Nigeria, I understood all they meant to contribute to the whole meal prepared.

By David A M

Aug 31, 2020

This course provides an in depth look at not only nutrition but also sheds a lot of light on how the foods we consume are produced and the environmental impact our eating habits contribute to. I especially liked the cooking demonstrations because it proved how simple home made meals can be.

By B K

Nov 3, 2019

All human beings deserve to know about what they eat, its unfortunate that some do not even questioning the food offers we have because everyone else does it. I was one of them too. My sincere gratitude for offering this course free of charge and making it so fun, easy to follow and useful.

By jessica g

Mar 17, 2017

Such a great stepping stone to cooking simple and delicious foods. I have been encouraging clean eating gradually with my daughter and she absolutely picks vegetables now that they are presented differently. I would love to see more recipes from Maya to incorporate in our everyday menus.

By Andrea K

Jun 19, 2016

Dr. Maya has done a fantastic job of creating this easy-to-follow course which covers a wide range of fundamental knowledge everyone should know! I work with kids and whilst education is merely one side of it, ensuring they receive good nutrition is equally important. Thank you Dr. Maya!

By Anastasia K

Aug 20, 2015

I loved almost every episode of this course. They are very different: some are practical, some are very informative and all of them are easy to get. The course is simple and i would say basic especially for those who have decided to change food behavior, but does not know where to start.

By Philip O

Sep 2, 2020

This course is a great one which everyone should have a knowledge of especially parents and people giving care to children. All in all, everyone should want to partake in this course before we all eat should and anything worth doing at all is worth doing well. So eat well, stay healthy!

By Esteban E

Aug 30, 2015

This is an excellent course for parents! You can learn many simply tips that will have a profound impact on the way you cook for your family. Cooking healthy food doesn't need to be more expensive or more complicated that not so healthy options. Very recommendable! Maya is a great host.

By Inna P

Nov 4, 2019

Maya is a very inspirational speaker and gives very clear and valuable information. The whole course is a perfect base to start your own way into the world on nutrition science and conscious eating and consumption. I'm looking forward to starting Introduction into Nutrition with Maya.

By Govinda G

Jun 29, 2019

It is very helpful to get reliable information from authentic source. As there is so much misleading information shared by food companies. The best thing about this course is to practically demonstrate ( with recipes ) how healthy cooking is absolutely possible in the busy life style.