Chevron Left
Back to Chimpanzee Behavior and Conservation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chimpanzee Behavior and Conservation by Duke University

4.9
stars
217 ratings
69 reviews

About the Course

Chimpanzees are one of our closest living relatives, yet almost nothing was known about their behavior in the wild until Jane Goodall started her groundbreaking study of the chimpanzees of Gombe, Tanzania in 1960. This study continues today, following the same chimpanzee families that Jane Goodall first encountered over 55 years ago. Guided by three course instructors who have lived and worked with the Gombe chimpanzees, you will learn how Goodall’s early discoveries changed our view of human uniqueness. By completing the course, you will gain a new appreciation of the deep similarities between chimpanzees and humans in intelligence, tool use, hunting, personality and social relationships, as well as some key differences. You will learn how chimpanzees interact with their environment and how their behavior is influenced by ecology, as well as the severe conservation challenges they face today. And you will employ your new knowledge of chimpanzees to construct a persuasive argument for their protection. This course is open to everyone interested in learning more about these fascinating and complex beings. Knowledge of high-school level biology is beneficial but not required. Please keep in mind, however, that the content of this course will cover all aspects of chimpanzee life, including scientific discussion of sexual and aggressive behaviors....

Top reviews

AK
May 8, 2020

I knew some about chimpanzees, but this just furthered my love and knowledge even more. The course was clear and easy to follow. You get what you put into the course, so take the take and learn!

JJ
Apr 10, 2019

A very interesting overview of chimpanzee behavior, ecology, and preservation. This course makes you want to go to Africa and spend at least some time working with chimpanzee studies.

Filter by:

51 - 70 of 70 Reviews for Chimpanzee Behavior and Conservation

By Maya T

May 17, 2020

Amazing course! Helped me discover a new passion!

By Anastasiia G

Apr 30, 2020

Thank you for such an educating course!

By Bhushan k

Nov 25, 2020

Good instructed self-paced course

By Gabriel L G

Jul 27, 2020

The course was amazing!

By Zanele P

Jan 13, 2021

This course is amazing

By Winston A W

Dec 7, 2020

Excellent, thank you.

By Muhammed S K M

May 26, 2020

Loved this course.

By Samantha D C A U

Jul 22, 2021

Its amazing!!!!!!

By zanele p

Jan 22, 2021

I learned a lot

By Coralie F

May 5, 2020

Amazing course!

By Joan B B

May 3, 2020

Great course!

By MARQUEL A

Jan 22, 2021

I loved it

By TELAHIG M

Nov 25, 2020

Thanks

By Mona A A

May 29, 2020

ممتازة

By RAGHUVEER S D

Jul 25, 2020

good

By Alejandro B

Apr 21, 2020

I really liked and enjoyed this course. Good lessons and good teachers. I personally recommend this course for people who would like to start learning about chimpanzees and/or primates. I don't give 5 stars because I think is a bit short for people already with knowledge about it.

By Blue W G

Mar 1, 2021

It was all good except for the last assignment I thought it was kind of silly to make a poster might be easier for some to cut and paste from the internet but I'm old school had to make it pen to paper with very little resources was not easy to do

By gulamabbas

Jul 4, 2020

The course on chimpanzee behaviour and conservation was great learning and worth knowing chimpanzees behaviour and what to avoid in order of conservation.

By Tyler M K

May 19, 2020

The course was short, fun, and enjoyable for those looking to further their primate knowledge :)

By Joy S

Jan 12, 2020

This is a nice course. Good to know all about chimps and the ongoing work with them.