Chevron Left
Back to Chinese Culture and Contemporary China

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Chinese Culture and Contemporary China by Nanjing University

4.6
stars
332 ratings
115 reviews

About the Course

This course of Chinese Culture and Contemporary China will explore the foundations of Chinese civilization and the dimensions of Chinese culture. It will pay particular attention to the relationship between Chinese culture and the present-day life of the Chinese people and to the different elements of the culture which are under the present social structures, belief systems, literature, arts, customs, etc. The course aims at providing students with a deeper knowledge of Chinese culture, thus enabling them to better understand China. The course will cover the following main areas of topics: (1) the foundations of Chinese civilization: its geography, language, and history; (2) the core concepts in Chinese philosophies and religions: Confucianism, Taoism, and Buddhism; (3), literature and arts, including Chinese calligraphy, painting, Tang poetry, and classical fiction; (4) society and life, including education, the role of women, Chinese food, and traditional holidays; (5) travel and landscapes, including well-known Chinese cities, mountains, ethnic regions and customs; (6) Chinese media, culture and sports, including TV and movies, fashion, Chinese gongfu and taiji. In addition, students will be expected to participate in a buddy program beyond curriculum if they have a chance to come to Nanjing. Ideally they will be paired up: an international student with a Nanjing University student to allow students to learn firsthand about Chinese customs, culture, and language. Students will be required to complete various projects and homework assignments as well, which will encourage them to use Nanjing University and the city of Nanjing as a laboratory to apply what they learn during their stay at Nanjing University....

Top reviews

L
Jun 9, 2020

This course can help those who are learning Chinese language. As if one wants to understands the native speakers he needs to know about their culture and history.\n\nthank you for this amazing course.

VS
Jun 8, 2020

Lovely Course on Chinese Culture, Tradition, and Values. Well-presented and wonderfully put to appeal to the audience readers. Recommended to anyone who is interested in knowing Chinese culture.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 116 Reviews for Chinese Culture and Contemporary China

By Ruchika A

Jun 7, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. It covered diverse topics in brief and informative manner. The discussion forum was a good revision as well. I learned a lot thanks to this course, and am curious to know more about Chinese culture.

By Leanne H

Sep 25, 2020

Very much enjoyed this class, and agree with the teachers that each section is just a small look into the culture. Each small look, however, has made me interested in delving more into Chinese culture on my own. Thank you!!

By Toni H

Jun 26, 2020

a very short intro to things a Chinese person would know but also take for granted, I do enjoy the indepth explanation behind why the customs are the way they are in this short intro course from Nanjing University!

By Lidiia P

Jun 10, 2020

This course can help those who are learning Chinese language. As if one wants to understands the native speakers he needs to know about their culture and history.

thank you for this amazing course.

By Vivek S

Jun 9, 2020

Lovely Course on Chinese Culture, Tradition, and Values. Well-presented and wonderfully put to appeal to the audience readers. Recommended to anyone who is interested in knowing Chinese culture.

By Alfredo M

Dec 30, 2018

Entretaining and very informative for we that want to know Chinese culture better. It open doors to an huge world poorly known by occidentals, in a amazingly profound and philosophical way.

By Alessandro R d N

Oct 14, 2020

I liked the course despite being well summarized because the Chinese culture is huge but the good thing is that it fostered the desire to research more about the topics presented.

By Alfia W

Aug 9, 2017

This course will give you a succinct and enjoyable overview of some essential elements of Chinese culture. I very much enjoyed all of the professors' presentations.

By MELYSSA A S L

Sep 6, 2020

Great course. It deepens into the Chinese culture as I have not learned in my Chinese culture classes. I learned a lot from it. Special thanks to the teachers.

By CRISTHIAN E G R

Nov 1, 2020

Es uno de los mejores cursos introductorios que existen a la cultura general china. Totalmente recomendado y abre las puertas a muchas areas interesantes :)

By Christopher B

Jul 21, 2020

A very enjoyable and informative introduction to Chinese culture. An overview but an encouragement to learn more about this amazing country and its people.

By Chiara F

Apr 4, 2020

I have been studying Chinese since 2012, but I still did not know many things about this beautiful culture. Very well done, clear and interesting.

By GU Z Q

Nov 10, 2018

My name is Elsa and I am a Shanghaiese. This course helps me know more essence of grand Chinese culture. So proud to be Chinese people. Thanks.

By Emily M

Jan 20, 2021

This was a wonderful course. The format was simple, the course load was light, and I learned a lot about China and Chinese culture. Thank you!

By Jessica I

Aug 17, 2020

An easy to understand and insightful look into Chinese culture. It goes beyond the basics of what you would learn from living in the country.

By Wonchibeni P

Sep 4, 2020

A brief, interesting, and insightful course! Apt for anyone who is curious and looking for an introductory piece of knowledge about China.

By Thomas N O

Oct 16, 2020

This was a great course! It was succinct yet packed with knowledge about Chinese customs, both their roots and their modern observations.

By Leo C

May 10, 2019

Fascinating! Truly incredible! So much interesting culture that is hidden behind cultural barriers. The instructors are fabulous!

By Ashley H

Jul 1, 2019

Fun course for someone like myself- who is a total novice when it comes to Chinese Culture. It's made me want to keep learning.

By Sofía A Z H

Oct 10, 2020

Amazing course! I learned a lot. It was really interesting and enjoyable. I liked how there were was a variety of instructors.

By Ilse N D P G

Apr 27, 2020

Very informative and well-explained. It made me learn a lot about Chinese culture without making matters overly complicated.

By Jimmy S

May 29, 2017

Very informative, and easy to keep up with. The professors do a wonderful job of explaining course and subject materials.

By Harini S P

Jul 25, 2020

It was so good and interesting to learn. The chapters are picked as the most fascinating topics and explained simply.

By Sylwia G

Oct 28, 2020

I've enjoyed the course a lot. I learned a lot new and interesting things about Chinese Culture.Thank you so much.

By Xavier K

Jul 10, 2020

Top course. Really liked the teachers and though I was already very interested in Chinese culture, now I love it!