Chevron Left
Back to Circular Economy - Sustainable Materials Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Circular Economy - Sustainable Materials Management by Lund University

4.8
stars
620 ratings
221 reviews

About the Course

This course looks at where important materials in products we use every day come from and how these materials can be used more efficiently, longer, and in closed loops. This is the aim of the Circular Economy, but it doesn’t happen on its own. It is the result of choices and strategies by suppliers, designers, businesses, policymakers and all of us as consumers. In addition to providing many cases of managing materials for sustainability, the course also teaches skills and tools for analyzing circular business models and promotes development of your own ideas to become more involved in the transition to a Circular Economy. You will learn from expert researchers and practitioners from around Europe as they explain core elements and challenges in the transition to a circular economy over the course of 5 modules: Module 1: Materials. This module explores where materials come from, and builds a rationale for why society needs more circularity. Module 2: Circular Business Models. In this module circular business models are explored in-depth and a range of ways for business to create economic and social value are discussed. Module 3: Circular Design, Innovation and Assessment. This module presents topics like functional materials and eco-design as well as methods to assess environmental impacts. Module 4: Policies and Networks. This module explores the role of governments and networks and how policies and sharing best practices can enable the circular economy. Module 5: Circular Societies. This module examines new norms, forms of engagement, social systems, and institutions, needed by the circular economy and how we, as individuals, can help society become more circular. This course is brought to you by: LUND UNIVERSITY INTERNATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR INDUSTRIAL ENVIRONMENTAL ECONOMICS (IIIEE) EIT RAWMATERIALS VITO GEOLOGICAL SURVEY OF DENMARK AND GREENLAND NATIONAL TECHNICAL UNIVERSITY OF ATHENS GHENT UNIVERSITY DELFT UNIVERSITY OF TECHNOLOGY...

Top reviews

MB
May 7, 2020

A great, detailed and informative course that I enjoyed learning about. Lund University you can do no wrong, from my semester spent on exchange in Lund to engaging with this fantastic MOOC! Thank you!

JE
Apr 19, 2020

Great course!\n\nSuper interesting and very accessible language. It's a good entrance door to keep learning about this really important topics.\n\nThanks for giving us the chance to have it for free.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 221 Reviews for Circular Economy - Sustainable Materials Management

By Kyle W

Jun 6, 2020

A great introduction to concepts of the circular economy - providing an overview of fundamental drivers, policy considerations, and useful case studies highlighting innovators.

By Marouene B M

Dec 29, 2019

Amazing Course that tackle the challenges of product development and how to make the product last longer taking into consideration different aspect of Circular Economy

By Ana P L

Sep 9, 2020

I loved it. Didn´t know exactly what circular economy was and this course helped me understand it. Thanks Lund University! I now have a lots of circular ideas... :)

By Richard M

Feb 4, 2021

With the rate at which mineral resources are depleting, Globally we need to address the issue of developing circular economies and monitor the global value chain

By Maria F H R

May 3, 2020

Great course, very hands on and didactic information. Made me want to keep learning about circular economy in the future. Great examples and evaluation methods.

By Brendan C

Sep 6, 2020

Very clear and interesting course.

The first week about mining might sounds technical and not adequate but it makes lot of sense for the rest of the course

By Floriane B

Nov 13, 2019

Excellent training, I learned a lot about the circular economy this will help me in my future job (designer), the courses are complete and tests pushed.

By Enahoro A

Dec 20, 2020

Easy to understand and practical examples. The "follow your phone" and "case studies" sections provided a lot more useful information than I expected.

By Danila T

Oct 21, 2020

Great opportunity to deepen knowledge in Circular Economy. Excellent classes and teachers. Dense support material, with concepts and case studies.

By Gizem B B

Dec 7, 2020

Thanks to everyone involved in this course because I earned a lot of new information about circularity and my vision has widened in general.

By Carlos A M A

Dec 8, 2020

An excellent MOOC to learn about Circular Economy and how is getting more concern in the world against the classic pollution linear model

By Asefeh P

Mar 17, 2020

As sustainability expert in packaging industry, I've enjoyed learning this course and the content was very informative and useful for me.

By ALINE R D F

Jan 24, 2021

Excelente este curso. Ele tem uma perspectiva abrangente, que nós faz refletir todas as dimensões da Economia circular. Aprendi muito!

By Tati G

Feb 20, 2021

This course is magnificent, takes the learned through all steps related to sustainability and circular economy and in a perfect pace.

By Luz G

May 10, 2020

Really valuable information about Circular Economy, I'm taking away a lot! And great teachers as well. Great course, thanks Coursera!

By Andres F

Feb 11, 2021

Very reccomended for those who are interested in the circular economy, great content, examples, videos, and overview of this topic

By Daniella B

Sep 3, 2020

This course gives you the key concepts to understand more about sustainability and circular economy. Great videos and professors.

By Andrés F V N

Sep 5, 2020

It's a course well-structured where topics are encompassed consistently by using examples and study cases. I'm very grateful.

By Erika N

Sep 9, 2020

Positively complex, heterogenous and very useful MOOC to understand more about materials management in the circular economy.

By Agnieszka M

Feb 21, 2021

Very interesting and comprehensive. Introduces the basic aspects of circular economy and sustainable materials management.

By Tufail A K

May 30, 2020

A wonderful course that provides a lot of knowledge that is required to make the transition towards a circular economy.

By José A d C

Dec 4, 2020

Excellent professors, scripts and content. I learnt many new concepts and understtod better circular economy concepts.

By Vera Y

Sep 4, 2020

Excellent course!

Good pacing, good variety of instructors, and viewpoints, making the course constantly interesting!

By Julia S

Oct 3, 2019

Although I'm far from any business sense, I found this course very informative, structured, with very good materials.

By Tilman J

May 6, 2020

Great course with good, interesting and relevant lessons combined with case studies, examples and interactive tasks!