Chevron Left
Back to Classical Cryptosystems and Core Concepts

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Classical Cryptosystems and Core Concepts by University of Colorado System

4.6
stars
301 ratings
68 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to Introduction to Applied Cryptography. Cryptography is an essential component of cybersecurity. The need to protect sensitive information and ensure the integrity of industrial control processes has placed a premium on cybersecurity skills in today’s information technology market. Demand for cybersecurity jobs is expected to rise 6 million globally by 2019, with a projected shortfall of 1.5 million, according to Symantec, the world’s largest security software vendor. According to Forbes, the cybersecurity market is expected to grow from $75 billion in 2015 to $170 billion by 2020. In this specialization, you will learn basic security issues in computer communications, classical cryptographic algorithms, symmetric-key cryptography, public-key cryptography, authentication, and digital signatures. These topics should prove especially useful to you if you are new to cybersecurity Course 1, Classical Cryptosystems, introduces you to basic concepts and terminology related to cryptography and cryptanalysis. It is recommended that you have a basic knowledge of computer science and basic math skills such as algebra and probability....

Top reviews

AS

Aug 13, 2020

Interesting course on an Interesting topic taken in a pleasant, enjoyable, and simple manner.\n\nNever did I feel bored or out of my depth even though I am a stranger to the topic.

MR

Nov 07, 2017

The lectures were educational, and interesting without speaking down to you. I learned a lot without being overwhelmed

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 66 Reviews for Classical Cryptosystems and Core Concepts

By Tasnim D

Aug 06, 2020

A Very Nice Intro to World of Cryptography

By Amit C

Jan 03, 2020

great course with intro to basic concepts

By SAI S K

May 14, 2020

excellent explaination by the instructor

By Christian J M J

Dec 31, 2018

Amazing, The professor explain very well

By Andrii K

May 26, 2020

Very informative and interesting

By Adarsh T

Oct 09, 2020

Nice experience of learning!!

By Marcelo E

Dec 25, 2017

Excellent introductory course

By Holger W

Jul 29, 2020

Excellent introduction!

By Benjamin V J

Jul 09, 2020

Amazingly Exceptional

By Kunal B

Feb 28, 2019

excellent course

By Benedict J W

May 21, 2019

A great course!

By mansi g

Jul 03, 2018

it is nice

By Doss D

May 31, 2020

Than u

By Kantipudi b v p

May 11, 2020

Good

By Renate K

Jan 09, 2020

Really good start into the world of cryptography! However at times (especially at the hashing part) it gets really complex and you'll need to listen and read it multiple times, and find some simplified examples outside of the course to really understand what happening.

By Vikash k

Aug 11, 2018

It is a good course. I got few information about hash attack which I didn't know before. Only thing which I wish to have more is a little more hands on and also detailed example about Vigenere cipher

By Danial S

Apr 17, 2020

Great course!

But please add the translation into Russian. It is very difficult to understand technical English from a topic of cryptography that is unfamiliar to me, as a beginner.

By Venkata D S

Jun 19, 2020

I was expecting more of the mathematics behind Cryptography. Even though this course didn't provide that, it was good. A good introduction to the field of cryptography.

By Sanjay M

Oct 21, 2018

Would have absorbed the course material more concretely if the instructor had slowed down on the pace at which concepts were being disseminated.

By Firoz A

Aug 14, 2020

This course and the style of lecturing was nice but if there are more problem oriented type class is there then it would be more interesting

By Abhi J

May 21, 2020

Could have been better if it the lectures could have been made more elaborate, also as a beginner it is hard to follow the terminology.

By Alex H

Oct 13, 2020

Although my head started spinning halfway through the course, it was filled with enough fascinating concepts to motivate me to finish.

By Molly W

Jul 20, 2018

Very difficult course if you have no previous experience with cryptoanalysis and recent stats, but good because it makes you think!

By Juho V

Nov 21, 2018

Excellent lectures. Mostly very easy to follow, but some mathematical points were ran through a bit too quickly and thinly.

By muatasem o

Jun 02, 2020

some concepts introduced in this course can be non trivial and vague which requires a lot of googling searching.