Chevron Left
Back to Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students by University of Pittsburgh

4.8
stars
2,832 ratings

About the Course

Understanding the clinical terms and abbreviations commonly used during verbal or written communication in U.S. hospitals is challenging. This course is designed for U.S. health care profession students and for international students and practitioners who want to become more familiar with the language of the U.S. clinical setting. Others, such as caregivers and medical interpreters, who wish to develop a better understanding of terms and abbreviations used by health care providers will find this course helpful. The course provides visual and auditory learning experiences to enhance the understanding of terms and abbreviations commonly encountered on a general U.S. hospital unit. All content including quizzes are available at no cost to the learner. If you need a certificate, you can apply for financial aid or pay the fee. To find out more, click Learn more and apply next to the information about Financial Aid. (Use a computer, not a mobile device, for this step.)...

Top reviews

FB

Jan 1, 2018

This course was really helpful. I took notes and will review them often to keep abreast with the medical terms. These will also help me communicate clinically with my PCP. I truly enjoyed this course!

ER

Apr 15, 2019

The instructor's calm and clear explanations make this a joy to watch.

This course is very useful for me as a medical product translator to get an understanding of the actual clinical environment.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 749 Reviews for Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

By Imene f

Jul 5, 2020

this course is very informative and valuable , as an international medical student i did my studies in french so this course was an amazing opportunity to learn essential terms and key words in both languages . i want the thank the talented staff and the university of Pittsburgh.

By MOHAMMED N K

Jun 30, 2020

One of the best courses available online to gain solid understanding of Clinical Terminology.The modules are designed to help the learner grasp the crux of the subject in a very easy manner.A big shoutout to the tutors & University of Pittsburg for making such a wonderful course.

By Boni H

Dec 31, 2020

This was a very helpful course. The lessons were very easy to understand and I have excellent notes now to act as a jumping off point for interpreting doctor's notes. I currently work for an endocrinologist and already I am understanding notes and orders better in the office.

By Shaburova N

Oct 13, 2017

The most interesting and useful course I have compleated so far! Now I can easily read medical notes and records, decypher some of analysis. Overall the course give you the perfect understanding of the main medical terms and diseases. Highly recomend!Thank you, dear teachers!

By Kanhi R V

Jun 19, 2022

the course was very skilled and useful. i really enjoy it. i heartly special thanks and salutation to course instractor "mam" who made the course so easy. thank you coursera for your act of kindness,you provided a plateform to the global community for learners.love you all.

By Phillycia B

Oct 20, 2017

This course was a bit challenging but very informative. The experience and knowledge i have gained while doing this course is way beyond what i could have ever imagine. I must extend thanks to my lectures,and all who have aided in this course being a successful one for me.

By Masami Y

Jan 13, 2020

I appreciate very much for this course - I can review my knowledge with my own pace, and the exercises are very helpful for actual settings. This course is very helpful not only for students who would like to be an M.D. but also for any professionals working in a hospital.

By Nadira C

Jun 30, 2022

Thank you so much for giving me an oppurtunity to learn clinical terminology. l have learned so much from this course which is going to help me working in the medical field. I Loved this course so much.Thak you again for giving the oppurtunity to learn from this course.

By 朱婕

May 1, 2017

it is so an amazing and excellent course! i am honor to have the chance to learn this course. it is interesting and practical. it enriches my life. i am from China. it provides a new access to learn RN. i will always recommend this course to my friends and colleagues.

By Bilingual F

Aug 10, 2022

Excellent course! Easy-to-follow, and I especially liked the fact that I could go back and review the terminology from the various modules, plus re-watch the videos. Last but not least, I appreciated the fact that I could learn at my own pace. Well done, Coursera!

By Agustina F

Mar 7, 2021

I absolutely loved this course! It covers a variety of topics, and the content is very easy to read and interiorize. Having a Clinical Terminology dictionary is very useful as well. I definitely recommend it for those who want to learn about Medical Terminology.

By Diego D

Sep 2, 2020

Very good course, it explains the definitions of the words you may hear in a hospital or clinical unit, which is very good for people who want to work as doctors, nurses, etc in the U.S. or another english-spoken hospital. I totally recommend this course!

By Anuradha V

Dec 28, 2020

I really liked this course and sitting at home doing it at my own pace helped me a lot. Abbreviations and terminology explanations with videos helped in understanding how to read the situations better. The quizzes were very good and helped in learning.

By Ricardo A B

Aug 30, 2017

Extremely useful to international students interested in healthcare in the U.S. and a nice review to U.S. students already employed in a clinical setting. Thank you for the time dedicated to assembling this course, especially the audio files recorded.

By Monica S

Nov 4, 2018

Medical terminology is the standardized means of communication within the healthcare industry. The importance of fluency in medical terminology, which applies to all hospital personnel, including allied healthcare professionals, cannot be overstated.

By Ekaterina K

Nov 25, 2020

This is a very useful course, with a lot of audio and video materials. I am learning to become a medical interpreter and was looking for extra medical materials to listen and practice. Thank you Dr. Swigart for this awesome resource you've created!

By Asghar k

Jul 24, 2022

IT WAS A GREAT EXPERIENCE FOR ME. AND THIS COURSE IS VERY INFORMATIVE AND DESIGNED VERY WELL BY YOUR TEAM. THEY ARE VERY PROFESSIONAL AND IT THIS COURSE WILL ME HELP ME IN MY PROFESION AS INTERPRETOR. THANK YOU VERY MUCH AND WISH YOU ALL THE BEST.

By hương p

Oct 7, 2020

I think this course is amazing. Useful videos, clinical terminology, and acronyms make it easier for medical students to access the lesson. I think this course has been very helpful and should be spread. I will recommend the course to my friends.

By Amanda F R O

Mar 14, 2022

I really liked having been part of this course, where I was able to learn in the best way about the terminology used in hospitals in the United States with one of the best universities learning from the best doctors. I thank you very much.

By Nhật N

Dec 6, 2019

thank you your course! I have learnt huge amounts of mediacal terminology to apply for my career. it is also the motivation for me to continue to try to study and find more medical materials to improve my skills, and cure my illness people

By David S

Apr 18, 2021

This was a WONDERFUL introduction to the world of Medical Terminology, scribing, and the patient-care experience. I have just received a job offer for scribing, and so I am excited to see how this course has prepared me for the real deal!

By Margaret S

May 12, 2020

Content presented in a clear and logical way that was simple, step-by-step and easy to learn. I would highly recommend this course as an intro course. There were many tools to assist you and avenues of support for additional assistance.

By Nkurunziza P

May 13, 2022

it was very useful and very informative i got to know many clinical terminology which i have not be able to konw now am able to interprete everything i learnt many thanks to Coursera and everyone else who make this course to be poossible

By Dat T

Jul 24, 2019

Dear Teachers,

First of all, I'd like to appreciate it for your contributions. Even though I was struggling with it but finally I did it already. One of the most motivation is because your lesson is really useful, exciting. Thank a lot.

By Angga E P

May 31, 2020

This course is very useful to enhance the knowledge and skills related to the clinical terminology. Thanks to all lecturers and University of Pittsburgh that let me to enroll to this course so that i can learn a lot of materials on it.