Chevron Left
Back to Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
3,504 ratings
601 reviews

About the Course

Clinical trials are experiments designed to evaluate new interventions to prevent or treat disease in humans. The interventions evaluated can be drugs, devices (e.g., hearing aid), surgeries, behavioral interventions (e.g., smoking cessation program), community health programs (e.g. cancer screening programs) or health delivery systems (e.g., special care units for hospital admissions). We consider clinical trials experiments because the investigators rather than the patients or their doctors select the treatment the patients receive. Results from randomized clinical trials are usually considered the highest level of evidence for determining whether a treatment is effective because trials incorporates features to ensure that evaluation of the benefits and risks of treatments are objective and unbiased. The FDA requires that drugs or biologics (e.g., vaccines) are shown to be effective in clinical trials before they can be sold in the US. The course will explain the basic principles for design of randomized clinical trials and how they should be reported. In the first part of the course, students will be introduced to terminology used in clinical trials and the several common designs used for clinical trials, such as parallel and cross-over designs. We will also explain some of the mechanics of clinical trials, like randomization and blinding of treatment. In the second half of the course, we will explain how clinical trials are analyzed and interpreted. Finally, we will review the essential ethical consideration involved in conducting experiments on people....

Top reviews

JQ
Oct 25, 2019

Excellent beginner course on design and interpretation of clinical trials, complements a lot of what I reviewed on my classes and I would like to take a more advanced course on the topic. Thank you.

CC
Jun 4, 2020

I would highly recommend this course as I found it well-structured and helpful. After studying all the materials, I gained a great amount of knowledge in designing and interpretating clinical trail.

Filter by:

526 - 550 of 595 Reviews for Design and Interpretation of Clinical Trials

By Satish C S

Apr 28, 2021

the course is very helpful who wanted to do carrier or interested clinical trails or health care. the course is theoretical.

By Sissilx

Jul 7, 2016

Basically good. As I want to know the practical guidance of how to conduct a RCT, this course is not sufficient .

By Sumona K M

May 23, 2021

The course has been really helpful for me understanding how to design, execute and interpret a clinical trial.

By Chigwe Y

Mar 30, 2021

it was a valuable course, though it couldn't cover everything but what was offered was sufficient for a start.

By Maria

Jun 12, 2020

Good information. I would improve the presentation a bit, so the speakers aren't just reading their slides.

By Hemalatha K

May 1, 2020

This course has made me to dive into Clinical Research, which will surely help in building my career goals.

By Sangeetha S

Aug 15, 2020

It's my first course through online. I had a very good experience and able to complete with good grades.

By DR.MAMATHA S S A

Apr 14, 2021

very useful course ,informative course on designing and interpretation of clinical trail

By Selen M

Oct 29, 2017

It was a nice introductory course to learn more about Clinical Trial Design subjects.

By Magic L

Aug 19, 2020

Very good! It lays good basic foundation for the understanding of clinical trials

By Pablo R A R

Aug 2, 2017

Un curso muy agradable de entender incluso con un nivel de ingles intermedio

By Mohammad N E

Oct 7, 2017

I have attended this course and found it really helpful and simply presented.

By John W

Feb 10, 2018

Excellent course; lectures were clearly presented, and entertaining as well!

By Luisa C P S

Jul 4, 2018

The videos had very usefull information but were not visually atractive.

By Pinky G

Dec 5, 2020

am eager to learn sample size computation but is not part of the course

By Edgardo S C

Nov 12, 2016

An excellent course totally recomendable. Very clear and focused.

By Julio C G d A

Feb 18, 2019

Good course!

Useful lessons, not tiring.

I learned a lot about it!

By Prathmesh P V

May 1, 2020

The Framing of the Questions in the quizzes could be improved.

By Jorge F P

Oct 11, 2017

Good general and broad overview of design of Clinical Trials.

By carlos f p

Nov 21, 2016

great course to refresh my knowledge and update some concepts

By Lavanya S N

Apr 22, 2020

very good course and nice assignment questions learned a lot

By Sudha R K

Mar 1, 2021

It was very informative lecture given by the instructors.

By Patel N M

Jul 20, 2020

good course to know the details of the clinical trials

By juan c

Sep 27, 2016

sometimes they go through important topics very fast ,

By Qianwen O

Nov 19, 2017

Informative and basic knowledge about clinical trials