Chevron Left
Back to Cloud Computing Concepts: Part 2

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cloud Computing Concepts: Part 2 by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.6
stars
288 ratings
60 reviews

About the Course

Cloud computing systems today, whether open-source or used inside companies, are built using a common set of core techniques, algorithms, and design philosophies – all centered around distributed systems. Learn about such fundamental distributed computing "concepts" for cloud computing. Some of these concepts include: clouds, MapReduce, key-value/NoSQL stores, classical distributed algorithms, widely-used distributed algorithms, scalability, trending areas, and much, much more! Know how these systems work from the inside out. Get your hands dirty using these concepts with provided homework exercises. In the programming assignments, implement some of these concepts in template code (programs) provided in the C++ programming language. Prior experience with C++ is required. The course also features interviews with leading researchers and managers, from both industry and academia. This course builds on the material covered in the Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 course....

Top reviews

MR

Jul 16, 2017

Great course, I would recommend to everyone who wants to understand the basics of cloud computing. The course material is excellent, the instructor Indy is phenomenal and the exams are marvelous.

HG

Apr 15, 2017

Just the same as the first course. Medium-hard quizzes and a hard programming assigment that is actually harder to understand than to develop.\n\nOverall a five star course.

Filter by:

51 - 58 of 58 Reviews for Cloud Computing Concepts: Part 2

By Igor K

Sep 30, 2018

The content of this course is good. Some of the quizzes are little bit too tedious.

By Diancheng W

Jun 29, 2019

This course is overall pretty good, but some content may be a little obsolete.

By Bassama

Aug 09, 2016

It make me strong

By Patrick S

Jun 04, 2017

Similar to the Part 1 of the course, it has really good lectures and a very poor programming assignment.

The lectures are very good: relevant and algorithms are explained step-by-step. The talks about real-world cloud applications are great for people in my position, looking to "scale up" a business operation by using cloud.

The programming assignment compounds upon the problems of the first one. The biggest issue is that it asks you to use code from the first assignment, so if your first assignment was not implemented very well, expect to have to fix that to even continue. It continues the trend of improper use of pre-C++ 11 concepts, and causes even more problems due to the design of the problem to solve.

By Gideon P

Jan 22, 2018

I enjoyed the lectures. Having said that, topics seemed disconnected. The final assignment was, in my opinion, a bit out of the scope of the course. Though I did research on my own and completed it, I was unequipped to do so solely from the course material.

By Alejandro

Dec 28, 2017

I ended up struggling with c++ more than with the algorithms. Also for people who have kids and full time jobs is very complicated to complete on the time given and have to constantly request for new time.

By Dileep P

Apr 14, 2019

Content should be updated(like case studies etc). Assignment needs to be improved a lot. Cod Template and GraderScript is not well thought of all possibilities

By ViciOs

Jul 27, 2017

听这人的英语,以及字幕好难受。