Chevron Left
Back to Cloud Computing Foundations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cloud Computing Foundations by Duke University

4.5
stars
184 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to the first course in the Building Cloud Computing Solutions at Scale Specialization! In this course, you will learn how to build foundational Cloud computing infrastructure, including websites involving serverless technology and virtual machines. You will also learn how to apply Agile software development techniques to projects which will be useful in building portfolio projects and global-scale Cloud infrastructures. This course is ideal for beginners as well as intermediate students interested in applying Cloud computing to data science, machine learning and data engineering. Students should have beginner level Linux and intermediate level Python skills. For your project in this course, you will build a statically hosted website using the Hugo framework, AWS Code Pipelines, AWS S3 and GitHub....

Top reviews

TV

Jun 27, 2021

Great introduction into the best practice for continuous integration and deployment and how to apply these concept in the cloud. Good balance between practical and theoretical.

SE

Nov 11, 2021

Everything I have been looking for to get started with cloud computing frameworks and concepts. The content was applied and well explained by Prof. Gift.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 46 Reviews for Cloud Computing Foundations

By Arnab M

Jun 18, 2021

Amazing course ! Learnt techniques for building websites using serverless technology on cloud platforms , best practices on CI/CD and many more.

By Andrea N

Jul 11, 2021

he teacher talks throughout the course of general topics, but doesn't explain going into details important passages showing how to do. Lots of copy and paste scripts but without saying how he came up to that code

By Benjamín A G

Oct 3, 2021

The content is good, but it is necessary to improve the guide to carry out practical activities, there were many errors and the examples are not reproducible without clear indications

By FRANSESCO M

May 28, 2021

It's the solid base for cloud practitioner beginners

By Talita V

Jun 28, 2021

Great introduction into the best practice for continuous integration and deployment and how to apply these concept in the cloud. Good balance between practical and theoretical.

By Eric S

Feb 13, 2022

This is an excellent intro to Cloud Computing and the command line! I strongly recommend for anyone interested in distributed operations.

By Deleted A

Apr 14, 2022

In all honesty, this course was exactly what I was looking for!! Nonetheless, from the perspective of a student, I've come to understand what differentiates the "great" universities from the very good. Once again, being blunt to the point of discomfort, a great teacher will cover the topic of the class with a perfect amount of complexity, completely saturating the exploration of the important concepts.

This means that specific points are allocated appropriate amounts of repetition, the breadth of key notions match their relevance, the examples are exhaustive and scale in difficulty adequately, the simplification is elegant, etc. etc. The teacher of this course is very respectable, and one should be very, very content having him as a mentor. However, there is a moment of enlightenment that occurs when one experiences an exemplary teacher.

All complaints about the size of the cherry atop the ice cream sunday aside, thank you for your time and I look forward to completing the remainder of this series!

By Michael H

Apr 13, 2022

The quizzes/tests are terrible, they don't accurately measure knowledge of the subject.

This is a pretty basic course, mostly covering terminology and concepts. Coding along with the instructor is pretty easy to do - but the versions of the tools have changed some since the course was corrected.

By Johannes H

Feb 25, 2022

Not the latest information used. Some videos very lengthy due to bugs of the instructor

By Trevor C

Jun 3, 2022

Not quite what I expected, but in a great way. You will get to the basics of cloud deployment, with hands-on example for all 3 major platforms. However, I didn't realize some of the holes in my background until I took this course. It contains a ton of practical DevOps background, linux, virtual environment setup/management, linting, github tricks, etc..

It does start off with 'technical communication', which feels kind of silly when you want to learn concrete technical info. However, despite my heavy skepticism, even the communication and management sections were more practical / useful than I had expected.

By Alina K

Nov 8, 2021

Amazing course and the whole specialization. Noah is a great teacher, it was easy to keep concentration. And I appreciate a good quality video (and its contrast, lighting, saturation) when he films himself. So many people underestimate how better footage helps you to concentrate better as well.

By Jithesh

Jul 29, 2021

Very detailed description of necessary topics in cloud. This is a very vocational oriented course and has a lot of practical aspects of web development. It would be very good if you have very good knowledge of Web development as most of the concepts are related to web design

By Samuel F E

Nov 12, 2021

Everything I have been looking for to get started with cloud computing frameworks and concepts. The content was applied and well explained by Prof. Gift.

By MUHAMMAD M R

Feb 23, 2023

Excellent course with excellent material for learning. Helps me in my DevOps and Cloud Career path.

By Raúl M

Nov 3, 2021

Great Intro. Noah's insights are, to my estimation, the greatest content of this course

By AnonUser C

Jan 7, 2022

This is an excellent course for some one who is just getting in cloud computing.

By Andre B

Aug 15, 2022

Thanks great intro - please have an update on week five in the AWS exercises.

By Muhammed E B

Jan 30, 2022

It was amazing content. You shouldn't lose the chance to get this content.

By Sulaiman D

Nov 3, 2021

more knowladge about devops CI/DI thanks Duke University

By William G

Sep 21, 2021

Best course that I've taken in regards to MLOps.

By Dr. A B

Jun 19, 2022

A kick start for everyone in 2 days - great.

By SHREYANSHI S

Jan 25, 2022

learned so many things from this course

By YL C

Nov 28, 2021

A good overview to build on cloud!

By Ijeoma O

Aug 8, 2021

Excellent foundations course.

By 121910319054 Y H

Apr 8, 2022

great experience to learn