Chevron Left
Back to Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.5
stars
868 ratings
210 reviews

About the Course

Cloud computing systems today, whether open-source or used inside companies, are built using a common set of core techniques, algorithms, and design philosophies – all centered around distributed systems. Learn about such fundamental distributed computing "concepts" for cloud computing. Some of these concepts include: clouds, MapReduce, key-value/NoSQL stores, classical distributed algorithms, widely-used distributed algorithms, scalability, trending areas, and much, much more! Know how these systems work from the inside out. Get your hands dirty using these concepts with provided homework exercises. In the programming assignments, implement some of these concepts in template code (programs) provided in the C++ programming language. Prior experience with C++ is required. The course also features interviews with leading researchers and managers, from both industry and academia....

Top reviews

VT

Aug 22, 2016

Very useful course. It built my Cloud Computing basis from scratch. Fisrt course gives me the enthusiasm to start the later ones. A good place for studying and sharing with course mates. Thank you!

MR

Jul 16, 2017

Great course, I would recommend to everyone who wants to understand the basics of cloud computing. The course material is excellent, the instructor Indy is phenomenal and the exams are marvelous.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 202 Reviews for Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

By Felipe R P

May 04, 2017

V

By David S

Mar 04, 2017

Overall I really enjoyed this course, and I think I learned a lot, so thank you!

However I think there were some things that could be improved.

Firstly the quality of the code provided for the programming assignment was very low. It contains a lot of things that are far from modern c++ best-practices (e.g. using raw arrays instead of std::vector, mixing malloc and new, using new where there is no reason to use it, using raw pointers when references would be fine, missing consts, macros, ...). There were also some relatively minor bugs: the first log message doesn't print with the correct prefix, and the grading script as provided doesn't run (IIRC it was because the #! isn't on the first line). Since this course could be some people's first introduction to C++ I feel that it's important to set a good example, and to keep the code simple and safe.

Secondly the symbols used for things were often inconsistent between slides, which was occasionally confusing but should be easy to fix.

Despite these issues I still think this is a great course, it just could be a little bit better.

By Austin Z

Dec 21, 2018

The content of this course is great and the video lectures are of good quality. If you are looking for a university quality distributed systems course this is the best course i've found. Where this course lacks is in the outdated and tedious programming project and some quiz's that have questions not covered in lecture. The programming project will have you using c-style c++ code so be prepared. It has inconsistent use of data structures and types in its template code that you cannot modify and you will spent a significant amount of time doing memcpy to encode and decode data for char buffers. The quiz's have questions not covered in lecture like Chandy-Lamport questions around process state recordings. BEWARE THIS IS NOT A COURSE FOR BEGINNERS

By Dheeraj R

Jul 23, 2018

The coverage is good and there is a clear linkage of the concepts included in the beginning with the rest of the contents as they flow in - not just throughout this course, but also for the entire specialization. It would really help if the instructor would speak a little slowly (a bunch of words get garbled) and if the slides have lesser content (have more slides and redesign). That way, the instructor might not feel forced to talk so much per slide and the listening might be a little easy on the ear.

However, that does not take anything away from how that content is organized - that is good and takes you the flow rather well.

By Svilen S

Aug 25, 2019

I generally like the course because it expanded my horizon and taught me new concepts which are important in my work. However I think the presentation can be improved. I also miss a more in-depth comparison between the various related concepts. The programming assignment is not designed in the most test-friendly way. It contains some snippets that are half-baked and unclear instructions to provide the missing code. It required some reverse engineering to understand the template code. This can be seen by some as a fair requirement but I expected a more structured and unambiguous approach.

By Quan Z

May 14, 2017

1. Need more tutors to answer the question

Some of the questions in the quiz are badly written and some of us did not understand and tried to ask. And almost no one responds the questions in the "discussion forum" when you reach the end of the course.

2. C++ project assignment

The project claims to use C++, but mixed the C and C++ and doesn't follow C++ best practices. It is very bad for people who have to learn C++ to finish this project since they will get confused by plenty of C code in C++.

By Chuxing C

Aug 25, 2016

I enjoyed the contents and homeworks. Overall the delivery was very good, and I have grasped a lot.

The main reason that I won't give 5 stars is the program assignment. I have spent and wasted 3 weeks to work on the tools, yes, tools, not the subject matter. Course should clearly indicate that the assignment only works in Linux/UNIX environment, and need to further test the scripts in most popular Linux OS platforms, different c++ versions, and different python versions.

By Rafael L F S

Jun 08, 2018

I think the course content is very rich and useful. The topics are well explained and have examples. I'm really happy with the course content. The only part of the course I think it needs to be improved is the programming assignment. I think there should be more options of languages, like Java, for example. And the C++ code should be reviewed because it's very confusing and those who don't have familiarity with C++ will certainly have difficulty.

By Michał M

Apr 02, 2017

Very interesting course if you want to learn about inner workings of distributed systems. Lecturer was very knowledgeable and provided good examples. Exams and quizes were pretty challenging and fun. I love that there was a practical programming assignment. I would only suggest to tweak the template for programming assignment as it was a little bit limiting. And maybe allowing for different programming languages other than C++.

By Joshua S

Oct 15, 2017

A solid introduction into the field of distributed systems. I especially liked the material on distributed hashing. The Quiz questions, in particular section 5 could use a bit of clarification, as I sometimes found it difficult to understand exactly what was being asked. That said the lecture slides, and organization of the material was quite good, and I recommend the course.

By gaurav

Dec 27, 2018

It was a good course for the start. The concepts were taught with ease examples were there for more understanding. The programming assignment could be made more finesse, as there was a lot of issue like windows incompatibility, 64 bit incompatibility, memcpy passing vector in ENSend.

By Ehtisham R

Sep 11, 2016

Great course but the main problem is that very little help is available. Programming assignment is not able to understand meaning not able to find how to start (what should be the first step?)

pace is little fast. learned a lot about Cloud Computing. Homeworks are really challenging.

By Niels R

May 29, 2018

The lectures are clear and informative. The quizes pose the right amount of challenge. The template code provided for the programming assignment is terrible, but the assignment itself is not that complex and quite doable for most people with object oriented programming experience.

By Pavel Č

Oct 16, 2016

The course gave me an interesting overview of different problems from the cloud computing field. The course start looks little bit slow, but later it gets more interesting. However I was disappointed with code quality of the assignment framework.

By Rajat B

Mar 01, 2017

GREAT course ,the concepts and theories have been explained thoroughly. But I also believe providing a few reference materials would have been better for a theory oriented course like this one.overall still the best could theory course online

By Sparsh T

Mar 14, 2020

The course was without doubt amazing.

The videos was pretty good and the Quiz at the end of each week helped a lot to recollect stuff.

The programming assignment was a little hard though and it wasn't clear as to what we were supposed to do.

By SUDHEER K K

Aug 15, 2017

Great Course, helped me to learn basic understanding of Cloud computing. I feel lot energized now, to talk to colleagues in discussion about Computing. Appreciate info in discussion groups helping solve or direction unsolved questions.

By Kristofer P

Dec 06, 2016

Great lectures. However, the starter code for the programming assignment is quite atrocious. Overall, would highly recommend to anyone wanting to learn high level concepts in distributed systems.

By Ganesh S

May 17, 2019

This course though looks quite simple but is very exhaustive and needs lot of dedicated effort to complete this course. Overall a very good learning experience related to cloud computing.

By DiegoBlanco

Nov 20, 2016

The programming assignement was very long in relation with the resto of assignements (quiz). However, the course's content is very interesting and complete.

By Loïc F

Dec 11, 2019

Great course overall as it gives a deep understanding of the cloud technologies. Some homework are too tedious to finish and not really interesting.

By Ganesh

Dec 26, 2016

The contents cover a vast set of topics. just what i was expecting. I was hoping some good books, papers would be suggested

By Zhikun L

Jul 16, 2017

Really hardcore computer science course. Sometimes, reading original papers is necessary to really understand the topic.

By Tyler F

Oct 02, 2016

Great, and highly relevant/topical, content. However I found the quiz assignments to be needlessly tedious at times.

By Tien N

May 08, 2017

Many homework questions are confusing while there is no assistants/moderators to clarify in discussion forums.