Chevron Left
Back to COBOL Programming with VSCode

Learner Reviews & Feedback for COBOL Programming with VSCode by IBM

4.7
stars
79 ratings
35 reviews

About the Course

Professor Tak Auyeung of American River College, said it beautifully, “A programming language is not a fashion statement” it is used for a purpose. Whether it is to add new features, modify logic, create APIs to integrate it into other applications, or implement modern development practices, businesses around the world need application developers who know COBOL. This introductory COBOL course helps a novice learn the Structure of COBOL programs, Data types & Variable Handling, Intrinsic Functions, Branching logic and more. The goal of the course is to enable the participant to be able to write basic COBOL programs. This is a fantastic compliment to the IBM z/OS Practitioner path for the IBM Mainframe. Join the COBOL Fridays web series. These webinars are curated for first-time programmers, lifelong learners, and anyone who's interested in learning COBOL. http://ibm.biz/cfcoursera On successful completion of this course, learners are eligible to earn their COBOL Programming with VSCode badge....

Top reviews

JR
Sep 24, 2020

Very good course for starting with COBOL or remove the dust and remind just is my case. Videos long enough. Quizzes agree with content. Labs could be a little more demanding. Thanks a lot.

AR
Sep 6, 2020

This is a great course for building your base foundation in COBOL. The only way to go now is UP!

Filter by:

26 - 35 of 35 Reviews for COBOL Programming with VSCode

By Yassine A R

Aug 22, 2020

the best

By ENZO M V

Jul 11, 2020

Perfect!

By YAPARALA H V

Jun 9, 2020

Good

By Bob R

Jul 30, 2020

I am distracted by errors in the course. Week 3 quiz scores 2 (two) questions incorrectly. 1) The correct answer to the upper-case('Hello World!) is marked as incorrect. 2)There is no correct solution offered to the display 100 thru 200. One of the wrong answers is scored as correct. I want a perfect score on this course. Please fix these issues. Otherwise, I liked the videos: good balance of information and humor. And you should warn uses NOT to use CHROME browser - it trashes the lab documents - readable but looks bad.

By David M

Jul 25, 2020

The content was great and Jeff Bisti was quite engaging and, at times, entertaining. The only reason I didn't give the course five stars is I wasn't able to get much help either from the stack or course discussion threads. It would be helpful to either have a bank of Q and A (quite extensive) or someone I could email to ask questions as I went along.

By John H

Aug 7, 2020

This was good once I had VS set up. That was not bad except for getting the password. The whole thing with slack was confusing and not explained well. Once I had the password things fell into place. Once I had the whole VS setup in gear I really liked it

By Álvaro B

Aug 31, 2020

Very recommendable course, clear and simple. However, I expected more complicate exercises and be forced to investigate deeply into the documentation. But it´s ok to get a first contact with this language.

By Alessandro F

Sep 30, 2020

Very interesting course with both theory & practice. It is a good starting point to get your hand dirty with COBOL.

By edward h

Oct 14, 2020

It would be nice to have direct access to mainframe instead of going to a different site and have to follow all these other instructions.

By Jean-Pierre D

Oct 14, 2020

can't unenroll