Chevron Left
Back to Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age by University of Toronto

4.8
stars
2,834 ratings
1,030 reviews

About the Course

Communication has changed! The traditional rules for speaking and presenting, meeting coordination, influencing people, negotiating and selling ideas no longer apply in a world of skype, messenger, video and teleconference. This course will act as an overview on several concepts each of which could be a course of their own and our goal is to give you tools that you can practice and perfect on your own. By the end of this course, you will be able to: • Apply communication principles and techniques for in-person and virtual teams • Use a science based approach to create impactful presentations • Refine your communication style to better persuade and influence others • Run more effective and impactful meetings • Incorporate strategies to have positive difficult conversations and make people feel valued and listened to *** This course will require you to record yourself speaking. Therefore you must have a phone/computer with a functional camera and microphone.*** WHO SHOULD TAKE THIS COURSE? Anyone looking for professional and/or leadership development. This class mainly uses examples from the professional, business environment. If you are looking to advance at your current organization or to enhancing your personal value for potential employers this course is for you. WHAT MAKES THIS COURSE EFFECTIVE? Many educational experiences describe and explain, but in this course we will apply and demonstrate. We teach practical and proven concepts, show you how to apply them and give you opportunities to practice them in a safe and supportive environment. This course is full of opportunities to put the ideas presented into practice and test their effectiveness for yourself. WHY SHOULD YOU TAKE THIS COURSE? We will challenge the preconceived ideas about what it means to be part of a virtual team, and support you to be a dynamic team contributor no matter where you work. In this course you can expect to be both energized and uncomfortable – like in most experiences that result in positive growth and change! This course is offered through the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies (https://learn.utoronto.ca/)....

Top reviews

GP
Aug 12, 2020

I love this course. It's broken down to simple bits which makes it easy to understand. I didn't like the polls that pop up in the videos but that's just a small thing compared to the value I received.

YR
May 10, 2020

The course was really helpful to strengthen communications skills and I got a chance to learn many new aspects. Thanks a lot for making this course available. I really enjoyed learning something new.

Filter by:

951 - 975 of 1,024 Reviews for Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age

By Moritz W R

Apr 26, 2020

Great course! I learned a lot. The only thing I would like, is more recab-sessions and maybe that the topics were a little bit more connected to eachother.

By Sanal H V

Aug 30, 2020

Assignment ratings are very subjective. Like other courses on Coursera, in this course too, the peer reviews should have been among at-least three members

By Muhammad S R

Jul 6, 2020

Basic IDEA, how to get involved with others in communication effectively. Some Do and Don't. And a new way of creating presentation 'Pecha Kucha'.

By Deleted A

Aug 11, 2020

Good compilation, good learning resources and neatly presented. The only place it felt off were the few where slight manipulation seemed implied.

By Vijay M

May 17, 2020

Very insightful course. Sharing not just tips but tools for enhancing communication skills to meet the requirements of the digital age.

By Badal S

Apr 27, 2020

It was a effective and to-the -point course. The resources helped me to grasp the idea properly and i had a great learning experience

By Santanu C

May 5, 2020

Learnt to make conversation better nd in our student life lazy rule,penchants Kuching format of slides will help us a lot in future

By Rahul T

May 19, 2020

Instructor has designed this course really well and is able to engage eyes through the course. Learned a lot through this course.

By V C

Dec 24, 2020

Charismatic teacher, good material but discussions are useless: nobody tries to use the brain, just drops couple symbols(

By Preetha S

Jun 9, 2020

An interesting way to learn the techniques of communication. Great mentor with entertaining subject matters.

By Wale A

Apr 30, 2020

A very enlightening and informative course. Gave me insight into how best to communicate in the virtual age.

By Suyogya M B

Apr 18, 2020

Excellent content. And loved the exam type : uploading the video and presentation ppt for certification.

By Judith D

Sep 27, 2020

A lively speaker. However, I do not want to complete the assessment and the rest of the course.

By Vera t B

Apr 14, 2020

Clear method, practical. Would love to have a list of resources so I can practise & read more.

By Legriv V I M

May 8, 2020

Great course to learn rubrics of communication strategies, especially if you are from sales.

By Suzi

Nov 5, 2018

The course presented useful tools to use when you are communicating in person and remotely.

By D F

Feb 16, 2020

It was interesting and I learned a bit but feel there was not enough material learned.

By Sandile M

Dec 16, 2020

Intuitive and fun lessons from Ivan, course content is succinct and fun, many thanks!

By Ujjwal B

Nov 21, 2020

Experience was awesome. The faculty provided was very confident and I enjoyed a lot.

By Ajit K N

Sep 24, 2020

A must do course. It has all the elements that corporate professionals should know.

By Julian M

Jul 21, 2020

excellent communicator. Thank you for the insights and tips Ivan, solid course!

By Aatish J

Jun 18, 2020

Insightful indeed! Ivan has done a brilliant job! Kudos. More power to you Ivan

By Parthiv M

Jun 3, 2020

Very nice course, helps in communicating with anyone, not just virtual team

By SORAIA D M F

Apr 23, 2020

I like it but I also notice that this course was a little bit longer