Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Communication Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Communication Science by University of Amsterdam

4.7
stars
1,364 ratings
324 reviews

About the Course

Since Antiquity, scholars have appreciated the importance of communication: as social beings, we cannot exist without communication. We need to interact with people around us, to make sense of the world and to position ourselves in a wider social and cultural reality. In this course, we look at how and why communication evolved as a science and reflect on today’s dominant paradigms. The course also extends beyond the boundaries of communication science itself, exploring dimensions of history, sociology and psychology. Join our class, together with people all over the world. Introduction to Communication Science explores some of the basic theories, models and concepts from the fields of mass, interpersonal and intrapersonal communication. The course begins with a consideration of several basic models, subsequently progressing to the history of communication theory, linear effect-oriented theories, the reception approach and, finally, exploring theories on the production and reinforcement of culture through communication. Upon completion of this course, students should: • have knowledge of the history and development of communication science; • have knowledge of the dominant theoretical approaches within communication science; • have knowledge and understanding of the most important models and concepts in this field. Beginning the week of February 16, 2015, you will be able to join Signature Track, a system that verifies your identity when you take an exam. This option will allow you to earn a Verified Certificate, which provides formal recognition of your achievements in the course and includes the University of Amsterdam logo. Before then, you can complete a “test run” of the exam. You can then re-take the exam after the Verified Certificate becomes available. For information regarding Verified Certificates, see https://courserahelp.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/201212399-Verified-Certificates"...

Top reviews

ZK

Mar 05, 2020

It is wonderful course. I found that teaching methodology and exam every thing was perfect. My best wishes are for the Coursera as well university of Amsterdam for preparation of this useful course.

LS

Feb 21, 2017

This course was incredibly delightful and very helpful, as a media and communication student, this course widened the information I had and helped me with my home university courses. Thank you!

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 320 Reviews for Introduction to Communication Science

By maria a g a

Jul 21, 2017

muy bueno

By EDGAR E S Z

Nov 30, 2016

excelente

By Dafne C L

Mar 15, 2016

muy bueno

By SACHIN M

Oct 19, 2015

excellent

By Reina E T M

Feb 09, 2018

excelent

By Ana C O

Dec 02, 2015

Perfect!

By Ismael M M

Nov 26, 2015

Excelent

By Viridiana P M

Aug 13, 2020

LOVE IT

By Devani N

Jun 17, 2020

Good 🤩

By MS S

May 31, 2020

helpful

By Dr.Alaa Z

Jan 31, 2016

Amazing

By Flt L G R

May 24, 2020

THANKS

By MIN-CHUN H

Jul 12, 2019

Thanks

By Asya T

May 01, 2018

Thanks

By Ivy w

Apr 22, 2018

nice!

By André F D R M

Jul 21, 2016

Great

By cheng h

Aug 17, 2015

非常有趣,

By Akaash D

Aug 22, 2020

Good

By REETHIKA A

Apr 23, 2020

good

By norma v v

Apr 01, 2016

;)

By Maria I

Oct 10, 2017

S

By Leire F C

May 25, 2020

El curso es muy bueno y está bien organizado. La única pega que puedo ponerle es la falta de traducción en los exámenes y pruebas de evaluación, Mi inglés es muy bueno y por eso decidí realizar este curso, dado que pensaba que el idioma no sería un problema para mí, (tampoco es la primera vez que estudio asignaturas en inglés), aún así me ha resultado especialmente difícil la comprensión de algunas cuestiones a la hora de realizar los exámenes, ya que la terminología utilizada no es la del inglés convencional, sino que, en muchos casos, es léxico especializado que se encuentra en el marco de la Lingüistica. Por lo demás, me parece un gran curso, me ha ayudado a recordar temas tocados durante los cursos de Licenciatura y me ha aportado muchos datos nuevos que considero interesantes. Creo que me ayudará en mi carrera profesional.

By Зюзин О О

Apr 27, 2020

Великолепный курс! Спасибо Университету Амстердама за интересную информацию. Информация хорошо структурирована и воспринимается легко. Есть минусы, которые повлияли на оценку: в описании курса и в материалах курса идет речь про 6 недель на курс, а по факту есть всего 4 недели на прохождение курса. Так же почти все ссылки на дополнительные материалы устарели, тем не менее названия материалов остались и их легко найти самому.

By Aishwarya S

Jun 13, 2019

The course has a good amount of information, it sometimes gets overwhelming. The notes provided in the beginning are very useful-I would suggest all the new learners to take a print out of those. But the audio quality is not good enough, it was almost inaudible at some parts. Exam is difficult- you will have to give a minimum of two weeks to grasp all the material.

By Anna A

Aug 23, 2019

The course is an interesting intro into the history and theory of communication. What I lacked is the connection to the contemporary world, its context and very complex communication landscape. Case studies from today and exercises that encourage understanding of how to create a contemporary communication strategy will enhance the value of the course