Chevron Left
Back to Computational Neuroscience

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Computational Neuroscience by University of Washington

4.6
stars
943 ratings

About the Course

This course provides an introduction to basic computational methods for understanding what nervous systems do and for determining how they function. We will explore the computational principles governing various aspects of vision, sensory-motor control, learning, and memory. Specific topics that will be covered include representation of information by spiking neurons, processing of information in neural networks, and algorithms for adaptation and learning. We will make use of Matlab/Octave/Python demonstrations and exercises to gain a deeper understanding of concepts and methods introduced in the course. The course is primarily aimed at third- or fourth-year undergraduates and beginning graduate students, as well as professionals and distance learners interested in learning how the brain processes information....

Top reviews

JR

Apr 7, 2018

Extremely enlightening course on how Neuron's work and the science of computational neuroscience. Even if you don't want to get into the complex mathematics you can get a lot out of the course

AG

Jun 10, 2020

Brilliant course. For a HS student the math was challenging, but the quizzes and assignments were perfect. The tutorials and supplementary materials are super helpful. All in all, I loved it.

Filter by:

201 - 223 of 223 Reviews for Computational Neuroscience

By Erik B

Aug 25, 2019

Overall I enjoyed this class, but towards the end it gets more into machine learning and away from the neuroscience.

By moustafa e

Nov 22, 2021

It was amazing journey diving deeply into the the brain and finding out how it works computationally

By Vanya E

Jul 9, 2017

Great overview of a really cool field, gives nice intuitions for ideas in computational neuroscience.

By Avinash T

Aug 23, 2020

Very interesting course, gained many skills of modelling that i am going to utilise in my research

By Daya K L

Dec 19, 2021

Assignment needs more clarity. The course also needs little more depth coverage of the concepts

By Jeff C

Nov 14, 2016

In general very good, but some concepts are rushed over due to the short length of the course.

By Gabriel G

Dec 19, 2019

Très bon cours je recommande pour tous les gens intéressé par les neurosciences théoriques

By Zikou L

Aug 13, 2021

Very demanding math and programming, need some basic knoledge of matrix and vectors

By 徐锦辉

Sep 1, 2019

A better tittle for this course is 'From neuroscience to artificial intelligence'.

By Haley Z

May 9, 2022

很棒的课程,学习了很多计算神经的基础知识! 不过有一些quiz没有看懂,如week8的Q12,如果能有释疑就更好了!

By Renaldas Z

Jun 30, 2017

Great course, if a little bit outdated today.

By Huzi C

Feb 14, 2017

Great course and really helpful for me.

By miolee

Jan 27, 2022

The puzzle should be more challenging

By Abhilash C

Jun 18, 2020

I like professor Rao's commentary.

By ­배용희(대학원/일반대학원 물

Feb 29, 2020

Best for the beginner.

By Christopher M

Jun 3, 2017

[3.5 stars] The course provides an overview of some interesting topics. I would have prefer more emphasis on applications, perhaps in the form of additional exercises. Overall, I have my adventure hat on and I am excited to push on further into the neuro-jungle.

By Renjith B

Feb 20, 2018

I just started the course. But it is exciting for me as a Machine learning and deep learning practitioner!!!

After week 1, the learning curve is steep. The topics are exciting but lectures are not engaging.

By Sami J

Jan 27, 2020

Very interesting, buy also pretty superficial. Surprisingly low amount of hands-on computation considering that it's a class in computational neuroscience.

By KAUSTUBH M

Sep 10, 2020

The course is hard in terms of a student at UG level. The teachers are super fun and amazing they teach really well though. But the course is hard.

By Shengjie Z

Jan 22, 2021

some lecture is too difficult and very hard to understand the math basics.

By Xiaowei(William) L

Jul 22, 2021

This course is super sketchy. Many assumptions without explanation... It's not suitable for beginners. I completed this course only because I don't want to give up after starting. Two stars for the time of everyone who's behind this course.

By Tanvi P

Jul 14, 2020

The course is good but requires excellent math and programming skills. Students who don't like math might face some difficulties.

By Siwa S

Aug 8, 2021

Horrible course ever. Really hard to follow; the course goes from simple to very complex in seconds.

- The explanation was not clear and material doesn't foster learner to understand what is going on.

- I keep learning until week 4th Then I decided to quite this course.

If it is not require you to enroll this course, do not waste your time and money in this course.