Chevron Left
Back to Conflict Resolution Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Conflict Resolution Skills by University of California, Irvine

4.4
stars
801 ratings
197 reviews

About the Course

Resolving conflict in a positive manner is a skill that can be developed and practiced. Being heard can be one of the most important goals of someone engaged in conflict. Knowing how to listen and deploy appropriate communication tactics is determinative of whether a conflict will have a positive or negative resolution. Examine listening skills, appropriate and strategic verbal and non-verbal communication skills, and how to assemble a conflict management plan likely to yield positive resolutions. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Use active listening skills when dealing with conflict 2. Choose appropriate communication tactics when dealing with conflict 3. Create a usable plan for managing conflict...

Top reviews

SG
Apr 19, 2020

All the concepts of active listening skills, communication, approaches to resolve conflicts and arriving at a collaborative solution explained very well with personal examples and interviews.

VC
Apr 29, 2020

Design of the course is excellent with videos, book reviews, case studies and interviews with field experts. I love this course and enjoyed a lot and I learned so many concepts.

Filter by:

176 - 195 of 195 Reviews for Conflict Resolution Skills

By ansh m

Mar 22, 2016

nm

By JOSE M D

Oct 8, 2019

V

By Ulisses

Feb 15, 2016

.

By Linda K

Jan 18, 2016

The course was very simplistic and more targeted to a new manager or a student who has never taken a conflict resolution course. I only found the interviews with Karen and Joseph to be of interest. The instructor's teaching style is too monotone - I didn't get a sense of her real world experience coming through. No sense of her brand.

By Varvara T L

May 26, 2020

Great course with very useful material.

The assessments are marked by peers only, so no matter how well you do, if your peer decides to give you a bad grade you will get less than you deserve. The assignments are not reviewed by an experienced professor.

By Christian B

Aug 14, 2019

The course material its self is fine, if not useful. The major hurdle of the course was waiting for other individuals to submit coursework since peer-review is required for completion of the course.

By Mohemmad R

Oct 20, 2015

This a basic course and covers the Collaborative style in some depth. The case studies are the clinchers. I would have loved to have more on the other styles as well.

By Dr. S M

Jun 11, 2020

Good course. But hardly any peer to review and took longer than all other courses i have done in coursera

By Muhammad i R

Dec 12, 2019

A complete waste of time. I even reviewed 49 peer assignments and got my things worst late.

By Mike L

Aug 30, 2016

Good, basic information on conflict resolution. Interviews were very valuable.

By Cheri P

May 11, 2018

Helpful resources are included.

By Esmaeel A

Dec 26, 2019

Nice course, good case studies

By Warren

May 9, 2016

Simple and easy to follow

By Andrea P

Oct 6, 2019

there is no discussion forum where asking mates for reviews or anu other kind of clarification.

This caused several issues to me, first of all waiting much more time for receiving reviews about my assigments and paying longer the subscription. I hope the forum could be implemented, as it is a common and standard tool in many other specialization course. Also, I owuld like to see much more documentation available for each course in order to deepen these specific matters.

By Adrian F L

Mar 31, 2021

I expected more from this course. I think is too high level.

By Brittney Y

Feb 5, 2021

I would not recommend this course. The content in this course does not go deep enough to learn anything. I have never taken a Coursera course where videos were less than 2 minutes long (with a 10 second intro!) and said so little. I took this course because I wanted to learn *how* to facilitate conflict resolution. But instead of teaching me how, this course just glossed over concepts. For example, the first module said to use active listening, but never explained what that is or how to do it. The third module said to list solutions that could come to a compromise, but did not make any suggestions for practical techniques to reach those compromises. The content in this course was frustratingly unhelpful.

By mitra m

Jun 7, 2020

It is really unfair which i couldnt sign up my assessment on audit version.

Due to sanctions i can not transfer money to out side Iran.

Other courses let us to finish the course and i think this is what we call audit version.

But this course did not let me finish it. I case i want to finish i must to buy the certificate.

By Stephen R

Oct 4, 2015

The course material is interesting (3/5) but the assignments rely heavily on reviewing the work of other students which severely detracts from the course. If I wished to grade other people's coursework, I would have pursued a career in academia instead of becoming a research scientist.

By Beatriz B

May 7, 2018

u suk

By Dr. D S

Aug 25, 2017

W