Chevron Left
Back to Construction Project Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Construction Project Management by Columbia University

4.8
stars
5,813 ratings

About the Course

Construction Project Management introduces learners to Project Initiation and Planning. Columbia University professor, Ibrahim Odeh, along with industry experts join together to provide a comprehensive overview of the construction industry. There are 10 modules that allow learners to become knowledgeable of construction management within the dynamic construction industry. Professor Odeh teaches learners about the fundamentals of the Project Development Cycle while guest lecturers discuss Lean Project Delivery method and Lean Design Behaviors. Technological advances, such as Building Information Modeling (BIM), will be introduced with real world examples of the uses of BIM during the Lifecycle of the Project. The course concludes with Professor Odeh discussing the importance of project planning and scheduling and an opportunity to develop a Work Breakdown Structure. By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Learn about construction management, including an understanding of the construction industry, the role of a project manager, construction contract types, and project delivery methods -Explain the fundamental principles to establish Environment, Health and Safety in the construction industry -Detail the principles and application of sustainability development in construction industry -Summarize the work breakdown structure (WBS) and estimate the construction activity duration...

Top reviews

DC

Jul 20, 2020

I thought it was a great intro coming from my Architecture background and looking forward to the other classes. I did think the information was occasionally repetitive but overall it had a great flow.

DG

Feb 19, 2021

This was a great experience. It gave the confidence to tackle such issues as Duration of Activity Schedules and many more. Learned a lot and course content will forever be my guide on future projects.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 1,362 Reviews for Construction Project Management

By DAMODAR K

May 31, 2020

I am a working structural engineer with an MNC. Having to go through the concepts of project management has now given me an edge over other peers who have restricted views of a project only in line with the structural designs

By Dima h

May 30, 2020

This course has increasingly and largely enhanced my knowledge in construction project management. I highly thank whoever contributed to making this course a very successful one. I'm looking forward to taking my next courses!

By Nabila A

Sep 26, 2021

Thank you Coursera for the chance! I learned many new knowledges in a scope of project management, such as project schedule, WBS, etc. Also many thanks to the lecturer for the knowledges! Looking forward to more courses!

By Qusroo A K

Mar 12, 2023

This is a very good course, this course has given me an overall idea about the duties and responsibilities of a construction manager and skillsets attached. I am happy to do this course. I want to complete all 4 modules

By Juan C R

Aug 8, 2021

Muy completo, teniendo en cuenta que es recién el inicio de una especialización con una universidad tan reconocida e importante como lo es la Columbia University. Los profesores de primer nivel y de fácil entendimiento.

By Amritpal S

Mar 16, 2021

This course helped me in learning construction management skills. Every concept is explained in a very simple words by professor Odeh. I enjoyed learning this course also had a great experience. Very informative course.

By Fredrik D

Nov 2, 2020

Well adapted to beginners, very interesting and knowledgeable speakers, great presentation setup, and a pleasant mix of theoretical concepts then applied through examples. Overall satisfied with my learning experience.

By Mohamadreza Z

Jun 9, 2020

A fantastic course in which I have learned numerous topics such as Lean Project Delivery, Sustainability in the Construction Industry, Technology Trends, Role of Construction Manager, etc. Thanks to Columbia university

By Alireza R H

Apr 1, 2020

A fantastic course in which I have learned numerous topics such as Lean Project Delivery, Sustainability in the Construction Industry, Technology Trends, Role of Construction Manager, etc. Thanks to #columbiauniversity

By Ricardo R

Oct 25, 2016

I have been very impressed with the speakers. Each is an expert in their own field and provides interesting, well prepared materials. The speakers do an excellent job of pacing their material and keeping me engaged.

By Edvan C A

May 22, 2021

Fantastic, it has a clear and logical methodology. The quiz in the videos resume the reflection of the studied topic, directing the student to the efficiency of the presented theme. The tests cover the whole topic.

By Hugo A P

Jun 9, 2017

Muy buen curso, lo recomiendo da un vistazo bastante completo de todos los temas que intervienen en la gestión de proyectos y sobre todo deja con la curiosidad de investigar de mayor forma ciertos temas específicos

By Richard T

Feb 25, 2021

I really enjoyed this course, it was a great refresher before I start my new job. All of the speakers were excellent and interesting, I learned a lot of great new information! Thank you Dr. Odeh and everyone else!

By Richard A E

Oct 8, 2018

Well Instructed with a lot of detail's and examples. Everything in this course has real world relevance and I plan on utilizing the skill I've learned immediately. Thank's Columbia University! New York City is #1

By alamalitanzeel

Aug 8, 2020

Very impressive fundamental developing course. I loved the fact that it let you pace yourself. This actually made learning fun and graspable. Huge thanks to COURSERA for making quality education widely possible.

By Keti K

Apr 18, 2020

I am a project manager and now I have big construction project, this course helps me for better understanding of construction management. Mr. Ibrahim Odeh is one of the best professor I have ever had. thank you

By JUAN S C Q

Apr 4, 2022

Like it says, is for begginers and gives you a general understanding and scope of construction project management. Very interesting and easy to study. nice to see what other students think about every class.

By Isaac O A

Mar 5, 2021

I found this course engaging, practical and detailed. I particularly like the diversity of the instructors and their wealth of experience across different aspect of Construction Management field of practice.

By Deleted A

Oct 5, 2017

I enjoyed the organization and presentation of this course. This course has proven to be immediately valuable to my current role in the construction industry. I would like to thank you on such a fine course.

By chijioke o

Feb 28, 2019

Very rigorous process yet very fulfilling and the in-structures are very exposed and experienced in their career and are passionate about what they know and do best which they were able to deliver on point.

By Oleh O

Feb 27, 2019

Great course. Lectures are clear and informative. Assignments and tests are interesting to perform. In my opinion, the course is very helpful in creating a holistic view of Construction Project Management.

By BRUNO G C

Jun 13, 2018

Remarkable course, a lot of respectful profissionals in the top of their carreers sharing their expertise along the course.I totally recommend it, specially the module regarding Lean Construction Projects.

By David C

May 21, 2020

A very comprehensive and resourceful course on construction management. It reinforced, as an architect in this field, my knowledge and understanding of the overall construction planning in a holistic way.

By Min S S

Jan 6, 2020

This course is really useful and I have gained a lot of knowledge upon the completion. I could widen my perspective in construction works and I've got much more confident after end of this course as well.

By Vinícius C m

Jun 14, 2017

Taking Construction Project Management in Coursera was a great experience!

I've been working with this subject for the past five years but this Course gave an opportunity to gain a Global view of the area.