Chevron Left
Back to What Is Contemporary Art?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What Is Contemporary Art? by The Museum of Modern Art

4.7
stars
1,653 ratings
376 reviews

About the Course

What is contemporary art? In this course, you’ll consider this question through more than 70 works of art made between 1980 and the present, with a focus on art from the past decade. You’ll hear directly from artists, architects, and designers from around the globe about their creative processes, materials, and inspiration. Five themes serve as your guide: Media from Television to the Internet, Territories & Transit, Materials & Making, Agency, and Power. You’ll look at 3-D–printed glass and fiber sculptures, performances in a factory and a museum, painted portraits—as well as those made with artificial intelligence—and interventions into television and video games. And much more, all drawn from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art. Come along as artists invite us into their studios, out into their neighborhoods, and to experiment with the materials they use. Not only will you develop a deeper understanding of how artists work today, you’ll also explore some of their many approaches to the pressing issues and questions of our time. By taking this course, you’ll gain confidence to look at contemporary art wherever you encounter it and make connections to your own life or creative practice....

Top reviews

CS

Jun 26, 2020

Excellent, informative course, with much diversity. I laughed and smiled, felt awe and inspiration, cried and felt the pain and the beautiful defiance of pieces I might have never appreciated before.

GH

May 3, 2020

Very interesting and easily consumable resources, lots of video, audio, and short text so it was very fun and accessible. They have a good diversity of artists across ethnicity, sex, and country.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 378 Reviews for What Is Contemporary Art?

By Rosario N P

Jun 2, 2020

I have learned a lot with this course; the instructor and videos were great. I have better understanding of contemporary art. Thank you!

By Amani E

Jun 26, 2020

This was an inspiring, eye-opening course that has broadened my artistic perspectives and deeply inspired my own education and creation.

By Simone R

May 16, 2020

Very educational experience, enriching on a personal level and defyant. I think the course was well put together for beginners like me.

By Rayna L

Sep 18, 2020

Wonderful! A good course for anyone looking to delve into understanding the process and perspectives of modern artists with their work.

By Hannah F P

May 8, 2020

It was great! I learned a lot, knowledge that can be applied in both analyzing contemporary art pieces and also producing art myself.

By Eugene F

Mar 19, 2021

This course has opened a whole new world to me that has always had me intrigued but apprehensive to participate in but no longer.

By Laura i V A

May 26, 2021

Excelente curso. Me ayudo a ampliar visión sobre el arte contemporaneo y los expositores de dicha corrieite artística en el MoMA.

By ealopeze@yahoo.com

Oct 17, 2020

muy interesante el arte contemporaneo y la forma de presentarlo en este curso.

me ha aclarado bastante el concepto del arte.

gracias

By Christina K R B

May 3, 2020

This is an interesting and highly motivating coursework. I enjoyed it immensely. I will gladly recommend it to friends and family.

By Laura I M D S

Jun 22, 2020

A great course, where the selection of artists is powerful. I learned so much and get inspired by reading and seeing others work.

By Aquetzalli R

Mar 18, 2020

An amazing course that explains very much everything we need to know to be able to understand a lot more about contemporary art.

By Eleni T

May 6, 2020

Really interesting course, giving the artists feeling while creating their project in a smooth way for eveyone to comprehend.

By NS M

May 15, 2020

Excellent course to take to understand the width, depth and the third dimension of Art. What was not Art is now Art to me!

By Anna A B

May 17, 2020

Wonderful overview of contemporary art. I find my perspective deeply enriched and look forward to my next visit to MoMa

By E L

Aug 12, 2020

I loved everything, especially the interviews with the artists! Thank you for your effort and time. Much appreciated.

By John B

May 25, 2020

I had a wonderful experience learning about the various shifts in art that have occurred over the last four decades

By Ashish P

May 7, 2020

Kindly let me know how can I avail more courses and how can I get a certificate of the course I have just finished.

By Antonia d S C B

May 13, 2021

hello I completed the course last year but did not yet receive the certificate, with whom should I speak about it?

By Janeth L G P

Jul 9, 2020

Super interesante el acercamiento al tema, y la manera de irnos conectando poco a poco con la intención del mismo.

By Dimitris P

May 19, 2020

A fun and educational way to learn and think for yourself about contemporary art, the course is just the beginning

By Simone M S

Jun 22, 2021

Great course! Thoroughly enjoyed the modules, especially the art examples and optional readings and links given.

By Lluvia A D A C

May 7, 2020

Es un muy buen curso, podrás aprender diferentes aspectos del arte contemporáneo y su historia. Muy inspirador.

By elsa f

Apr 20, 2020

dinamico, agil y muy enriquecedor, como un primer acercamiento a leer , un tipo de arte que no siempre es facil

By Gabriele R

Jul 30, 2020

Questioning ourselves on the meaning of contemporary art is our way of understanding the sociality of society.