Chevron Left
Back to What Is Contemporary Art?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What Is Contemporary Art? by The Museum of Modern Art

4.7
stars
1,653 ratings

About the Course

What is contemporary art? In this course, you’ll consider this question through more than 70 works of art made between 1980 and the present, with a focus on art from the past decade. You’ll hear directly from artists, architects, and designers from around the globe about their creative processes, materials, and inspiration. Five themes serve as your guide: Media from Television to the Internet, Territories & Transit, Materials & Making, Agency, and Power. You’ll look at 3-D–printed glass and fiber sculptures, performances in a factory and a museum, painted portraits—as well as those made with artificial intelligence—and interventions into television and video games. And much more, all drawn from the collection of The Museum of Modern Art. Come along as artists invite us into their studios, out into their neighborhoods, and to experiment with the materials they use. Not only will you develop a deeper understanding of how artists work today, you’ll also explore some of their many approaches to the pressing issues and questions of our time. By taking this course, you’ll gain confidence to look at contemporary art wherever you encounter it and make connections to your own life or creative practice....

Top reviews

CS

Jun 26, 2020

Excellent, informative course, with much diversity. I laughed and smiled, felt awe and inspiration, cried and felt the pain and the beautiful defiance of pieces I might have never appreciated before.

GH

May 3, 2020

Very interesting and easily consumable resources, lots of video, audio, and short text so it was very fun and accessible. They have a good diversity of artists across ethnicity, sex, and country.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 378 Reviews for What Is Contemporary Art?

By Olivia B

May 24, 2020

Wonderful! I'd definitely recommend it to beginners and those who are already familiar with contemporary art.

By JOSUE M P

Dec 13, 2021

Estoy muy ilusionado en concluir el último curso; por el momento, a falta del cuarto, me parece excepcional.

By Diana M

May 20, 2020

Soooooooo good. Thank you, Moma! This has colored my days and fed my spirit in such a delicious way. Heroes!

By Deleted A

Apr 26, 2020

Thanks to the Contemporary Art course, I have found myself and discovered what I want to do next in my life.

By Axel Z

May 30, 2020

Me gustó mucho y abrió mi mente a nuevas perspectivas, sobre todo disminuyó mi miedo al arte contemporáneo.

By tamara

Jan 17, 2020

i enjoy it very much. now i'd like to reread my answers and know my final qualification. how can i do that?

By Sana H

Aug 13, 2020

I learned so much from this course. it motivated me to be more curious and to look at my own surroundings.

By Carla H

Jun 27, 2020

It is important to keep asking this question. We are in a pandemic, and we must keep asking this question.

By victoria

May 14, 2020

I really like the course, for me it was really interesting to see the different perspective of the artists

By namrata d

Oct 2, 2020

Its been a journey quite to say Contemporary and so very interesting to find the true image. Thank you .

By Oliver D L R A

Jul 16, 2020

I liked the videos and texts. Although the course is basic, it has interesting examples and great topics!

By Benyapa W

May 3, 2020

It's great to study with MOMA and Coursera. I love the course. I get to know more than before. Thank you

By Miki

Apr 19, 2020

Practical while engaging. I'v got to get a glimpse of contemporary art from many different perspectives.

By Barbara l

Feb 4, 2021

There was a wide range of mediums included to broadened one's narrow definition of art and its purpose.

By Ivett Q S

Apr 21, 2020

Loved it! In a harsh time of this Covid Pandemic, this was truly inspiring, a lift of hope through art.

By Maria F

Apr 29, 2020

Enjoyed it very much. Excellent content. Multiple resources. Clean navigation tools. Easy to complete

By adrià g

Apr 8, 2020

A course to learn and understand recent artistic creations in a simple, pleasant and exciting format.

By María J V Z

Mar 19, 2020

Excellent material, accurate for everybody!! and very good to these tough times happen in the world.

By Johanna T

Jun 21, 2020

Wonderful content in an easy to understand way. I enjoyed every section and would highly recommend.

By Jose A C M

Mar 18, 2020

Excellent option to enter the world of contemporary art and its characteristics. Highly recommended

By Hendric S

Feb 1, 2022

It has been a long journey for me, finding general meaning rather than personal meaning. Thank you

By T. M G

Oct 30, 2020

What is Contemporary Art is such an great course. I feel it is elegant an gritty at the same time!

By Javi R

Jul 10, 2021

Me encantó. Un curso bien construido sobre el arte contemporáneo y su trabajo en el mundo actual.

By Gabriel R V V

Mar 19, 2020

como obtengo mi certificado del curso ya que no he resivido ningun aviso para obtenerlo gracias

By Gabriela M A

May 24, 2021

It is a course that provides a lot of information in an interesting and visually appealing way.