Chevron Left
Back to Copyright for Multimedia

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Copyright for Multimedia by Duke University

4.6
stars
358 ratings
94 reviews

About the Course

Copyright questions about different formats (data, images, music and video) can be especially difficult. Sometimes the law specifically distinguishes between these different formats, and in most cases there are media-specific considerations that impact a copyright analysis. In this course we will look at four different media, paying special attention to the unique issues for each one and the kinds of information that is important when making copyright decisions for each type of material. We will work through fair use issues for each multimedia format, look at format-specific exceptions in the law, and consider unique issues for seeking permission for film, music, images and data. At the end of this course, participants will have a deeper understanding of how to apply our framework for making copyright decisions, and will be more comfortable with assessing multimedia issues. They will have gained more and more diverse experience for considering fair use....

Top reviews

JP
Jul 31, 2021

Awesome informational class if you're interested in Intellectual Property or just Law in general. Totally suitable for a 14 year old like me so you should be able to do it too!

JO
Nov 18, 2016

Excellent course, incredibly informative and very well taught. Highly recommend to anyone interested in entertainment as well as the laws and liability involved.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 92 Reviews for Copyright for Multimedia

By Raphael E

Nov 4, 2020

It will greatly help me in my projects thank you.

By Ahmer J K

Feb 25, 2017

Excellent, informative and engaging course!

By Vilmarie T

Apr 8, 2020

Excellent course! I learned a lot. Thanks!

By Elizabeth M

Jan 21, 2018

This was super helpful! I learned so much!

By Shana. K H

Jun 5, 2020

it was a great experience learning these

By Kurt B

Jul 19, 2017

Highly interesting and engaging course.

By G. A W

Aug 10, 2020

Excellent overview of copyright laws.

By Sebastian L M

May 16, 2021

I love this course, its amazing

By Ionut M C

Dec 4, 2019

Great resources. Recommended.

By Anne K

Oct 29, 2017

Great course! Thank you all!

By Lawrence L

Jan 15, 2016

Just excellent. Awesome!

By Zoltan T H

Feb 10, 2017

Slow paced but wonderful

By Oresteban C

Dec 8, 2021

​Sensational course!!!

By Greg C

Jul 1, 2017

Very useful, thanks!

By BEN R A

Apr 21, 2020

Really rich course

By Matthew N

Jan 22, 2017

Very informative!

By Скрыльников А

May 28, 2017

Здоровский курс!

By Ravalnath B

May 15, 2020

Nice course 👍

By Adluri S

May 7, 2020

good course!!

By Iris R

Jun 29, 2016

Thank you.

By Margarito Z

Jul 18, 2019

Excelente

By Yoo M

Aug 4, 2017

Thank you

By Ana G M

Mar 18, 2019

great

By Черных В Н

Jun 29, 2017

Geat!

By Jessica A

May 20, 2019

I enjoyed taking this class. The amount of 1-5 coursework assignments due per week is a bit much. This course work should be spread out more.

I appreciate, the ability to download the videos and the transcripts of the videos. It would be helpful if the highlighted, saved notes, could be transferred to a document. These notes are only accessible as long as the video is being played on the course website.

It helps that students can take the test at least three times. When a quiz is submitted, the question and a mark, indicating whether the answer is correct or incorrect are displayed. Having the question and the multiple-choice answers displayed, after submission, would help students understand why they chose their answers, right or wrong and how they can improve by correcting their mistake.

There should be a discussion form to communicate directly with the instructors. I have posted a question and a comment during the course and both times no reply was given by a student or instructor. One posting was in reference to a video that was required viewing for the course. It is no longer available on YouTube.

The deadline for course assignments on the Coursera app does not match the assigned deadlines on the website.

Sincerely,

Jessica Abson