Chevron Left
Back to Corporate Finance II: Financing Investments and Managing Risk

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Corporate Finance II: Financing Investments and Managing Risk by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
stars
749 ratings
141 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will learn how companies decide on how much debt to take, and whether to raise capital from markets or from banks. You will also learn how to measure and manage credit risk and how to deal with financial distress. You will discuss the mechanics of dividends and share repurchases, and how to choose the best way to return cash to investors. You will also learn how to use derivatives and liquidity management to offset specific sources of financial risk, including currency risks. Finally, You will learn how companies finance merger and acquisition decisions, including leveraged buyouts, and how to incorporate large changes in leverage in standard valuation models. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Understand how companies make financing, payout and risk management decisions that create value • Measure the effects of leverage on profitability, risk, and valuation • Manage credit risk and financial distress using appropriate financial tools • Understand the links between payout policies and company performance • Use derivatives and liquidity management to offset financial risks • Pick an appropriate financing package for an M&A or leveraged buyout deal This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

RO
Mar 1, 2019

Excellent material to drive and support the discussions introduced in the live sessions. Some materials may need a review (particularly wording), but it does not compromise the overall content at all.

DB
Jun 26, 2019

I didn't realise how much I'd learn in this course. So many concepts I've touched on before and thought I knew a bit about, but in hindsight I really didn't understand, until I completed this course.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 139 Reviews for Corporate Finance II: Financing Investments and Managing Risk

By John P C

Dec 29, 2019

Though the module 4 is a tough one, I find it comprensive enough in making a good financial decision particularly in understanding the LBO and the M&A. Such learning is very important.

By Hamza M

Jul 4, 2021

It was a wonderful experience studying the important topics that are used very commonly by the financial experts. A detailed and comprehensive studies were used throughout the course.

By Jose L

Nov 26, 2020

Loved the course! Loved the professor! I even found a citation to one of his papers when reading a paper on M&A means of payment. I'm very happy to have taken this course.

By Guillermo E M

Feb 22, 2018

Excellent conclusion from what I learned in the the first course, this makes it more interesting of course, but I would recommend to take both courses, Thanks Almeida

By Ubaldo G

Nov 29, 2020

I have really enjoyed this course. I understad much better how my company works now. Corporate finance is an amazing world and this course and this teacher are great

By Cristina G A

Sep 2, 2021

Very interesting and useful training for non financial profiles (in my case I am a chemical engineer). Extremely clear explanation. I'm fully satisfied with it.

By Sachin P X

Dec 6, 2018

Fantastic Value Adding Course. Very Practical with a lot of good examples. Excellent conceptual breadth and depth also in this course. Highly recommended.

By Sergio C

Dec 27, 2020

Great course, interesting subjects, and financial insight on strategy and tactics.

Real-life exercises analyzed by Heitor Almeida in a very nice way!!!

By Michael G

Mar 3, 2019

Great Course the teacher is great and he is very dynamic. I am a CFO and I felt I still learned new things from this course.

By Troy W F

Mar 3, 2019

A treasure trove of research based information to inform real-world financial decisions; immediately applicable and relevant!

By Peter S

Sep 3, 2018

This course was excellent, I learned a lot of corporate finance with a solid background.

Waiting for the next course.

By Joe F

Mar 1, 2019

Great course! A lot of good information and useful tools from the world of Finance. The professor is top-class

By Frank A

Mar 3, 2019

Excellent course! Professor Almeida really goes over much in the four modules. A great learning experience.

By Fred S

Mar 24, 2018

Lots of case studies along the way and ways to use the knowledge to do some practical assignments.

By Suniti S

Oct 4, 2017

Awesome content. I would recommend this to all people who are trying to learn the risk management.

By ankit k a

Aug 30, 2018

Well designed course to understand the corporate finance, their strategy and how to manage risk

By Mohammad A

Sep 6, 2020

awesome course....became a great fan of professor after taking the 2 corporate finance courses

By Saiprakash R

May 16, 2020

Top notch Professor and brilliant teaching. This is one of the finest programs I have studied.

By Maarten K

Dec 1, 2020

Loved the way Heitor teaches. Full of enthusiasm and interesting cases. Learnt a lot. Thanks.

By MUHAMMAD Y B

Nov 3, 2018

i learned lot of concept about corporate finance about investing and risk related. thank you

By Fang S

May 28, 2018

very complicated stuff to understand and master. But very useful if you want to work in IB.

By Christopher G

Jul 9, 2020

Incredible Course. Comprehensive and very well taught. Learned so much and enjoyed it!

By yara o

Apr 14, 2020

a great course that helps understand better the material given using real life examples.

By Michael W

Mar 11, 2017

Great course. Recommend with great enthusiasm. Comprehensive and extremely well taught.

By John Y

Apr 10, 2021

An interesting course with relevant examples. It was the most useful for the capstone.