Chevron Left
Back to Protecting the World: Introducing Corrosion Science and Engineering

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Protecting the World: Introducing Corrosion Science and Engineering by University of Manchester

4.6
stars
768 ratings

About the Course

If you have ever encountered rusty car bodies, leaking pipes, tarnished silverware or the green patina of a copper roof then you have experienced corrosion in action. This course, from the Corrosion@Manchester team in collaboration with AkzoNobel, will teach you why metals corrode, what the environmental consequences are, how much corrosion costs and how corrosion can be controlled. It is designed for students, householders, teachers, professionals and anyone in-between. The aim of the course is to introduce the complex world of corrosion and corrosion control. While a full appreciation of corrosion science involves elements of materials science, electrochemistry and physics while corrosion engineering requires a practical knowledge of corrosion failures and engineering design this course does not need an extensive background knowledge. The course mirrors elements of the Corrosion Control Engineering teaching programme at The University of Manchester for final-year undergraduates and masters-level postgraduates and is used as a supplementary learning resource by our students....

Top reviews

PP

Jun 3, 2020

It was a very interesting course ,I enjoyed getting knowledge about our environment and how corrosion damages our environment.Also how to protect our environment from being damaged by corrosion.

AS

Jul 19, 2020

Amazing course with an in-depth concept clarification about corrosion and protection methods. I will be more interested to do a course in Non-destructive monitoring for corrosion evaluation.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 249 Reviews for Protecting the World: Introducing Corrosion Science and Engineering

By NABEEL A

Jul 9, 2020

I am Nabeel Ali from New Delhi, India. I am pursuing my bachelors in technology in Mechanical Engineering from "Jamia Millia Islamia". I am in my last semester of the course. One of my seniors recommended this course to me. As an undergraduate research project we have taken up "Friction stir welding and processing of aluminium alloys" as our domain of work.

By studying corrosion, we are thinking of enhancing our study and analysis and by involving "Corrosion study of Friction stir welded aluminium alloys" apart from the usual Tensile testing, Impact testing, Micro hardness and Micro structure study that we usually do.

For the same reason I have taken up the course. It was a great course and I suggest that an advance level course on corrosion study should also be uploaded on Coursera. More specifically, a course on "Corrosion in Welding" will be a great work.

Thank You to all the teachers as well as the instructors

Also, I have read the discussion forums and to my knowledge nobody has yet received the completion certificate for this course including myself

Kindly see to it that University of Manchester issues us a certificate

Thank You once again

By Qaiser A Q

Oct 16, 2022

Introduction corrosion sciene and engineering course was very helpful to me because all sessions are extremely benificial and important to broaden my knowledge. it covered all information and science about corrosion. thanks to enrolled me to this course.

suggestion: please add this type of other courses in coursera because now a days world work on oil and gas industries its very important. so this course is very benificial for corrosion in oil and gas industries.

Extremely Thanks to the Coursera Team,

Thanks & Best Regards

Qaiser Ali

By STEPHEN M K

Jul 6, 2021

It has given me a very necessary over view of corrosion control especially in oil and gas field. It is very useful for engineers working in installations and processing plant for mitigation of failures due to environment. The course materials are well planned and delivered. The University of Manchester should however consider issuing Certificate of completion to participants since the course is of intermediate level and requires personal commitment to complete.

Best Regards

By ARUMUGAM S

Jul 23, 2021

THIS COURSE IS HIGHLY INFORMATIVE AND USEFUL FOR MY COURSE WORK. SIR I AM DOING MY PH.D IN ELECTROPLATING IN THIRUVALLUVAR UNIVERSITY WITHOUT ANY STUIPEND. SIR, I ALREADY APPLIED FOR FINANCIAL AID.

SIR, KINDLY CONSIDER MY POOR FINANCIAL POSITION AND PROVIDE THE CERTIFICATE WITH THE SANCTION OF FINANCIAL AID.

WITH WARM REGARDS

S. ARUMUGAM

RESEARCH SCHOLAR

DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY

THIRUVALLUVAR UNIVERSITY

TAMIL NADU

By MUYIWA A F

Aug 31, 2020

This course protecting the world: Introducing Corrosion Science and Engineering, really broaden my knowledge about corrosion generally. It gave me more understanding of the engineering and science part of corrosion. This course is really encouraging. I am happy I enrolled and completed it. Thanks to Coursera and the University of Manchester.

By Muhammad A

Dec 1, 2022

his course is very helpful for me. because I am doing metallurgy and material engineering. The corrosion engineering subject is included in my semester. I gain much of knowledge from introducing corrosion science...... Course.

i really enjoyed.....

Thank you for your kindness. East and west coursera.org is

By Benjamin S

Oct 28, 2022

Fantastic overview of the key challenges in corrosion prevention. I now feel like I have a general awareness of the methods and tools available to mitigate corrosion impacts through material selection, cathodic protection, coatings, evaluation, and management.

By Edwin D C A

Aug 4, 2020

This course offers a great overview of what processes drive corrosion and what methods have been developed to control it. It gives a good insight into all the factors at play and help become aware to the importance of corrosion protection in range of cases.

By Bouali

Jun 20, 2020

The course was very well done. It helped significantly in improving my knowledge in the area of corrosion and corrosion protection.

I would like to thank every single instructor and person that put these videos and information together !!

By Dr.M. G

Aug 14, 2020

The course designed has covered all the important parameters that are needed. I really gained lot of knowledge. Thanks to the speakers who have demonstrated few experiments and case studies to understand the things in a better way.

By felix o

Sep 27, 2022

I would recommend this course to anyone who wants understand fundamentals of corrosion and corrosion control. Its a great course to enroll in and a kickstarter for those who want to satrt a career in corrosion engineering.

By Mukesh K

May 1, 2020

This course was fantastically designed for students and professionals to learn about fundamental aspects of corrosion control and monitoring in oil and gas. Additionally, it provided good overview of surface engineering.

By Sukru T

Dec 15, 2020

It was very good and useful course. However, it would be good to see the lecturers in the videos.

This course did not give certificate. giving certificate is important. but this course omit this. This is negative point.

By Md. Z A

Jan 13, 2022

Nice topic and nice presentation. I learned lot of things by doing this course. Thanks Coursera for providing this course. Also , all the lecturers for their good efforts.

By Dorian K

Dec 27, 2020

The information provided is exceptional. It is a very demanding course. Most of the time I had to pause and go back again. It's sad that they don't provide a certificate.

By Nawtej J

Oct 30, 2020

After completing a lot of challenging quizzes, and efforts, I completed this course, but I cannot see any option to download or buy the certificate. Please help me out.

By Haytham S A A E

Nov 18, 2020

I benefited a lot, It was excellent training and I gained valuable information in my field of work. I advise all my colleagues to enrol themselves in that course.

By Hassanein A

Aug 29, 2020

Very interesting course, I gained massive information especially in the last session its very useful for me in my current role

Thanks your great efforts.

By Eduardo P d C

May 29, 2022

The most complete online course about corrosion. It is demanding and hard with complex tems however covers all you need to know about corrosion issues.

By Asifkhan H M

Mar 12, 2023

This is actually a great course for all level of learners.

Thanks for University of Manchester and Coursera for arranging this wonderful opportunity.

By Avadhar N R N

Oct 28, 2021

The Course is really very helpful for my career. Its covered wide range information's about corrosion. Thank you all those who behind on this course.

By Kennedy P O

Aug 17, 2022

it gave me a better undestanding of corrosipon in relation to its effect to designs of steel structures/components and its maintenance cost wise.

By Kingsley V A

Jul 31, 2020

This course is insightful. It provides deep understanding of corrosion effect and its control, most especially in the oil and gas industry.

By Anas C

Sep 8, 2020

I have a learned a deep knowledge in corrosion science and it's importace in industrial fields as well as in oil and gas petroleum fields

By ANIRBAN K

Jun 4, 2020

I really enjoyed this course but after completion of the course I can't get my certificate. I hope I will get later on. Thank you