Chevron Left
Back to Protecting the World: Introducing Corrosion Science and Engineering

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Protecting the World: Introducing Corrosion Science and Engineering by University of Manchester

4.6
stars
477 ratings
169 reviews

About the Course

If you have ever encountered rusty car bodies, leaking pipes, tarnished silverware or the green patina of a copper roof then you have experienced corrosion in action. This course, from the Corrosion@Manchester team in collaboration with AkzoNobel, will teach you why metals corrode, what the environmental consequences are, how much corrosion costs and how corrosion can be controlled. It is designed for students, householders, teachers, professionals and anyone in-between. The aim of the course is to introduce the complex world of corrosion and corrosion control. While a full appreciation of corrosion science involves elements of materials science, electrochemistry and physics while corrosion engineering requires a practical knowledge of corrosion failures and engineering design this course does not need an extensive background knowledge. The course mirrors elements of the Corrosion Control Engineering teaching programme at The University of Manchester for final-year undergraduates and masters-level postgraduates and is used as a supplementary learning resource by our students....

Top reviews

PP
Jun 3, 2020

It was a very interesting course ,I enjoyed getting knowledge about our environment and how corrosion damages our environment.Also how to protect our environment from being damaged by corrosion.

AS
Jul 19, 2020

Amazing course with an in-depth concept clarification about corrosion and protection methods. I will be more interested to do a course in Non-destructive monitoring for corrosion evaluation.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 168 Reviews for Protecting the World: Introducing Corrosion Science and Engineering

By BIBIN C

May 12, 2020

EXCELLENT COURSE

By Mamdouh H H

Nov 12, 2020

Outstanding !!!

By Steve C

Jul 24, 2020

Good refresher

By GOGU B S

Jun 15, 2020

NO CERTIFICATE

By ANUP K S

Oct 10, 2020

very helpful

By William D G R

Aug 8, 2020

sensacional

By Joshua S O O

Aug 9, 2020

Enjoyed

By Antu K R

Jun 19, 2020

Awesome

By Vishwam H

Aug 27, 2020

Good

By Akalya R B

Jul 28, 2020

nice

By Nagarajan

Jul 20, 2020

Good

By Priya C

Jul 18, 2020

Good

By Vijay K S

Jul 1, 2020

good

By RAJAT S

Jun 5, 2020

good

By RITESH S

Jun 4, 2020

good

By Dr R B

Jun 4, 2020

good

By H A J s

May 15, 2020

nice

By Yousef K

Oct 25, 2020

A W

By Salem B A S A S

Jul 20, 2020

t

By Eddie S

Aug 4, 2020

To apply on this course you need an excessive knowledge about electrochemistry and physical metallurgy. This course are great but i found it to basic and doesn't cover a lot of things especially about the electrochemistry and surface engineering also for welded parts, hopefully it there's advanced similar that will cover more about corrosion and its related things.

By Naresh E

Sep 23, 2020

I am a CP Engineer by profession, This course gave good insights on various corrosion aspects, surface engineering, Cathodic Protection as well. Thanks To Coursera and Reliance for giving me this opportunity

By Leonardo M

May 25, 2020

I had some difficulties following the Surface Engineering videos. I suggest they are broken in parts, to make them for digestible. The sections on corrosion in the oil and gas industry were excellent.

By COULIBALY N H

May 27, 2020

Un cours qui m'a vraiment aidé à comprendre beaucoup de choses. La seule chose qui m'a embêté c'est l'absence d'attestation de participation.

Vraiment j'en avais sérieusement besoin.

By Troy A

Jun 5, 2020

I loved this course and I learned a lot about corrosion. I think the course should add another week or two to cover corrosion in fields other than the oilfield.

By Abdullah A

May 10, 2020

The English of the Instructor was a bit tough to understand in week 1 and 2. Other than that the course was great, I learned a lot from this course.