Chevron Left
Back to Protecting the World: Introducing Corrosion Science and Engineering

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Protecting the World: Introducing Corrosion Science and Engineering by University of Manchester

4.6
stars
502 ratings
180 reviews

About the Course

If you have ever encountered rusty car bodies, leaking pipes, tarnished silverware or the green patina of a copper roof then you have experienced corrosion in action. This course, from the Corrosion@Manchester team in collaboration with AkzoNobel, will teach you why metals corrode, what the environmental consequences are, how much corrosion costs and how corrosion can be controlled. It is designed for students, householders, teachers, professionals and anyone in-between. The aim of the course is to introduce the complex world of corrosion and corrosion control. While a full appreciation of corrosion science involves elements of materials science, electrochemistry and physics while corrosion engineering requires a practical knowledge of corrosion failures and engineering design this course does not need an extensive background knowledge. The course mirrors elements of the Corrosion Control Engineering teaching programme at The University of Manchester for final-year undergraduates and masters-level postgraduates and is used as a supplementary learning resource by our students....

Top reviews

PP
Jun 3, 2020

It was a very interesting course ,I enjoyed getting knowledge about our environment and how corrosion damages our environment.Also how to protect our environment from being damaged by corrosion.

AS
Jul 19, 2020

Amazing course with an in-depth concept clarification about corrosion and protection methods. I will be more interested to do a course in Non-destructive monitoring for corrosion evaluation.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 179 Reviews for Protecting the World: Introducing Corrosion Science and Engineering

By Salem B A S A S

Jul 20, 2020

t

By Eddie S

Aug 4, 2020

To apply on this course you need an excessive knowledge about electrochemistry and physical metallurgy. This course are great but i found it to basic and doesn't cover a lot of things especially about the electrochemistry and surface engineering also for welded parts, hopefully it there's advanced similar that will cover more about corrosion and its related things.

By Akiojano K

Dec 6, 2020

Information was presented in a very detailed manner. The tests at various stages, were appropriate to check level of understanding.

However, am very surprised no certificates of course completion was given for the knowledge obtained.

Please provide directives, on how to obtain certificate.

By Naresh E

Sep 23, 2020

I am a CP Engineer by profession, This course gave good insights on various corrosion aspects, surface engineering, Cathodic Protection as well. Thanks To Coursera and Reliance for giving me this opportunity

By Leonardo M

May 25, 2020

I had some difficulties following the Surface Engineering videos. I suggest they are broken in parts, to make them for digestible. The sections on corrosion in the oil and gas industry were excellent.

By COULIBALY N H

May 27, 2020

Un cours qui m'a vraiment aidé à comprendre beaucoup de choses. La seule chose qui m'a embêté c'est l'absence d'attestation de participation.

Vraiment j'en avais sérieusement besoin.

By Troy A

Jun 5, 2020

I loved this course and I learned a lot about corrosion. I think the course should add another week or two to cover corrosion in fields other than the oilfield.

By Abdullah A

May 10, 2020

The English of the Instructor was a bit tough to understand in week 1 and 2. Other than that the course was great, I learned a lot from this course.

By Nusayer A

Aug 29, 2020

The course involved a huge topics on corrosion & its prevention. I acquired a huge amount of information. Thank you very much.

By Praful m

Aug 31, 2020

The course is well planned and structured. Faculty have tried their best to cover up all corrosion related topics.

By gerard c

May 6, 2020

good course i wish lecturers would review the text to help with language / translation issues.

thanks

By Eugenia J

Jun 7, 2020

Me pareció bastante completo, sólo faltaron los principios de la electroquímica

By ARUN K V

Aug 11, 2020

Very good course for corrosion engineers who work in the areas of an oilfield.

By AGAN A

Aug 28, 2020

This course Very useful to me about the corrosion in Environment

By Aoudjeghout A

Oct 1, 2020

For me as a geologist engineer it is very good course

By Archana D J

Jun 12, 2020

It's very nice course. To improve my future career

By Adedeji D

Nov 1, 2020

I learnt a lot about corrosion and Oil and

By IMRAN A S N

Jul 17, 2020

Good

Such a interesting course

By Mohamed S

Jul 27, 2020

very helpful and smart

By Imtyaz A

Oct 31, 2020

Really it was very informative about the corrosion cause ,affect and protection.Course designed very well starting form beginning and composed with all required information

By Maria G Y

Jan 22, 2021

The video presenting is uninteresting. Audio background noises are distracting. The content itself is fine but the delivery of it is not to my preference.

By HUNTER G B

Jul 22, 2020

I'm sure this is a good course for those versed in the world of corrosion, but it should not be advertised for those without any such experience.

By Dhanya J

Jul 17, 2020

certain topics could have been explained better

By FAYIS M S

Jun 17, 2020

i didnt get the report

By Mahalakshmi K

Aug 1, 2020

useful