Chevron Left
Back to COVID-19 - A clinical update

Learner Reviews & Feedback for COVID-19 - A clinical update by University of Florida

4.7
stars
339 ratings

About the Course

As an expert in infectious diseases, editor of the Journal of Infectious Diseases and author of the textbook Infectious Diseases: A clinical short course, McGraw-Hill April 2020, I have been concerned about the misinformation being shared about the COVID-19 epidemic. How did this disease develop? Where did it come from? How does it cause diseases? The answers to these questions will be answered in the first video of module 1. The world has been startled and frightened by the rapid spread of this virus throughout the world. In Video 2 the epidemiology as presently understood is reviewed. This video will be periodically updated recognizing the rapid progression of the pandemic. Many want to know how does this disease present, what are the symptoms associated with COVID-19? How dangerous is COVID-19? Who is at risk of dying? All these questions are answered in Video 3. And finally how is this disease best treated and how can we slow the spread of the infection? These questions are answered in video 4. In addition to the videos multiple choice questions are included to test your understanding and there is an epidemiology peer reviewed exercise designed to teach you how this infection is spread and to show the power of the tracing of cases and isolating those who are infected. The second peer review exercise will encourage you to create a campaign to shift your countries culture to embrace behaviors that can lead to suppression of the epidemic, behaviors that will save lives. After completing this course you will be armed with the knowledge and skills to make a difference and help to bend the curve....

Top reviews

MG

Nov 2, 2021

I enjoyed the course and learnt a lot of new information. However now that I have completed the course and already paid for it, I cannot get the certificate.

My name is Marlyn Grindley

Thank you

SD

Jun 12, 2020

Hellow I am samruddhi and glad to tell you that I had recive the good grades in this course and completed it. This course has taught me many new things and this is very helpful for my future.

Filter by:

76 - 90 of 90 Reviews for COVID-19 - A clinical update

By Richa C

Jul 28, 2020

Nice

By Divya C

May 29, 2020

good

By Johannes P

Oct 5, 2021

Very useful and insightful to a lay person. The material is at places somewhat outdated, but this due to the relative novelty and fast evolving nature of the pandemic.

By Lisa E

Nov 4, 2020

It is for the advanced learner. There are some technical terms that are assumed, and not for someone without prior clinical experience

By Ann L

May 23, 2021

Great course, I took it so I would have correct information to help me COVID risk assess everyday situations.

By Stephen L

Jan 24, 2022

Very good well rounded course. Everything you need to know about COVID-19

By BRAYAN R C G

Apr 13, 2021

The course was very interesting. Bunch of thanks.

By clara d

Jun 20, 2020

simple and educative

By sanjana r

Dec 29, 2020

An excellent course

By Dr D V

Jul 27, 2020

Very Good

By Chitranjan

Jan 24, 2021

good

By Margaret T

Jan 5, 2021

While the information is presented in a very understandable way, navigation was a bit tricky and "quiz questions and quizzes" were frequently schedule before the information on them was presented. I also had trouble with submitting my assignment and doing the peer reviews. The problem was my assignment was graded and I did the 3 + peer reviews but that was not showing in Week 1 as complete. Also, I watched videos that were not marked as complete, so I had to go back through them and do the quiz questions for each video! And finally, I did NOT do this for a certificate, but there does not seem to be a way to show that I completed it!!! That is frustrating.

By Sean W

Dec 13, 2020

Good Breadth and depth for novice and Lay person. Add a star for a 'late breaking news' section, Even if it just a link to the SME Website specific page for this course.

By Tammy B

Apr 5, 2021

Other than the vaccine information, very little was new information. I would have liked to see some studies or notes from late 2020 rather than April 2020

By Samuel N

Aug 18, 2022

Course takes to long to finsih. Students shouldnt need to grade others work in order to pass. Way too many videos. Course should be shortned and made easier