Chevron Left
Back to Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,497 ratings

About the Course

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Top reviews

LB

Nov 15, 2018

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

SD

Jul 13, 2020

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.

The instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 1,503 Reviews for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

By Sonia F

Aug 8, 2017

Great course. I've learnt a lot and intend to continue with the whole writing course, now that I have some time during the holidays.

By Cássio G

May 23, 2021

A very important course for those who want to enter the world of script. All information is necessary, added a lot to my knowledge.

By ISHAN S

Aug 1, 2020

Super Course with an amazing teacher. I have improved a lot because now I have a better understanding in how to structure my ideas.

By Lim Y X

Jul 10, 2020

It is great that they provide very concrete guidelines in how to structure story, and I think I have learned something interesting!

By Ezequiel L M M d O

Sep 28, 2021

Buen curso para comenzar el proceso de escritura y la estructuración de la historia, así como de los personajes. Muy recomendada.

By B O

May 14, 2021

I thought the course was very helpful and the videos provided a lot of instruction. It was well worth my time to take this class.

By Dara G

Apr 18, 2021

I love this course so much! It's given me real insight into how to use my creativity and how to make my imagination make sense. <3

By Harshitha H

Sep 22, 2020

It inspired me to get back into writing. Very helpful for structuring your stories. I really loved the course. Thank you for this!

By Liora H

Feb 23, 2019

It gave me excellent motivation to write, lots of really good notes to keep in mind when constructing a scene and editing my work.

By Rebekka

Oct 14, 2020

Definitely learned new useful information and how to wrtite better. Everything was easy to follow and I really liked this course!

By Debashish S

Aug 6, 2020

Brando was awesome! The course helped me learn some of the most intricate details about the Craft of the Plot. Thanks once again.

By Esmatullah S

Jan 10, 2019

I loved this course. I still refer to it. This course has been brilliantly designed and triggers you to follow it without a stop.

By Ritu G

Feb 23, 2016

I loved this course. It was very helpful and gave me a lot of insights in fiction writing. Thanks for bringing this course to us!

By Ivonne E L

Jul 27, 2020

Es un gran curso, te permite a desarrollar tus capacidades de redacción con ejemplos claros y prácticas sencillas pero eficaces

By HRISHABH R

May 24, 2020

great way of teaching about plot. i am an amateur writer and this course gave me a detailed understanding about plot structure.

By Giulia C

Oct 12, 2018

Really brilliant course.Extremely satisfying very well structured and taught in a brilliant way from the great Brando Skyhorse.

By Laura-Alexandra C

Jul 15, 2018

Very much enjoyed the course and the creative assignments every week! They really got me looking forward to writing every week.

By Allan R A

Mar 18, 2018

Great suggestions and guidance. Challenging assignments. Helpful directions for success as a writer. What else can one ask for?

By Victoria W S

Aug 3, 2017

Good information and good pacing of information during session. Enjoyed the detail and tips to help my writing develop better.

By pranav k

Feb 1, 2020

This course really helped me and i also developed the basic skills for writing and learned new concepts about fiction writing.

By Alina L

Feb 12, 2016

All the videos contain necessary information. The assignments are clear and very well structured. It is really a great course!

By Teresa H

Dec 13, 2021

I enjoyed taking this course and the information provided is truly assisting me with learning more about my craft. Thank you.

By Muhammad F

Aug 17, 2020

This course is helping me to be a good writer started with plot, and this course can improve my skills in writing in English.

By Frankie W

Feb 3, 2019

Brando Skyhorse's lectures were perfect. I truly hung on every word and I feel already I am a better writer for it! Thank you

By anant t

Jun 27, 2020

it was amazing. I wished to study more. I don't wanted to end it. Thank you so much for this opportunity you provided to me.