Chevron Left
Back to Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,495 ratings

About the Course

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Top reviews

DA

Nov 30, 2016

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

BM

Nov 4, 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 1,503 Reviews for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

By Kali C

Jan 30, 2019

This course is amazing. The videos explain how to craft a plot in a clear way, and it has fun assignments to do. I enjoyed it! Into the next Craft course!

By Elsa W P

Apr 14, 2017

I found the teaching videos very easy to follow and understand. The assignments were relative to the teaching and helped cement the knowledge in my brain.

By Ishita N

Jul 25, 2020

For anyone who likes to write but is looking for guidance, this is an amazing experience. I loved this course and also the peer here are very supportive.

By Ananyanarayan D

Jul 5, 2020

This is an amazing course. It forced me to exert my thinking muscles in a way they hadn't before. Professor Brando Skyhorse is an exceptional instructor.

By Annette B

Mar 9, 2016

I enjoyed this course; it provided a thorough overview of plot - well worth the time spent watching the videos and completing the assignments for myself.

By Esmeralda C G

Jan 23, 2021

The material is perfect to help you see clearly the strcture of a story, and the exercises help you to keep writting and planning stories. Great course!

By Carmen P

Sep 29, 2020

me gusto mucho el curso, son habilidades y conocimientos que desde hace tiempo buscaba, ademas de aprender este curso me ha dado satisfaccion y alegria

By Madeleine M

Sep 10, 2019

I really enjoyed it. it helped me with my creative writing skills so much. I know I will use the writing skills I earned from this course in my future!!

By Marianna Z

Jan 14, 2017

Very good course. Since I've only done the audit I haven't practiced with the assignments (probably going to do so on my own time with a friend though).

By Deleted A

Jan 9, 2017

I loved the course especially where Mr Skyhorse talked about rising action. The assignments are very engaging and this course has been a great learning.

By Numrah F B

May 26, 2022

The course was amzing. Mr Brando Skyhorse explained evrything in detail. I would suggest writers to take this course in order to improve their writing.

By Catherine O

Apr 3, 2022

I thoroughly enjoyed Brando's use of sample passages and easy-to-understand steps. I loved this course and I cannot wait to practice all I have learnt.

By Susan L

Aug 27, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. Each assignment focused on different skills, and the ability to peer review gave me insights on my own writing and style.

By Clémence C

Jan 31, 2018

It is an excellent class : Very clear and easy to follow. The teacher is great and gives very good basics and rules. It makes writing looks very easy !

By Catherine B

Aug 10, 2016

I thought the course was very informative. It had a lot of good and essential information for writing and the teacher was clear and easy to understand.

By Cj B

Jun 27, 2016

Wonderful. Just wish it could have been longer. The shop talking sections with featuring Brando speaking with other writers were incredibly insightful.

By lisa r

Jun 17, 2016

This course involved challenging assignments and very interesting lessons. I thought the course was well thought out and would recommend it to anyone.

By Harish p

Nov 2, 2020

the course is very useful for writers, it helps me in improving my writing skills now i can write my works in structured way as learned in this course

By Leila M

Jul 27, 2020

Excellent course, the assignments allowed me to encourage myself to write. I was able to understand the course even though I don't speak much English.

By Candy L

Nov 2, 2020

This class was easy to follow along with. Even after writing for years, I learned several new gems from Professor Brando Skyhorse. Thank you so much!

By Мария В

Sep 15, 2020

It was fun and engaging. I really enjoyed the tasks and grading others' works, even though the peer review part was an unexpected part of the course.

By Courtney Z

Mar 27, 2018

I learned so much in this course, particularly, how to edit what I am writing to tell a better story to the reader. Great course- highly recommended.

By MPearsall

May 15, 2017

Excellent! The content is interesting and I enjoyed how Mr. Skyhorse addresses the material he teaches in a very simple yet meaningful way.

Thank you

By Niño S M

Nov 27, 2021

Through this course, I have been encouraged to write and tighten my writing. I have to make it count by making it not only taut but also thoughtful.

By Lourdes M P C

Dec 11, 2020

Me encantó la forma de explicar del instructor, muy clara. Las entrevistas me encantaron, muy orientadoras para alguien que quiere aprender. Gracias