Chevron Left
Back to Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
4,026 ratings
1,354 reviews

About the Course

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Top reviews

SD
Jul 13, 2020

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.\n\nThe instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

LB
Nov 15, 2018

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 1,344 Reviews for Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

By Candy L

Nov 2, 2020

This class was easy to follow along with. Even after writing for years, I learned several new gems from Professor Brando Skyhorse. Thank you so much!

By Мария В

Sep 15, 2020

It was fun and engaging. I really enjoyed the tasks and grading others' works, even though the peer review part was an unexpected part of the course.

By Courtney Z

Mar 27, 2018

I learned so much in this course, particularly, how to edit what I am writing to tell a better story to the reader. Great course- highly recommended.

By MPEARSALL

May 15, 2017

Excellent! The content is interesting and I enjoyed how Mr. Skyhorse addresses the material he teaches in a very simple yet meaningful way.

Thank you

By Lourdes M P C

Dec 11, 2020

Me encantó la forma de explicar del instructor, muy clara. Las entrevistas me encantaron, muy orientadoras para alguien que quiere aprender. Gracias

By Theofilos D

Nov 29, 2020

Very good course. It had much more than I anticipated. It had very basic and important things that you should know to write a well structured story.

By Shillpi B

Oct 20, 2020

This is such an amazing course and I am happy to learn so much and can't wait to get started with the other variants of the creative writing course.

By Laurel D

Jul 17, 2019

This is a great class. I love the instructor and the materials I learned in this course. I will be looking into other Weslyen courses in the future.

By Max H

Jun 20, 2017

I think Brandon Skyhorse is an excellent teacher. The prerecorded segments are very good and easy to follow. The Assignments are challenging and fun

By Susan S

Jun 20, 2016

Before taking this course I had no idea that there can actually be a format to follow to create a good story! I've learned a lot and Brando Skyhorse

By Aniketh B

Jun 4, 2020

Fun And Easy to follow. The assignments help a lot and it has genuinely made me feel like a better write and given me confidence to pursue writing.

By Geraldine R

Oct 8, 2018

This course is great. I learned a lot and I didn't feel that I was stifled creatively.

The course content is relevant and is presented well online.

By Avalon B

Jun 27, 2021

Loved this course! Provided clear approach for developing plot, and the assignments were super helpful for getting practice. Definitely recommend.

By Juan C

Mar 4, 2021

Fue una experiencia satisfactoria donde pude intercambiar ideas con más escritores, y aprender muchísimo de las enseñanzas del gran Prof. Brandon.

By Ma. L I M

Jan 8, 2021

It enlightened me with a lot of ideas which encouraged me to begin to write stories. It's also nice to share and learn with your peers. Thank you!

By Giovanna A

May 15, 2020

I liked it very much! It has helped me to have better vision and perspective when writing and even reading. Very happy with the course. Thank you.

By Jeannette D

Dec 13, 2016

I had a dream , but always bushed it back ' writing novels; i had a false assumption about fiction. this course help me to see myself writing .

By K S

Oct 12, 2020

This was an amazing course. A nice refresher for things I had known about as well as a well of knowledge for things I had not known about before.

By Matthew J G

Sep 6, 2017

Awesome introduction to the specialization. You won't leave without a good set of skills and a general understanding on the processes of writing.

By Jazzi B

Jan 24, 2017

The course is excellent! It definitely helps writers in taking the story from their minds to paper, using methods to keep the reader's attention.

By Crystal B

Jan 17, 2017

Very helpful if you are picking up writing again. Not to time consuming, the content is manageable and the instructor is very clear and concise!

By Tulia G

Aug 8, 2018

Excellent course! I did it twice since the first time I was not enrolled for the certification, however, the second time I annoyed it even more.

By ANA M N R

Oct 1, 2020

Me encanto! los profesores son geniales, tienen una forma muy buena e explicar cada cosa y te es sencillo a la hora de realizar los ejercicios.

By Thomas W

Aug 3, 2020

A highly enjoyable experience that provides a stress free environment with tasks that provide enjoyable but mentally stimulating writing tasks.