Chevron Left
Back to Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
1,109 ratings
337 reviews

About the Course

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Top reviews

EG
Jul 1, 2020

Great course, it taught me things that I would have never learned otherwise, in this course you must take your time, don't rush, because if you do you will miss the most important points of the curse.

DP
Jul 17, 2018

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 331 Reviews for Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

By 申畅月

Oct 5, 2020

I had great experience here and the tutor is really nice! Most comments I received here are objective and helpful, I built a little confidence now. Thank you very much.

By VAIBHAV Y

Jul 20, 2017

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot. I also liked the fact that Amity gave selected readings to read which she thought might be important and helpful for us.

By Jeanne B

Nov 5, 2018

Deeply insightful and helpful. I am a beginner at writing fiction and the course both gave me techniques I was able to apply and then realise I can actually do this!

By Holly M

Jul 9, 2018

Amity Gaige is a really good instructor. I've taken three courses for this specialization so far and she's one of the best instructors. I really enjoyed this course.

By Tina M

Jul 31, 2017

I think this was my favorite module because it's an area I suffered from. My books are heavy on dialogue and suck in setting. This will change with my next project.

By Zsuzsanna J

May 10, 2016

I have learnt so much about description and about power of meditation. I recommend this course for everybody who would like to show his or her world to the Readers.

By Christina C

Jan 11, 2021

Very helpful and interesting course taught by an extremely knowledgable professor!! The course expanded my horizons and enhanced my writing abilities!! Thank you!!

By Aurelija M

Sep 27, 2016

Amity Gaige quickly became one of my favourite tutors. I enjoyed all the meditation parts so much that it made me rethink how research should be done. Thank you!

By Pam N

Sep 18, 2017

The instructor is personable, imaginative, and engaging. I loved the individual lessons in this course. I would highly recommend it to anyone learning to write.

By Nevil M

Sep 20, 2018

Thanks Amity,

For making me realize to use and bring all of my five senses even the sixth one alive in the writing... hopefully it will all come alive

Rgds,

Nev.

By Federico B S

May 30, 2018

This is a great course. You can tell the instructor loves writing and also has a great sense of what setting and description require. I highly recommend it.

By Anusha N

Aug 10, 2019

The best instructor in this course. Teaches with clarity, passion and compassion and sets some of the most complicated, interesting briefs for assignments.

By Taneka A

Sep 13, 2020

I really liked this course. It helped me develop my stories and if your a beginner at writing It breaks down what you have to do to become a great writer.

By Alessandro S

Dec 31, 2016

I really liked this course because it contained a lot of reading material and made me practice on various aspects of setting writing. My favourite so far.

By Sourodeep C

Jul 8, 2020

A great course to learn the fundamentals and think deeply. The assignments are challenging to give in your best, thought provoking. Loved it thoroughly

By lisa r

Jun 17, 2016

I am thoroughly enjoying this course. There is the right mix of close reading, difficult assignments and thought provoking conversations with authors.

By Vasanth K

Oct 21, 2020

Amity Gaige is hands-down the best instructor in this overall specialization. Her assignment are also very creative and helps you learn the craft.

By Ana H

Jul 9, 2018

The professor's knowledge was very useful to me. I would recommend this to any aspiring writer or just someone who wants to analyze novels better.

By Nada D

Aug 7, 2016

Really instructive course and exceptional teaching, discussion boards were a bit barren but maybe that was due to the lack of mentors at the time.

By Michelle R

Jun 16, 2020

I appreciated the instructors extra effort and words to the students. I felt as if she really cared about her craft and wanted us to do the same.

By Berta-Isabel C Á

Jun 1, 2018

Thanks Amity,

I found the course enjoyable and very instructive.

I like your tutotials in video the most as well as writing the Assignments.

Best,

BI

By Kinley L

Nov 15, 2020

I loved this creative writing course very much and it was a good as well as knowledgeable learning for me. Hope I become more familiar with it

By Nataliia S

Oct 24, 2019

Very interesting and informative. I liked the teacher's approach to bringing the information to students. I totally recommend this course!

By Paulo B

Feb 12, 2018

Like every other course of the Creative Writing Specialization, a profound revelation of the craft, in this case, setting and description.

By Susan K

Jul 23, 2020

This course was excellent! The content was clear and actionable, and I really enjoyed the instructor's conversational style and warmth.