Chevron Left
Back to Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Creative Writing: The Craft of Style by Wesleyan University

4.7
stars
1,004 ratings
285 reviews

About the Course

Your style is as unique and distinctive as your face, your voice, except that you can choose it, you can can work on it, enhance it. In this course we will introduce aspiring writers to the art of putting pressure on written language. We will study the use of metaphor and imagery, and demonstrate how clarity, grace, and inventiveness in word choice are imperative to a story’s success. Writers will emerge with the revision skills essential to all writers of good stories and good prose....

Top reviews

MS
Apr 18, 2016

Great class for the content I needed. I audited this class and benefited from the theory discussion and practical exercises. The class guided me to improve my writing style which was my ultimate goal.

LJ
Dec 17, 2018

Lessons were well done, good mix of teaching and illuminating discussion between accomplished writers. Exercises are creative and well thought out. Feedback from classmates is generally helpful.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 279 Reviews for Creative Writing: The Craft of Style

By Ana S A C

Aug 13, 2016

This had been my favorite one, incredibly practical and useful, I feel that I can understand better how to construct my story in a believable way.

By Christian S

May 18, 2021

Great insights into style and it really helped improving my writing. Especially now I know what to eliminate and what to emphasize while writing

By Muzun A

Jul 17, 2020

This is the best course in the specialization. Very good and informative with no repetition of the same information. I learned a lot. Thank you.

By Monica N M

Oct 16, 2019

Easy to follow, content goes deep into what the mind of a great experienced writer looks like. Highly recommend for people of any writing level!

By Damilola O

May 24, 2017

This course has taught me so many things that I would not have learnt otherwise. Thank you for creating this course! I enjoyed it thoroughly.

By Denise F

Oct 31, 2018

These four Creative Writing courses have given me great new tools for writing. I approach each piece with a new confidence and creativity.

By Max H

Jul 7, 2017

i love his way of teaching. very educational and pedagogical. I'm a visual learner and this catered to me more than the other craft courses

By Casey

Mar 23, 2016

Excellent class for learning prose and editing. I wish there was a class to learn even more about the craft of style, an advanced class.

By Music i l o S

Oct 22, 2019

Finally I have ended the specialisation, and now I am feeling as a humble writer, who could fulfill his inner desires, anguish and joy.

By MAGZ M

Feb 28, 2019

I loved this course. I even read the books that were referenced. I'm learning slowly but surely.Wish I'd discovered Coursera years ago.

By Piyush M

Jul 16, 2020

The exercises were way better than a few of the other courses and the instructor was really easy to connect to. Totally recommend it!!

By Vicky T

Apr 30, 2020

Good challenging activities, but ones that were well explained. I enjoyed the texts we were treated do and some of the writing tricks!

By Charlene W

Oct 17, 2017

This was a very challenging module. We think writing is about using flowery descriptions but being succinct makes for a better read.

By Ananya M

Aug 1, 2018

Loved loved loved. I learnt so much in these four weeks, I'm so thankful to Mr. Salvatore! Thank you so much, this was truly great.

By Merlin M

Jul 13, 2020

this was such an interesting course. i highly recommend this to anyone who is looking forward to improve your writing skills.

By Raul N C G

Jan 14, 2019

Content and instructor praiseworthy! Good structure and very interesting exercise. The course was a joy to take. Cheers, Raul

By Hector M C L

Feb 14, 2019

I really enjoyed the course, I thought the assignments were challenging and the lectures were really inspiring and clear.

By Chew W Y

Sep 9, 2016

I like all the writing courses organized by Wesleyan, I find the content meaningful and the instructors approachable.

By Melissa T

Mar 1, 2021

I enjoyed the in depth thinking and analyzing of character emotions and the construction of a well written story.

By Bernat R

Nov 28, 2017

Very important to rookie writers in my opinion, and very practical and appliable to any short or long writing.

By Luana B

Aug 17, 2016

Another great course of the Creative writing specialization. It was really interesting and helpful. Thank you!

By Matthew H

Nov 8, 2017

I really enjoy this guy's style. No pun intended! His conversational and sincere delivery keep you engaged.

By Terry T

Feb 27, 2017

This course is just what I needed, a lesson in the mechanics of writing. Difficult coursework but worth it.

By Valerie H

May 26, 2018

Great course! Salvator is very engaging and knowledgeable. Would love to take a course from him in person.

By Nicole

May 27, 2021

He's a fantastic teacher. I've taken all the Wesleyan writing courses, and i learned the most in this on.