Chevron Left
Back to Cryptography I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cryptography I by Stanford University

4.8
stars
3,562 ratings
751 reviews

About the Course

Cryptography is an indispensable tool for protecting information in computer systems. In this course you will learn the inner workings of cryptographic systems and how to correctly use them in real-world applications. The course begins with a detailed discussion of how two parties who have a shared secret key can communicate securely when a powerful adversary eavesdrops and tampers with traffic. We will examine many deployed protocols and analyze mistakes in existing systems. The second half of the course discusses public-key techniques that let two parties generate a shared secret key. Throughout the course participants will be exposed to many exciting open problems in the field and work on fun (optional) programming projects. In a second course (Crypto II) we will cover more advanced cryptographic tasks such as zero-knowledge, privacy mechanisms, and other forms of encryption....

Top reviews

BH
Jan 13, 2020

Provides a comprehensive introduction to cryptographic history, current technology, best practices and known attacker techniques. A great deal of material is covered in a relatively compact program.

BC
Mar 10, 2017

Cutting edge cryptography topics. Good explanations and slides, but pause button is highly recommended. Can be a bit too mathematical for the general public, and not very formal for mathematicians.

Filter by:

701 - 725 of 734 Reviews for Cryptography I

By Иван П

Aug 18, 2017

неплохой курс не хватает перевода на русском

By Faaiz K

Sep 17, 2019

Teacher is very good but he is too fast

By Mariusz Ć

Jan 8, 2018

Pretty tough but still interesting...

By Santiago Q T

Jun 6, 2016

pretty good, well explained and clear

By Torbjörn R

Oct 24, 2017

I learned a loot. Relay good videos.

By Andrzej L

May 4, 2016

Very good course, clear lecture.

By N. M C

Mar 20, 2019

very good course. very helpful

By Simon S

Jan 1, 2017

I liked it! Hard but worth it.

By Yoshua H S

Oct 13, 2017

good but not for beginners ):

By Upam S

Nov 8, 2019

Nice learning experience.

By Meenakshi S

Dec 15, 2019

i was a great experience

By V c k

Jun 22, 2020

requires mathematics

By Akshit Y

Dec 6, 2016

excellent course!!!!

By Johanna C

Oct 5, 2019

Hard but worth it!

By Heet S

Jun 20, 2018

Excellent course

By ashish

Feb 18, 2019

good instructer

By xukai

Nov 19, 2018

还有很多课没有中文字幕

By 周泽全

Jan 11, 2018

有部分视频没有中文翻译

By Jiang

Nov 18, 2017

very well

By Farhodjon A

Sep 7, 2017

Great

By JOE M S

Aug 25, 2020

good

By Anuj P

Nov 18, 2019

good

By Rudiyard C J

Dec 3, 2018

NIce

By pranjul s

Oct 22, 2017

Nice

By PEYRARD T

Aug 30, 2016

The course is clear and goes at a sustained but correct pace. I really like the fact to show the weakness to understand what are the requirements of a secure PRF, PRP & co!

Optional programming assignments are really interesting unfortunately they take too much time to do and lack of guidance as it could be the case for the famous ML course. At least the first exercises should provide a development environment to get familiar with: hex, crypto libs, dictionary research, stats algorithms implementation ...

The first two weeks lack of in-video tests.