Chevron Left
Back to Cryptography I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cryptography I by Stanford University

4.8
stars
3,582 ratings
757 reviews

About the Course

Cryptography is an indispensable tool for protecting information in computer systems. In this course you will learn the inner workings of cryptographic systems and how to correctly use them in real-world applications. The course begins with a detailed discussion of how two parties who have a shared secret key can communicate securely when a powerful adversary eavesdrops and tampers with traffic. We will examine many deployed protocols and analyze mistakes in existing systems. The second half of the course discusses public-key techniques that let two parties generate a shared secret key. Throughout the course participants will be exposed to many exciting open problems in the field and work on fun (optional) programming projects. In a second course (Crypto II) we will cover more advanced cryptographic tasks such as zero-knowledge, privacy mechanisms, and other forms of encryption....

Top reviews

BH
Jan 13, 2020

Provides a comprehensive introduction to cryptographic history, current technology, best practices and known attacker techniques. A great deal of material is covered in a relatively compact program.

BC
Mar 10, 2017

Cutting edge cryptography topics. Good explanations and slides, but pause button is highly recommended. Can be a bit too mathematical for the general public, and not very formal for mathematicians.

Filter by:

726 - 742 of 742 Reviews for Cryptography I

By Jiang

Nov 18, 2017

very well

By junghyungwon

Jul 21, 2021

만족합니다.

By Farhodjon A

Sep 7, 2017

Great

By JOE M S

Aug 25, 2020

good

By Anuj P

Nov 18, 2019

good

By Rudiyard C J

Dec 3, 2018

NIce

By pranjul s

Oct 22, 2017

Nice

By PEYRARD T

Aug 30, 2016

The course is clear and goes at a sustained but correct pace. I really like the fact to show the weakness to understand what are the requirements of a secure PRF, PRP & co!

Optional programming assignments are really interesting unfortunately they take too much time to do and lack of guidance as it could be the case for the famous ML course. At least the first exercises should provide a development environment to get familiar with: hex, crypto libs, dictionary research, stats algorithms implementation ...

The first two weeks lack of in-video tests.

By Aleksandr L

Jan 3, 2021

To much of theoretical knowledge, it lacks practical assignments. Also most of the stuff promised in preface is not in this course, but included in Cryptography II, which is a different course.

Course provides some sort of overview of basic primitives, but without mandatory and relevant practical assignments this knowledge is unfortunately nearly worthless.

By Diego J H

Sep 16, 2017

The course was very good, but the pace was too fast, so eventually became the problem because it is

very difficult to follow. Anyway, it opened a new world to me and I'm willing to review many topics covered in this course

By Shahbaz H

Jul 24, 2018

Very nice course , sometimes along there was some difficulty occurs but the support staff n teacher helps me a lot.Some practical implementation also missing from course.

By 黃筑渝

Sep 30, 2019

a little bit hard for no computer basic people

By Vaibhav D

Dec 8, 2019

Unnecessary questions are asked

By Samuel L

Jul 31, 2020

There's some good information in here, but it's way too mathematical for people who don't have a maths background. I have studied computer science but never liked maths, and I find the assessments confusing. There's a lot of maths discussion in the videos too that's equally puzzling and the focus is on theory as opposed to real world applications of cryptography. You can know a lot about cryptography without having to fully understand the maths behind it. If you're interested in learning about cryptography for the purposes of programming, then I suggest using another course which isn't as theoretical. There are a lot of better free online resources for beginners and non-maths students.

By Агеенко Г М

Feb 20, 2021

Не выдали сертификат. Лекции полезные.

By Alex W

Apr 24, 2021

The course assumes a solid understanding of university mathematics. I see reviews saying he just makes up mathematical notation, but he isn't, the professor assumes an understanding of Discrete Mathematics. If you haven't taken a Group Theory or Rings and Fields class you will not understand this course. It's not written anywhere, and the professor never says it. You are better off reading a textbook.

By Luís C D A J

Sep 7, 2016

Mentiroso, na descrição mostra que tem legenda para português porém o curso não tem legenda pt-br