Chevron Left
Back to Cryptography I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cryptography I by Stanford University

4.8
2,737 ratings
545 reviews

About the Course

Cryptography is an indispensable tool for protecting information in computer systems. In this course you will learn the inner workings of cryptographic systems and how to correctly use them in real-world applications. The course begins with a detailed discussion of how two parties who have a shared secret key can communicate securely when a powerful adversary eavesdrops and tampers with traffic. We will examine many deployed protocols and analyze mistakes in existing systems. The second half of the course discusses public-key techniques that let two parties generate a shared secret key. Throughout the course participants will be exposed to many exciting open problems in the field and work on fun (optional) programming projects. In a second course (Crypto II) we will cover more advanced cryptographic tasks such as zero-knowledge, privacy mechanisms, and other forms of encryption....

Top reviews

LG

Dec 16, 2017

This course gives is perfect to start learning cryptography, explanations are detailed, topics carefully selected combining theory with real world examples and making emphasis in important details.

BC

Mar 11, 2017

Cutting edge cryptography topics. Good explanations and slides, but pause button is highly recommended. Can be a bit too mathematical for the general public, and not very formal for mathematicians.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 529 Reviews for Cryptography I

By Satish K

Sep 24, 2017

Very Good

By Hussain A

Apr 15, 2016

technically sound course

By Vishwas P

Jul 12, 2017

Exceptional course on getting basics of cryptography. Not only teaches the theory, also gives practical advice on what is the right choice as of today. Looking forwarding to Cryptography II class stating September. I only wish, I had more time to finishing programming exercises.

By 洪恒藝

Mar 23, 2016

Very very interesting topic. I like this course so much. It is the key to the information security. Thank you.

By Susana Z

Jun 29, 2016

cannot s it actually.

By Benjamin H

Sep 03, 2017

Wonderful professor, interesting material!

By matt h

Feb 17, 2018

Very informative and well designed. Programming assignments are especially interesting. It requires quite a hard work, though

By Boyan

Jul 24, 2017

Pretty informative course! Material was well presented and seemed up-to-date. Looking forward to Crypto 2!

By Nikita K

Feb 25, 2017

The way material is presented and the cource pace is perfect. After lessons the topics are clear and there will be much more understanding why all those crypto libraries are built like they're built, and how to use them even in case the API is not elegant and is error prone. Can't wait until part II!

By Camilo H V G

Sep 21, 2016

Dan Boneh is an excellent techer, he has the ability to simplify complex topic. So greatful to be able to take clasess with him.

By Thomas G

Nov 19, 2016

brilliant

By Matthew W

Nov 15, 2017

Can't wait to see part 2 (and more advance ones).

By Srinidhi

Jun 04, 2017

Amazing! cant wait to do the second part

By John L

Dec 09, 2016

Excellent course. I've worked with cryptographic methods and practice for many years, but this course provided me with a stronger understanding of the underlying theory than I'd had before.

By Radhika P S

Jan 04, 2018

The explanation was very clear provided with adequate examples and timely discussion on forum.

By Michal J

Apr 30, 2016

Nice

By Brunno V

Feb 27, 2018

Course is really good and really in depth.

But PLEASE ADD ELLIPTIC CURVES AS THEY ARE GETTING MORE AND MORE RELEVANT EACH DAY.

By carlos g

Jan 10, 2018

great course i learn a lot and let me know that i need to learn a lot more, thanks Dan and all the folks that answer on the forums

By AMAL V

Oct 02, 2016

I took the course in 2014, whether you are a beginner in cryptography or a regular practitioner, the course won't disappoint you. Another master class from Stanford. The problem sets and programming assignments are of reasonable difficulty. So if you are planning to take a course on cryptography, this is just the one- comprehensive and up to the expectations.

By 汪阳

May 17, 2016

希望有中文字幕

By yuji w

Feb 22, 2017

it is a great course, covers a lots of different area with details and concepts. i like it very much.

By Maxime J

Oct 19, 2016

Great course! very interesting

By Michael F

Oct 11, 2017

Excellent Course. Outstanding lecturer.

By 黃暐倫

Oct 29, 2017

Thanks to this nice course, I now have some basic ideas about my Special Project. I am now anticipating Cryptography II.

By Maxim K

Apr 30, 2016

Excellent and very practical course. Thank you, Dan Boneh.