Chevron Left
Back to Cryptography I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cryptography I by Stanford University

4.8
2,727 ratings
541 reviews

About the Course

Cryptography is an indispensable tool for protecting information in computer systems. In this course you will learn the inner workings of cryptographic systems and how to correctly use them in real-world applications. The course begins with a detailed discussion of how two parties who have a shared secret key can communicate securely when a powerful adversary eavesdrops and tampers with traffic. We will examine many deployed protocols and analyze mistakes in existing systems. The second half of the course discusses public-key techniques that let two parties generate a shared secret key. Throughout the course participants will be exposed to many exciting open problems in the field and work on fun (optional) programming projects. In a second course (Crypto II) we will cover more advanced cryptographic tasks such as zero-knowledge, privacy mechanisms, and other forms of encryption....

Top reviews

LG

Dec 16, 2017

This course gives is perfect to start learning cryptography, explanations are detailed, topics carefully selected combining theory with real world examples and making emphasis in important details.

BC

Mar 11, 2017

Cutting edge cryptography topics. Good explanations and slides, but pause button is highly recommended. Can be a bit too mathematical for the general public, and not very formal for mathematicians.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 527 Reviews for Cryptography I

By Christopher H

Nov 22, 2016

Time consuming and hard work but very rewarding. Took me several attempts to finish (other life commitments kept getting in the way).

Will be doing it at least once more to try and finish all the programming exercises too :)

By Sudhir C

May 05, 2016

This is one the best course to learn Cryptography. This course is speacilly design for basic level to higher level.

By Yuval G

Nov 09, 2016

The course is very interesting and very challenging,

As an firmware engineer who never had the chance to learn Crypto. the course gave me a grate introduction to this field.

It is very fascinating to understand the different Crypto. methods and their vulnerabilities, and it made me more aware and gave me the ability to evaluate strength of Crypto. systems that I encounter.

Before every topic there were a detailed overview on the Math theory required to learn it, the explanations followed by real life examples and it feels like the team put a lot of effort to make the lectures comfortable and easy to follow.

The Homework are challenging and very help-hull to understand the learned topics.

By Chris Z

Jul 15, 2017

Very informative Course!

By kalyana c c

Jun 26, 2017

Excellent indepth teaching style with examples, really enjoyed it!!!

By Alexandru J

Jun 07, 2016

Great course.

Very intensive - not a single page without teaching you something new.

By Gregory V

Nov 13, 2017

Outstanding coverage, very fast paced.

I enrolled in this course to gain an understanding of cryptography beyond material designed for the consumption of the non-technical audience. The lectures by Prof. Boheh were very clear and well organized, with emphasis on fundamental definitions. The section on basic number theory was most helpful. While taking the course, I was also learning the Python programming language, so I attempted most of the optional programming assignments in Python. This reinforced the material a great deal. I will recomment this course highly and will definitely enroll in Cryptography II when it becomes available.

Thank you for a great learning experience.

By Igor D d S

Sep 25, 2017

Conteúdo excelente e aulas muito boas.

By Sunil K P

Dec 07, 2017

Excellent course

By Amber K

Oct 23, 2017

very detailed

By Ramaswamy I

Sep 21, 2016

This is a fantastic course. It has greatly kindled my interest in cryptography, and I look forward to learning more on the subject from Prof Dan Boneh.

By Juraj B

May 24, 2017

Interesting content, very well presented. Exams are really great - they require thinking and they also explain new information.

By Đỗ T

May 28, 2017

great course about crypto

By Partha M

Nov 19, 2016

Really helps to understand the underlying concepts of SSl and hence helps understand the working of SSL.

By Vishal J

Aug 27, 2017

Brilliant course! Good start towards Cryptography.

By Kamal S

Aug 03, 2018

I am Leaning So Many Things About Cryptography,Thanks Coursera Given This opportunists.

By DIVYANSH S

Jul 18, 2018

thanks

By Pratyush V

Jul 20, 2018

Very Nice COURSE . One who want to learn cryptography must join this course.

By Ravi K

Jul 21, 2018

Probably the best Cryptography course available online.

By Kholoud

Sep 02, 2018

I totally recommend to take this course..

By Benedek R

Sep 03, 2018

It was hard, but it worth.

By chris m

Aug 24, 2018

Incredibly difficult, but learning from the best.

By Fernando R

Aug 25, 2018

Amazing Course!! Thank you Professor Dan Boneh!

By luigi v

Aug 26, 2018

One of the best crypto course I have seen!!

By Ather

Sep 07, 2018

Excellent Course and all Cryptographic Concepts are teaching in a very easy way.