Chevron Left
Back to Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies by Princeton University

4.6
stars
2,705 ratings
636 reviews

About the Course

To really understand what is special about Bitcoin, we need to understand how it works at a technical level. We’ll address the important questions about Bitcoin, such as: How does Bitcoin work? What makes Bitcoin different? How secure are your Bitcoins? How anonymous are Bitcoin users? What determines the price of Bitcoins? Can cryptocurrencies be regulated? What might the future hold? After this course, you’ll know everything you need to be able to separate fact from fiction when reading claims about Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. You’ll have the conceptual foundations you need to engineer secure software that interacts with the Bitcoin network. And you’ll be able to integrate ideas from Bitcoin in your own projects. Course Lecturers: Arvind Narayanan, Princeton University All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top reviews

AG
Dec 22, 2017

I've gained a strong knowledge of Bitcoin's architecture but wish this course was updated to include the developments of the last two years. A few lectures on alt-coins would have been useful as well.

MB
Mar 10, 2018

Great course, a very broad and in-depth overview of concepts surrounding cryptocurrencies and Bitcoin in particular. Would be great to have an update of course; perhaps once the ICO craze is over? (-:

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 621 Reviews for Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies

By Evangelos P

May 15, 2021

This course brings me a lot of information and completely demystifies the subject. In addition, the proposed exercises are excellent and illustrate key concepts of Blockchain. Thanks to the Team for all their efforts!

By Alexandr S

Sep 15, 2017

Great course!

Lectures start from very basics of bitcoins and cryptocurrencies and step by step move to very deep information.

It is one of the most usefull and interesting course at Coursera.

Thanks a lot for teachers!

By Humberto M

May 22, 2017

This course is somehow old 2014, but completely shows the how the bitcoin works, and in fact how crypto currencies work in general. They have an awesome chapter about anonymity. Extra material weeks are really good.

By Afroz M

Jul 31, 2017

An excellent introduction to BitCoin and BlockChain but this is very dated now, the field has been moving really fast since it is quite nascent and I feel this course should have been updated atleast once by now.

By Justin L

Sep 4, 2017

With how rapidly cryptocurrency technology changes, I think the course should be updated (or at least addendum lectures added where appropriate). But this was quite comprehensive and fantastic for a free course!

By PicoPlanet D

Mar 24, 2020

I mine ETH for a very small profit, but this course opened my eyes to many of the awesome inner workings of cryptocurrencies. The professors are very well spoken and the content is intuitively structured!

By ZHENG Z

Apr 11, 2018

Excellent course! It not only covers the technical part of bitcoin and cryptocurrency, but also contains a lot of very inspiring discussions about its relation to the real world. I learnt so much from it!

By Vladimir Š

Feb 18, 2018

Altocin chapters are outdated but covered fundamentals still hold true and once you understand Bitcoin well you stand on solid ground and ready to venture out on your own. I highly recommend the course!

By Anson L

Sep 7, 2020

Meaningful course which gives you the brief idea of what Blockchain is. Although when it's 2020 there are more new initiatives in the blockchain and crypto market. Still a good start for amateurs.

By mohsin k

Nov 30, 2017

A wonderful course with great amount of knowledge. The assignments can be improved a little as the first assignment is some what difficult and can be broken into two assignments some week apart

By Belen S

Mar 23, 2018

Very good view of blockchain´s system. I´m an economist, so I hadn´t any studies about some technical concepts but this course has been very useful to understand how Bitcoin protocol works.

By Gundas V

Jun 17, 2017

Very good course - I finally fully understand how bitcoins work!

It would be nice to see this course updated with the recent developments in cryptocurrencies (smart contracts, Ethereum etc.)

By Zhu L

Mar 25, 2018

Great course, with materials concerning both technical and sociological aspects of blockchain and cryptocurrency.

I think there can be more exercises and programming assgnments for learners.

By Sanzaya P

May 10, 2020

Very lucid introduction to the Crypto Currencies and Bit coin. Thanks for the extensive elaborations else sometime I might have fallen into trap of trying to mine Bitcoin with my laptop.

By Leonel B

Jul 20, 2021

Curso de excelente nivel, muy completo donde se puede aprender desde el origen de las criptomonedas hasta lo mas actual sobre politicas de uso, intercambio y aceptacion a nivel mundial.

By David D

Jan 24, 2018

I would like to thank all people who contribute to this course. The course answers "all questions" of newcomers. I like its format, it gives both perspective and detail view of domains.

By J M K

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for the informative course. Would be looking forward for more in this field. Also could you please suggest/elaborate on how this technology will help in derivative space.

By STEVEN V D

Apr 27, 2018

Absolutely essential for everyone who wants to know everything about Bitcoin and blockchain. Big shout out to the instructors and dept of the course. Would absolutely recommend!

By Julio a r

Jan 24, 2018

Muito interessante, poderia explicar melhor como funciona a implementação ao menos nos primeiros codigos. Levei um bom tempo para intender, mas ainda não consegui implementar.

By Edoardo V

Nov 27, 2017

One of the best courses I have had! Great for understanding the technical aspects, as well as the economics and social implications of blockchain technologies. Thanks a lot!

By Ognyan K

Mar 18, 2018

Great introduction to cryptocurrency technologies. Complete overview of the what the individual components are and how they work together. Good pace and engaging presenters.

By Darren K

Dec 21, 2017

Difficult coding, but the content is well put together and very informative when increasing the depth of understanding of cryptocurrencies in general. Thanks so much!

By JOHN T

Jul 16, 2019

Good course to learn cryptocurrency basics and know about Bitcoin and blockchain basics..

The programming assignments were challenging and helped with coding skills.

By Balaji S

Mar 8, 2018

The best course anyone can get on cryptocurrencies. Just follow the videos, don't have to read any book. The course design is perfect, right content in right size.

By Nur H

Jan 14, 2017

This course is very interesting, I learned a lot of thing about bitcoin ecosystem and technology behind them. The programming assignment is challenging. Thank you.