Chevron Left
Back to Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies by Princeton University

4.7
stars
2,374 ratings
557 reviews

About the Course

To really understand what is special about Bitcoin, we need to understand how it works at a technical level. We’ll address the important questions about Bitcoin, such as: How does Bitcoin work? What makes Bitcoin different? How secure are your Bitcoins? How anonymous are Bitcoin users? What determines the price of Bitcoins? Can cryptocurrencies be regulated? What might the future hold? After this course, you’ll know everything you need to be able to separate fact from fiction when reading claims about Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. You’ll have the conceptual foundations you need to engineer secure software that interacts with the Bitcoin network. And you’ll be able to integrate ideas from Bitcoin in your own projects. Course Lecturers: Arvind Narayanan, Princeton University All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top reviews

MB

Mar 11, 2018

Great course, a very broad and in-depth overview of concepts surrounding cryptocurrencies and Bitcoin in particular. Would be great to have an update of course; perhaps once the ICO craze is over? (-:

AG

Dec 23, 2017

I've gained a strong knowledge of Bitcoin's architecture but wish this course was updated to include the developments of the last two years. A few lectures on alt-coins would have been useful as well.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 540 Reviews for Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies

By Himanshu

Jan 01, 2018

Course on Latest topic - cryptocurrency. Very nice lectures, and very well organized. I had only heard the term bitcoin but got to know the math, protocols, and technology behind it from this course.

Thanks you for putting this course.

Thanks to Prof. Felton, Prof Arvind Narayanan. Great videos.

By Joshua S

Mar 22, 2018

A LOT of information. It put a lot of the technology into perspective. Definitely worth the time if you're trying to pick up some knowledge.

If I had one criticism, it is that some of the stuff included is already dated. Which is bound to happen with tech that moves so fast.

By W Q

Jan 28, 2018

This is a great course loaded with solid knowledge. It addressed many of my questions and concerns about cryptocurrency. Also gave me some hands-on experience via homework. I deeply appreciate that this is offered on Coursera. I wish I had known of this class earlier.

By Riccardo D C

Jan 05, 2018

Excellent course: well organized, lectures well presented, additional material very appropriate. Personally, I did not bother taking the time to do any of the assignments. Even without the glory of the grade, it was one of the most interesting courses taken online.

By Catalina G

Nov 19, 2018

Absolutely amazing. I think any academic who wants to start writing about blockchain and comes from a discipline different than computer science or mathematics should watch this as a prerequisite. Thank you for putting this wonderful and free resource together!

By Dinesh B

Oct 15, 2017

Exceptionally detailed introduction to Bitcoin. The exercises were thought provoking and helped understand the bitcoin mechanics and the problems the Bitcoin creators needed to solve. The exercises are however tough without easy access to a testing harness.

By Sakthivel G

Apr 27, 2020

i really understand what is bit coin and mining.

how does work from hardware using hash technology. clearly undersatnding methodalogy. really use this method on real life. ex: purchase, sale market, investment etc. great teaching methods thanks guys

By Raman B

Dec 22, 2017

Absolutely fantastic course with a lot of useful information and interesting details related to the topic. Programming assignments are quite good as well. Definitely worth studying if you are interested in cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology.

By Adagbabiri M

Dec 18, 2016

First and foremost, i want to say a big thank you to 'coursera' , and the speaker in charge of the class, 'Professor Edward W. Felten'

It is nice lecture, still taking the classes. and i love his 'audibility', it is superb.

am so enjoying the class.

By Andrei P

May 11, 2018

Thank you for the pretty detailed introduction into bitcoin's workings and its potential pitfalls and advantages, as well as open questions for blockchain technology and decentralization. Super grateful for all your efforts guys, thanks again.

By Marcio T

Jan 13, 2018

Excelente curso para quem quer entender um pouco mais sobre o mercado de Crypto moedas e seus relacionamentos com os mercados, a forma mais correta de uso e as grandes preocupações do mercado, como tratá-las e como se precaver das incertezas.

By Rafael d R R

Feb 05, 2019

The videos are very clear and easy to understand. The quality of the material is very good. Personally, I like in-depth materials and I believe this course has the right level for what I´ve looking for regarding bitcoin knowledge. Congrats!

By Jkm

Feb 03, 2018

Excellent content. My only gripe is that the programming assignments seem to require intermediate level understanding of OOP and Java, but not being able to complete those assignments doesn't really take away from the benefit of the course.

By James M

Nov 29, 2017

Very detailed inspection of the Blockchain, cryptocurrencies, security, common problems, algorithms and much more like power utilization. Please be aware you need to be fairly familiar with Java if you wish to be successful in this class.

By Dennis D

Dec 12, 2017

Amazing course! Before taking this course, I have already read some articles about Bitcoins details and I think I have already known much about Bitcoins, but during the lectures I realized that I misunderstood many things about Bitcoins!

By Enrique A

Feb 21, 2017

Good introduction to understand the fundamentals of Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies.

The assignments in JAVA are quite challenging. They are cleverly chosen so that you can understand the problems under the design of a cryptocurrency.

By Arnab S

Jul 11, 2017

High Level JAVA mapping exercises really energized my brain to understand concepts of bitcoins and blockChains. Perfect course to summarize cryptocurrency and also guides you perfectly in using blockchain code in other domains too.

By Peter K

Nov 05, 2017

The best bitcoin course I have found on the internet to date.

Great way to understand the thoughts behind bitcoin technologies.

The authors have found a perfect balance to cover wide range of subjects and getting deep into details.

By Jiangchun L

Mar 15, 2017

The course is quite great! At least I wouldn't be silly when talking about the Bitcoin stuff. However, students like me who don't have any previous knowledge about crypto technologies should first read through the text book.....

By Alexander N

Nov 11, 2017

This is a very good overview course for Bitcoin and underlying blockchain and crypto technology - along with homework that is difficult enough to force one to think a bit and review your java skills. Appreciated and enjoyed.

By Alexandr S

Sep 15, 2017

Great course!

Lectures start from very basics of bitcoins and cryptocurrencies and step by step move to very deep information.

It is one of the most usefull and interesting course at Coursera.

Thanks a lot for teachers!

By Humberto M

May 23, 2017

This course is somehow old 2014, but completely shows the how the bitcoin works, and in fact how crypto currencies work in general. They have an awesome chapter about anonymity. Extra material weeks are really good.

By Afroz M

Jul 31, 2017

An excellent introduction to BitCoin and BlockChain but this is very dated now, the field has been moving really fast since it is quite nascent and I feel this course should have been updated atleast once by now.

By Justin L

Sep 04, 2017

With how rapidly cryptocurrency technology changes, I think the course should be updated (or at least addendum lectures added where appropriate). But this was quite comprehensive and fantastic for a free course!

By PicoPlanet D

Mar 24, 2020

I mine ETH for a very small profit, but this course opened my eyes to many of the awesome inner workings of cryptocurrencies. The professors are very well spoken and the content is intuitively structured!