Chevron Left
Back to Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies by Princeton University

4.7
2,032 ratings
482 reviews

About the Course

To really understand what is special about Bitcoin, we need to understand how it works at a technical level. We’ll address the important questions about Bitcoin, such as: How does Bitcoin work? What makes Bitcoin different? How secure are your Bitcoins? How anonymous are Bitcoin users? What determines the price of Bitcoins? Can cryptocurrencies be regulated? What might the future hold? After this course, you’ll know everything you need to be able to separate fact from fiction when reading claims about Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. You’ll have the conceptual foundations you need to engineer secure software that interacts with the Bitcoin network. And you’ll be able to integrate ideas from Bitcoin in your own projects. Course Lecturers: Arvind Narayanan, Princeton University All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top reviews

MB

Mar 11, 2018

Great course, a very broad and in-depth overview of concepts surrounding cryptocurrencies and Bitcoin in particular. Would be great to have an update of course; perhaps once the ICO craze is over? (-:

AG

Dec 23, 2017

I've gained a strong knowledge of Bitcoin's architecture but wish this course was updated to include the developments of the last two years. A few lectures on alt-coins would have been useful as well.

Filter by:

451 - 466 of 466 Reviews for Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies

By Dhruva S

Apr 15, 2018

Assignments were vague and too much time had to be spent on unnecessary things like browsing forums.

By Alan N

Jul 08, 2019

Great course , very informative and a good general introduction to bitcoin, and blockchain technology Thanks for lecturers highly recommended.

By Antranik Z

Sep 04, 2019

The theoretical content of the course is interesting and it gives an excellent overview of the cryptocurrency technologies through the example of bitcoin. The course also extend to alt coins and the discuss the possible challenge blockchains can help addressing beyond the purely cryptocurrency field which is interesting.

The programming assignment could however be improved. First they required a strong knowledge of java which can exclude some students. But the real issue is the lack of satisfactory explanations and guidance that sometimes make it impossible to fully resolve the practical, or even what is expected from the student.

Sometimes you can get the best mark while your code is either incorrect or not adressing the logic fully. Sometimes you run into technical limitations on the platform (memory limitation) which despite a good algorithm doesn't allow you to submit your answer. It then forces you to spend time on improving the quality of your code to save the memory used by your program (thus requiring strong java knowledge) which is time consuming and not the purpose of this course.

Overall I would advise to do the course. I would however strongly encourage Coursera/Princeton to review the assignments so that they can best help students in the understanding of the complex notions discussed in this course.

By Roman

Oct 20, 2018

The course covered a lot of things, but the programming assessments are very poor. In first the assessments the bonus task is basically not about blockchain, but rather about graphs. I would recommend adding to course more small coding assignments to get familiar with blockchain and bitcoin platform in a more practical way.

By Jonathan G

May 16, 2018

This was a tedious and boring course! the assignments were impossible to decipher and I fail to see the end result of the point of the coins. Wouldn't it make more sense to have some form of physical currency or bartering instead?

By David N

Jan 27, 2017

Lectures were extremely good, but assignments and graders were very low quality and difficult to decipher requirements from. Professors and TAs were not active in the forums.

By chatal

Jul 19, 2017

Data from 2014 isn't useful in today's environment. Although fundamentals are clearly valid tpday, an update to course is mandatory

By Leopold W

Dec 15, 2017

ntm

By Apoorv A

Jan 16, 2018

Not efficient use of slides and real time explanation using hand

By Syrita N

Feb 23, 2018

This course was a little too advanced for me and not quite what I had in mind.

By Fedor S

Mar 31, 2017

I think that it would be a good idea to improve the grader, release more informative assignment information (take a look at the Algorithms course for example) and lecture materials in pdf format.

By Jeff

Jul 04, 2017

Not a big fan of this course. I wanted to learn about the different types of currencies and their usage, but these guys go way too deep into the code structure, even making the 1st assignment code based. Just because I am interested in cars, doesn't mean I necessarily have to know how to build one. I merely need to know some base facts, it's safety, handling, fuel economy, size etc. Their approach is way more mundane and impractical for daily needs of working with Cryptocurrencies, going way too deep into early theory and applications.

By Deepak P G

Aug 17, 2017

Too fast not spending enough time on the concepts

By Deleted A

Oct 02, 2017

Very outdated. Since 2014 the content about fees, mining, forks, etc change a lot

By Gabriel D A

Mar 04, 2018

Difficult to understand. Teachers were too stiff and not very warm to explain. Concepts were too technical and sometimes was difficult to understand the general ideas. Assignments were not very good explained and it was difficult to understand and the errors were not very helpful.

By Taylor

Dec 29, 2017

I saw initially in the comment section about the course that it talked about Java a bit, but I was under the impression that we would only be discussing it, not throwing some code together for our first assignment. I know the basics for Python, HTML, and CSS, but I really don't have time to learn Java just to pass this class. I was hoping the class would be more about the basics of cryptocurrency so I could have a better understanding for it. I'm extremely disappointed.