Chevron Left
Back to Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies by Princeton University

4.7
2,035 ratings
482 reviews

About the Course

To really understand what is special about Bitcoin, we need to understand how it works at a technical level. We’ll address the important questions about Bitcoin, such as: How does Bitcoin work? What makes Bitcoin different? How secure are your Bitcoins? How anonymous are Bitcoin users? What determines the price of Bitcoins? Can cryptocurrencies be regulated? What might the future hold? After this course, you’ll know everything you need to be able to separate fact from fiction when reading claims about Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies. You’ll have the conceptual foundations you need to engineer secure software that interacts with the Bitcoin network. And you’ll be able to integrate ideas from Bitcoin in your own projects. Course Lecturers: Arvind Narayanan, Princeton University All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

Top reviews

AG

Dec 23, 2017

I've gained a strong knowledge of Bitcoin's architecture but wish this course was updated to include the developments of the last two years. A few lectures on alt-coins would have been useful as well.

MB

Mar 11, 2018

Great course, a very broad and in-depth overview of concepts surrounding cryptocurrencies and Bitcoin in particular. Would be great to have an update of course; perhaps once the ICO craze is over? (-:

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 466 Reviews for Bitcoin and Cryptocurrency Technologies

By Kiran K A

Oct 23, 2017

Very good content. I learnt a lot and a lot of concepts became very clear. The programming exercises really enhanced my understanding of the concepts. Suggestions for improvements : The pop quizzes that pop up at the end of each video can be more, and also can pop up at random places in a video. Programming assignment grading and suggestions where failures occurred can be better. A bit more explanation on what exactly needs to be solved via programming assignments while not giving away the solutions/answers will help students learn the content/concepts faster.

By Giovanni A

Apr 05, 2017

This course gave me a good understanding of Bitcoin and fundamental mechanisms of main alternative cryptocurrencies. A good balance between theory and programming assignments helps to to deepen the understanding of matter. I found particularly interesting the explanation of how Bitcoin achieves decentralization. I was also surprised to find how many different applications could benefit from a decentralized infrastructure similar to the Bitcoin network.

By Daniel Z

Dec 02, 2017

From technology to economics and politics, every related perspective are covered in this amazing course.

However, I see a big gap between "finish the course with 100% points" and "being able to read Bitcoin Core source code". I hope another hardcore course could cover this gap.

Thanks for all the instructors, forum mentors and whoever contributed to this course.

By Sergi C

Mar 05, 2017

This course is a glorified Nakamoto whitepaper. It explains every nuance of it and goes beyond that. Even for scientists looking to do research on cryptocurrencies this course is a valuable reference to get some hints on where it might be worth investigating. All of these without feeling too scientific or informal.

Assignments are a little inconvenient at first, but they provide a good insight on some details which need practice to understand.

Overall, definitely highly recommended.

By Morvay G

Aug 28, 2017

Excellent course! Really liked that it was not very micro detail oriented. The emphasis was more about the concept and potentials and it gave a good motivation to look up some details on the Web. From here it is quite easy to submerge into the implementation if somebody is interested. I highly recommend this course.

By Oludare J O

Jan 20, 2018

A very concise and detailed insight into cryptocurrecies, block chain and the applications thereof using Bitcoin as a platform to explain. I learnt an awful lot.

By Michael K

Mar 12, 2018

Nice thorough intro.

By J M K

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for the informative course. Would be looking forward for more in this field. Also could you please suggest/elaborate on how this technology will help in derivative space.

By chang j y

Aug 31, 2017

Excellent intro course into blockchain technology and potential applications could be built on top of it. Also, if you're technical there are programming assignments which reinforce your learning.

By Marcelo F

Aug 09, 2017

Very good and contextualized, I recommend.

By Justin L

Sep 04, 2017

With how rapidly cryptocurrency technology changes, I think the course should be updated (or at least addendum lectures added where appropriate). But this was quite comprehensive and fantastic for a free course!

By rajnandanrai

Nov 07, 2017

great program

By Huynh D T

Jan 04, 2017

thank you very much

By Dhruva M

Apr 03, 2017

Great

By Martin B A

May 23, 2018

Great content and teachers.

By Alek Z

Feb 28, 2018

Great breadth of coverage with interesting assignments.

By anshul d

Aug 05, 2017

extremely helpful. though i am eager to learn more about smart contracts and Ether as a currency. Please include that in course. Thanks

By sai c p

Dec 16, 2017

Informative course for beginners . All the course content is well organised and well presented.

By Arnab S

Jul 11, 2017

High Level JAVA mapping exercises really energized my brain to understand concepts of bitcoins and blockChains. Perfect course to summarize cryptocurrency and also guides you perfectly in using blockchain code in other domains too.

By Prabhat K

Jul 11, 2017

Good Solid Introductory Info

By Pei O

Jan 20, 2018

I tried to learn the concept of bitcoin and browsed several other videos and articles in the Internet. Yet none of them gave me a clear idea of the bitcoin technology and infrastructure. This course give me good understanding of the bitcoin ecosystem. I highly recommend this course.

Something which could be improved are the videos. The videos show the lecturers sometimes and the slides other times. The segments showing the lecturers can be significantly reduced and showing the slides videos only. It is much easier for the students to comprehend the contents in that way. The lecturers videos can be embed as a small block in the slides videos if desired.

By Sandro G

Mar 20, 2017

Very well organized course about this fascinating technology!

By Pramod S

Feb 13, 2018

It is good course with clear technical concepts

By Greg D

Jul 03, 2017

Good all round content and programming assignments ensured we had to understand details

By Andersson C

Dec 01, 2017

Pretty consistent and clear