Chevron Left
Back to Object-Oriented Data Structures in C++

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Object-Oriented Data Structures in C++ by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
1,973 ratings
507 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches learners how to write a program in the C++ language, including how to set up a development environment for writing and debugging C++ code and how to implement data structures as C++ classes. It is the first course in the Accelerated CS Fundamentals specialization, and subsequent courses in this specialization will be using C++ as the language for implementing the data structures covered in class....

Top reviews

EQ
Jan 12, 2020

Honestly, this is a great crash course in OOP for C++ (though the ideas can be applied to any language). Previous experience with C++ is almost a necessity, the lessons can be complicated for novices.

AR
Jan 31, 2021

Great course, simple and difficult all at the same time. Great introduction to these topics. Every thing that is included is there for a reason as every thing is straight to the point with no filler.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 505 Reviews for Object-Oriented Data Structures in C++

By Zhen Z

Dec 17, 2019

The instructor has put lots of efforts in the assignemnts to make things easier to operate. I really appciate it as a beginner in C++ (my previous experience with programming was limited to Python). The course is marked as intermediate but it would really help if you've already had some experience with basic C++ syntax. I spent some time in week one to go through as much C++ basics as possible to make the following materials more sensible to myself.

By Yashodhan A P

Oct 13, 2019

I really like the course material emphasizing very minute details of C++ programming concepts. I enjoyed the quizzes and problem challenges which reinforce the understanding of a topic.

One improvement if I may suggest for future is, sometime I found instructor's talking pace too rapid which may take couple of iterations through video lectures for someone to grasp a new concept.

By Brian U M

May 6, 2020

Course is focused on a fast-paced learning and it is expected to have at least some previous experience with strong-typed programming languages. I think it's great for anyone who wants to start with C++ faster than reading books or taking other kind of courses.

If you are total beginner this program is NOT for you and can lead to frustration.

By Jonathan B S

Apr 26, 2020

Great course with a great lecture from the professor. I thought this course gonna be difficult with a hard vocabulary, turns out this course provides with a simple explanation and easy vocabulary. So it makes student like me which English is not my native language, is easier to understand the lecture. Thanks, Professor.

By Mark C

Feb 24, 2020

This course and the 2 that follow in the specialization are exactly what I needed to fill in gaps in my understanding and knowledge between a BSEE and a MSCS. The instructor goes quickly through the material, though not excessively so. Plus, there are enough pointers (pun intended) to get further help if needed.

By Xinlun Z

Jan 13, 2020

Obviously, this is not a friendly course for a novice of C++. And setting up the programming environment, like VScode and Ubuntu, also take a tons of time. But, if you succeed in completing this fist course in the sequence, you will be definitely allowed to say that at least you know a little bit about C++.

By Pearl D

May 9, 2020

Programming assignments for all the weeks were pretty easy and were totally derived from the lessons done.

The final project was little hard and I had to spend more time trying to solve it than the time I spent on all the other assignments together. But in the end it was truly rewarding experience!.

By Sebastian A

Jun 19, 2020

The teacher of this course is outstanding. He explains every topic carefully and it is motivated enough to motivate its students. It is a worth course if already know how to program in other language, and even if you know C, you can do this course and learn things aswell. Totally recommended.

By Ji S L

Jun 29, 2020

One of the best courses on Coursera. Well designed and hits all the right topics for those looking to get into fundamental topics in Computer Science. Engaging instructor who makes difficult concepts easy to understand. Easy set up with AWS Console + starter code (complete with Makefiles).

By Lim Z E

Nov 20, 2020

Good introduction to some C++ OOP data structures, the course is structured well. I enjoyed the challenge in the course's assignment, however I do not recommend someone without any programming experience take this course, you will need some programming basics before going for this one.

By Idris R

Jul 8, 2020

Great course. If you're brand new to programming, expect to use outside resources. That's just how programming is, if you don't like that aspect, you're not going to like programming. Overall the content is well written, and automatic scoring of assignments works well.

By Chih-Ta W

Oct 23, 2020

Awesome! Quick review of essential C++ techniques and clear presentation of all the lectures make this course very helpful for people who have exposed to some basics of C++, but it might not be suitable for C++ beginners.

By Marat P

Jul 12, 2020

Very good course for refreshing the concepts. I think that it could be difficult for people who are new to programming. The assignments are reasonably challenging for the level of the course. Definitely worth doing.

By Oscar G

Nov 20, 2019

Very well constructed course, gives a very concise and clear run-through of a lot of fundamental concepts in computer science and how those concepts are expressed in the C++ language.

By Marcin P

Oct 22, 2019

Very good course for getting around objects and classes in C++. If you are only new to the topic, this is a must. If you had any previous experience, I should give it a try as well.

By Tang K D N

Sep 16, 2019

This is a very intuitive course and great to review all C/C++ knowledge. Thank Professor.

By Kris F

Jul 4, 2020

I was mainly taking this course to practice concepts specific to C++ (e.g. memory management, pointers, etc) as I am trying to pick up C++ while coming from Java\Python\MATLAB background, so I already had a good grasp of OOP, data structures, etc. I found walking through code examples explaining expected outputs the most useful part of the course (especially in Week 2 for me). But I think the lectures themselves were not explaining the more abstract material very well. I am glad there were pop-up clarifications throughout lectures when the professor would misspeak (like destructor\constructor confusion in Week 3), but I still think I would find the lectures very confusing if I wasn't already familiar with most concepts. So I wouldn't recommend this course as a first introduction to OOP, data structures, or C++, but it can work well for reinforcing\refreshing material you already know.

By Prateekraj S

Aug 4, 2020

No information regarding polymorphism, and several jargons related to OOP skipped which could've easily been mentioned. The exercises are very basic. If the scope doesn't permit to cover everything essential, at least references or just the name even for the topics could've been provided. If they are mentioned in the other courses of the specialisation then enrolling in just one course shouldn't be encouraged or even allowed.

By Weilian X

Aug 31, 2019

2 best things of the class. #1 the TA Eric Huber was really nice, patient, and helpful; #2 it teaches you to use AWS Cloud9 as the IDE for the project assignments. However, I still can't help to complain that C++ is pretty hard to pick up. I guess the professor wanted to show how computer and memory work, so he chose C++, but I really think the course should be updated to other more modern languages like Python or Java.

By Michael R

Dec 18, 2019

Good introduction to c++, but I thought the assignments were way to simple and straightforward and hardly tested me knowledge of the concepts covered in the lectures. I hope the second 2 courses have more challenging assignments.

By RAJAT D

Aug 8, 2020

As I already started reading C++ form other sources this course gives me additional knowledge about namespace use and its significance and memory management in C++

By S. S S

Dec 11, 2019

I think the order of the contents of the course makes you really confused. but the excercises was good and help you to better understand.

By Akshay K C

Jul 16, 2020

Assignments are too easy as compared to course content. Hence,sufficient practice of content taught in the course is difficult

By FATHI M E H

Nov 28, 2019

The course provide a good introduction in object oriented programming and data structure foundation

By Rajkumar T

Jul 25, 2020

Final project was tough.But they said only basic and asked to do project