Chevron Left
Back to Unordered Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Unordered Data Structures by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
427 ratings
89 reviews

About the Course

The Unordered Data Structures course covers the data structures and algorithms needed to implement hash tables, disjoint sets and graphs. These fundamental data structures are useful for unordered data. For example, a hash table provides immediate access to data indexed by an arbitrary key value, that could be a number (such as a memory address for cached memory), a URL (such as for a web cache) or a dictionary. Graphs are used to represent relationships between items, and this course covers several different data structures for representing graphs and several different algorithms for traversing graphs, including finding the shortest route from one node to another node. These graph algorithms will also depend on another concept called disjoint sets, so this course will also cover its data structure and associated algorithms....

Top reviews

AF
Jul 16, 2020

This course had good coverage on hashing, disjoint sets, graphs. This course will improve coding skills.\n\nI'm happy with material, coding practices, quiz and projects.

TK
May 30, 2020

An insanely good course in which the instructors and professors put in the maximum possible amount of work for the student's benefit and clarity. Learnt a ton!

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 91 Reviews for Unordered Data Structures

By Ben m

Feb 24, 2020

Good introduction to graphs, I enjoyed it.

By Ping W

Nov 6, 2019

Great class! Exceeded my expectations!

By Yuyuan L

Nov 18, 2019

One of the best courses in Coursera!

By Yuxin W

Oct 23, 2019

Good course with good exercises.

By Michael F

Oct 25, 2020

Great intro to the topic.

By Wei D

Mar 18, 2020

Good course, very clear.

By Harsh B K

Oct 28, 2019

Great Assignments...

By Juan C C C

Jul 17, 2020

Amazing lectures!

By 조정빈

Mar 9, 2021

helpful lecture!

By Jeff F

Aug 26, 2020

Amazing Course

By Kai J Z

Nov 16, 2019

Awesome!

By Jeff D

Nov 30, 2020

Thanks

By Jinyun L

Jul 29, 2020

Materials in this course 'Unordered Data Structures' is not as clearly explained as its predecessors: 'Ordered Data Structure' and 'Object-Oriented Data Structures in C++'.

That's why I only gave 4 stars. I just tell the organizer my wish that it could be as perfect as the other two :)

However, in general, it's a good course which has well-organized material and well-prepared homework.

By Joshua T

Jan 23, 2020

Really good and succinct course to gain a foundational understanding of data structures & algorithms. I would have liked some more challenging assignments, as I could complete some of them without writing more than 20 lines of code.

By Isaac C

Mar 16, 2020

A lot of new concepts learned. However I would have like to do more programming, exploring more features of C++. Changing only one or two lines of an existing code does not help much in our learning.

By Luke L

Jan 5, 2020

Great course! Very interesting lecture material / content. I can't give this course a five however, as the assignments seem unnecessarily convoluted, and abstracted to demonstrate the material.

By Priyabrat D

Sep 23, 2020

Could have been a bit more explanatory for people not from CS background. Typos and mistakes should have been eliminated to the largest possible extent. Leaving these aside, nice course.

By Jared P

Sep 3, 2020

Overall, great course. Slightly obscure challenges sometimes, but homeworks were awesome because of how well commented all the provided code was.

Instructor and videos were also amazing!

By Carl W

Jul 28, 2020

Good class. I'm still a little mixed on the approach where the student just supplies a small amount of code in a large (mostly complete) class. Nevertheless, enjoyed.

By Ruslan K

Jan 12, 2021

Overall very good course. It is VERY time consuming if don't have background in CS. Each programming projects can easily take 35-40 hours to complete.

By Suhas A B

Aug 14, 2020

The last section on graphs seems hurried, everything right up to BFS seemed structured but it felt like there was a sudden pack up.

By Yasaman S

Jan 3, 2020

I wish the course was more detailed. Some PDFs to explain the concept more. Other than that I am happy with the content.

By MRIDUL K

Aug 23, 2020

overall course was excellent but there were a few mistakes in week 4, which took a bit of extra time to understand.

By Yu H

May 29, 2020

Hard topics nicely explained. Wish the lectures cover more content. The assignments were a bit too straightforward.

By Guo L

Nov 22, 2019

This course is good though some of the contents may need refinement. Code examples are very helpful.