Chevron Left
Back to Curanderismo: Traditional Healing Using Plants

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Curanderismo: Traditional Healing Using Plants by University of New Mexico

4.6
stars
71 ratings
30 reviews

About the Course

COURSE DESCRIPTION As one of four courses on Curanderismo, the art of Hispanic/Latino traditional medicine, this course focuses specifically on the use of plants in traditional healing. As an educational and cultural platform, this course will share the history, influences, and contributions of traditional medicine. Trained traditional healers will share their knowledge of the healing properties of plants commonly found in the Southwestern United States and Mexico through practical applications that can still be used today. Learners will not become certified traditional healers at the completion of this course but will be able apply basic principles or traditional medicine to approach health and illnesses. They will become familiar specifically with the use of plants for the digestive and nervous systems; how to prepare tinctures and microdosis for healing; how to use juice therapy and geotherapy (clay combined with plants) for treatments; and the use of herbal oils and herbal smoke for healing. Future Curanderismo courses include: Traditional Healing of the Body: Intestinal blockage empacho, firecupping ventosas, and hydrotherapy (healing with water) Traditional Healing of the Mind, Energy and Spirit: Sweatlodge Temazcal, Energetic/Spiritual cleansings Limpias, and Laugh therapy risaterapia. Global and Cultural Influences of Traditional Healing: African tradition, Afro Latino from Cuba and Puerto Rico, Native American spiritual cleansings and Mayan acupuncture. REQUIRED TEXTS Curanderismo: The Art of Traditional Medicine without Borders by Eliseo Torres Curandero: Traditional Healers of Mexico and the Southwest by Eliseo Torres with Imanol Miranda Where to buy: https://he.kendallhunt.com/product/curanderismo-art-traditional-medicine-without-borders https://he.kendallhunt.com/product/curandero-traditional-healers-mexico-and-southwest OPTIONAL TEXTS Curandero: A life in Mexican Folk Healing by Eliseo Torres & Tim Sawyer Healing with Herbs & Rituals: A Mexican Tradition, Eliseo Torres, edited by Tim Sawyer Where to buy: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/curandero-torres-eliseo-cheo/1120135382?ean=9780826336415&st=PLA&sid=BNB_1341481610&sourceId=PLAGoNA&dpid=tdtve346c&2sid=Google_c&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI3_6LmYev3gIViuNkCh3IPgUyEAQYASABEgLYXfD_BwE https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/healing-with-herbs-and-rituals-torres-eliseo-cheo/1120135381?ean=9780826339621&st=PLA&sid=BNB_825204424&sourceId=PLAGoNA&dpid=tdtve346c&2sid=Google_c&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIrrvswYev3gIVBsRkCh3BXQCHEAQYASABEgLnl_D_BwE...

Top reviews

SH

Feb 10, 2019

Wonderful, enlightening course. The speakers were all so knowledgeable, and the information that presented has practical uses. I look forward to using what I learned to heal myself and others.

K

Jul 27, 2020

This is a wonderful course to introduce the practice of curanderismo. I really enjoyed learning about the ways types of plants are used to aide in healing.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 30 Reviews for Curanderismo: Traditional Healing Using Plants

By Margarito Z

Mar 23, 2019

Excellent course, a lot of help that strengthens the non-pharmacological treatment of some diseases and at the same time seeks the prevalence of curing by means of natural elements. Congratulations and many thanks for all that knowledge and inspiration that you have given me.

By Lucy L

Apr 19, 2020

This was an excellent course. I learned a great deal including the correct process and procedures for making tinctures and microdoses. I learned about cupping, healing with herbal oils and the use of herbal smoke for healing among other things.

By Sylvia W

Nov 21, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed the videos and readings and learned some new tips and tricks. The format was convenient to my study needs and style.

By Jelicia S

May 19, 2020

This class was so amazing and informative it helped me get back to my roots and the real power of natural healing. Thank you.

By VIJAYA L G

May 25, 2020

Thank you Coursera, for giving us an opportunity join ur free classes during the lockdown situtatons and for offering such Excellent courses online with certificate. i love traditional healing and i prefer to medicate with natural therapies and has a thirst for healing therapies like curanderismo. i enjoyed the whole course. A humble request, it would be nice if u could have provided the reading material as mentioned at the end of some weeks , which was not available.. i would be most grateful if you ppl can please mail us the reading materials at drgvlaxmi_biotech@cbit.ac.in to my email . thankyou.

By Christina C

Apr 24, 2019

This is a good, yet bare-bones, intro to healing with plants through the practices of curanderism. The global and anthropological perspectives really add a lot to the course. Overall, I do suggest this course to others interested in alternative healing and still I would have liked more depth.

By Barbara J

Jan 16, 2019

A wonderful combination of cultural anthropology, cultural appreciation, botany and adjuvant therapies. The only drawback to this course is that it makes you want to travel to New Mexico so you can complete additional, in person training.

By Michelle G

Feb 25, 2019

I was able to audit this course and really enjoyed it. The coursework was doable considering I'm a mom of two little ones and work full time. I appreciated the variety of presenters and look forward to the next module. Thank you!

By Sierra H

Feb 10, 2019

Wonderful, enlightening course. The speakers were all so knowledgeable, and the information that presented has practical uses. I look forward to using what I learned to heal myself and others.

By Kalie A

Jul 27, 2020

This is a wonderful course to introduce the practice of curanderismo. I really enjoyed learning about the ways types of plants are used to aide in healing.

By Olivia S

Apr 23, 2020

I learned so much and appreciated every video. Wish the course was longer! Still five star course.

By Veronica S

May 24, 2020

It's a good course, but some videos are very short. Other than that, good information.

By Alejandra S

Aug 26, 2019

Informative and interesting. Very happy I was able to participate in theses courses.

By Iris V M

Mar 06, 2020

I Loved this coarse. I learned so much. I am so glad I found this class.

By ZAMORA M M S

Jul 22, 2020

Aprendí conceptos nuevos, los vídeos muy interesantes y didácticos.

By Mechell T

Feb 23, 2019

its simply explained and demonstrated.

By Filippo R

Feb 12, 2020

good teachers, thanks!

By Jesús A A T

Jul 01, 2020

Very nice course!

By Tanya A J

Sep 28, 2019

Excellent course!

By Malshi O G

Oct 13, 2019

good

By Shirley A

Mar 27, 2019

E

By Danna R

May 25, 2020

Es un excelente curso para introducirnos en un mundo de medicina alternativa, para entender la fuerza de la madre naturaleza y mejorar nuestro campo energético. Para los que no somos mexicanos nos hace desear poder obtener todo ese boticario y también cuestionarnos como son los curanderos en nuestra región. Muchas gracias por las enseñanzas.

By Dr. G J

May 21, 2020

Its nice to learn different therapies to heal human from the pain and serious diseases which otherwise is very serious to manage. Thank you so much

By Kamila Ś

Jun 22, 2020

A very interesting course, unfortunately no readings are provided, not even after buying the course.

By Jona V

Jun 18, 2020

The ability to print out video information would be beneficial or copies of videos.