Chevron Left
Back to Cyber Attack Countermeasures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cyber Attack Countermeasures by New York University Tandon School of Engineering

4.8
271 ratings
45 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces the basics of cyber defense starting with foundational models such as Bell-LaPadula and information flow frameworks. These underlying policy enforcements mechanisms help introduce basic functional protections, starting with authentication methods. Learners will be introduced to a series of different authentication solutions and protocols, including RSA SecureID and Kerberos, in the context of a canonical schema.   The basics of cryptography are also introduced with attention to conventional block ciphers as well as public key cryptography. Important cryptographic techniques such as cipher block chaining and triple-DES are explained. Modern certification authority-based cryptographic support is also discussed and shown to provide basis for secure e-commerce using Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) schemes....

Top reviews

DE

Aug 26, 2019

Really good content especially in explaining public key cryptography. Not sure why there is peer review for the final (it's a short multiple choice quiz), but it worked out ok since I finished early.

TK

Mar 08, 2018

This is an excellent course with enough historical context for those who are not familiar with cybersecurity and good videos and current developments in the field.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 45 Reviews for Cyber Attack Countermeasures

By Nikola A

Aug 07, 2018

Well done course1 Perhaps a little bit too much of historical focus and too less on current technology or assignments that help to develop practical skills. But everything is very well done, lectures are very nicely to follow.

By ernie

Nov 19, 2018

Excellent intro - great explanations and additional readings!

By Aneesh S

Dec 10, 2018

Awesome course. Easy to understand and provides lots of useful reference materials.

By Michael H

Dec 26, 2018

I really enjoyed this course, although a little difficult to fit in during holidays and end of year work loads. The course provided some very valuable insights and allowed for some solid understanding from the lessons. Thanks Ed for another great class.

By Carlos A C S

Nov 06, 2018

Excellent professor and interesting course!!!

By Atichat P

Nov 08, 2018

Good

By John M

Jan 09, 2019

Good course. Very well though out approach towards teaching the subject. Engaging and informative. And it made learning a pleasure.

By Thomas Z

Feb 19, 2019

Enhanced my security horizon. Professor Amoroso is a very solid teacher and very passionated.

By Nico S

Feb 11, 2019

I like how Dr. Amoroso made some complicated concept sounds easy. I also love when he told us about the history of cyber security in this course.

By Arthur S

Mar 04, 2019

Very interesting course !

By ABDUL N M

Mar 14, 2019

Lesson is dramatic and practical

By Brooks T

Dec 30, 2018

Very good course on Cyber Attack Countermeasures.

By Karan S

Nov 30, 2018

Thank's a lot for making this course and series. Dr. Edward Amoroso is now my favorite lecturer.

By Dimple

Jul 19, 2018

Well designed course. A perfect start for beginner.

By Horacio M

Oct 09, 2018

good, well balanced course, covering theoretical models, key concepts such as authentication, RSA etc.

for me the value of the whole course is how from small pieces and individual approaches and solutions, Ed Amoroso turns to a global view and analysis on Cyber Attacks and how to make these more difficult to happen.

By Aviel S

Oct 14, 2018

Good & useful course.

Highly recommended for those who new to Cyber domain

By Mukarram A

Sep 26, 2018

Excellent and valuable course .

By Uladzimir B

Nov 05, 2018

Interesting and highly-digestible material and OK to do self-paced, without any help. Doesn't seem like TAs are checking the forums, but frankly it shouldn't stop anyone from passing this course as all the material required is explained in the related videos very well.

By Alfredo J L H

Jul 14, 2018

Excelente Curso!!1, muy completo y orientado a partiendo desde las bases de la Cyber Seguridad como implementar contramedidas de seguridad coherentes y ajustadas a las necesidades de los usuarios/clientes

By S. M G M A

Jul 14, 2018

Great Opportunity for us to get Certification from NYU, Tandon School of Engineering.

By Гавриш Б

May 20, 2018

Perfect!

By Manuel

May 27, 2018

Great course and great teacher.

By Andrew Z

Dec 23, 2017

I would describe this course as a broad stroked introduction to not just cryptography but how it actually fits into the modern world. Concepts covered are technical by nature but the delivery method is very conversational. Professor Amoroso is a fun lecturer. He creates a sense of there being a cybersecurity community and is very encouraging. I will definitely check out the next two courses in this series. Overall I think the series is helpful in expanding opportunities in my career to security related roles.

By Kuldeep s

May 27, 2018

osm

By Steven P M

Apr 23, 2018

Edward Amoroso and his team have put together a great class. His enthusiasm is contagious, his experience and those of his guest speakers runs deep, and his ability to explain complex concepts is refreshingly clear. This is probably the best series of courses I've taken at Coursera (and I've taken dozens). I'm looking forward to taking the next two of Amoroso's courses in this series. Thank you!