Chevron Left
Back to Cybersecurity and Mobility

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Cybersecurity and Mobility by University System of Georgia

4.5
stars
525 ratings
116 reviews

About the Course

This course is for you if you are interested in transitioning toward a managerial role in cybersecurity and mobility. Through interviews with industry experts in this area, you will be able to analyze innovations powering the rapid spread of information technology and how they present new challenges for protecting data. For example, mobile devices increase convenience but often bypass traditional security measures. After this course, you will be able to describe how the nature of the threat evolves, as culprits employ a burgeoning set of sophisticated tools to take advantage of our growing reliance on networks for critical-data exchange. If you want to pursue a career in the public sector, the stakes are high as well. The proliferation of hackers, inevitable human errors, bring-your-own-device (BYOD) initiatives, and the ever-broadening need to share information weigh heavily on government and education organizations, and consume substantial resources. The Pentagon, for example, has proposed to spend $23 billion on network security initiatives through 2018. This sounds like a large sum, until you consider the scope and importance of the U.S. government information resources this investment must protect. After completing the course modules you will be able to explain how yesterday’s prevention strategies are no longer adequate for stopping advanced, targeted attacks. Effective cybersecurity must be multi-dimensional and tiered, as threats can originate from virtually anywhere, target numerous levels of an organization, and sometimes persist for months or years before an information security staff is aware of an attack or breach. Therefore securing networks requires a holistic approach that incorporates several elements....

Top reviews

SI
Aug 22, 2020

It was a wonderful course, it helped me a lot, thanks to the instructor and everyone who were related with this course and thanks to Coursera for giving us this wonderful opportunity. Thank you.

MS
Jul 23, 2020

If anyone wants to know about Basics of Cybersecurity, Mobility and IoT, this is one of the very good course. I will recommend it to others. Thanks To CourseEra and the teachers.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 114 Reviews for Cybersecurity and Mobility

By Angel F G P

Mar 16, 2019

Pienso que debería tener material mas actualizado, en algunos de los casos que se mencionan tienen fecha de 2007. Y aunque en México estamos a años luz del desarrollo que se tiene a nivel mundial, si es muy importante el conocer los alcances que existen hoy en día para poder implementar lo que se pueda en nuestras

By BALAJI V

Nov 27, 2016

Cyber Security is miniscule in the topic. Mobility poses severe cyber security threat and syllabus is talking about MDM which is for compliance and cyber security.

By Kathryn C

Nov 28, 2016

I liked the combination of video and readings, and short quizzes during the video. Very practical while still academic.

By divya d

Apr 8, 2018

It was a truly informative and well formed course. I'm really thankful to Coursera for letting me join this course.

By Rebecca R

Nov 2, 2016

Generally, a fair intro to key topics in "Cybersecurity and Mobility", however some of the sources are dated (and could be updated), given the fast-paced nature of the field. Still, worth some time if you want to learn more about where current trends are heading.

By Bjarne G

Sep 19, 2016

A little dated, with most material and research presented from the glorious days of 2012. The issues at hand are however still valid, though

By Paul R

Dec 22, 2016

Links to 4 year old articles, websites and TED talks that can be found on Google don't really constitute a course to me sorry.

By Andrew D

Sep 2, 2016

In my opinion this is not a course. The contents are a short interview cut up over 4 weeks, fluffed with a myriad of vendor-biased PDFs. The 90s classroom style video editing is annoying to boot.

By Joshua J

Oct 31, 2016

Excellent course for learning about the growing cybersecurity challenges associated with BYOD & enterprise users moving to their personal devices. Also places an emphasis on end-point security and application security without digging into the technical aspects but rather focusing on the security. User friendly BYOD policy and awareness are key.

By Efrina b

May 3, 2017

My first online course as i am just a house wife that only have high school diploma and graduate long time ago 1999 and English is my 2nd language, with 3 kids ( age 16, 9 and 2) living in the country that is not english speaking country (Dominica Rep. - Spanish speaking country), very recommended course and very educative.

By Farrukh S

Sep 4, 2016

Course is designed very well, tutor explained all topics in detail and would be great if there are some additional information about the progression towards as a Cyber Security profession.

Highly Recommend to other learners and many thanks again for offering such a valuable course.

Farrukh

By Jafed E G

Jul 6, 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

By SM K I

Aug 23, 2020

It was a wonderful course, it helped me a lot, thanks to the instructor and everyone who were related with this course and thanks to Coursera for giving us this wonderful opportunity. Thank you.

By Jessenia R

Jul 16, 2020

El curso me permitió conocer mas acerca de que es lo se espera en un futuro en cuanto a movilidad y por que es importante fue un curso que me permitió conocer muchas cosas nuevas e interesantes.

By Mriganka S S

Jul 24, 2020

If anyone wants to know about Basics of Cybersecurity, Mobility and IoT, this is one of the very good course. I will recommend it to others. Thanks To CourseEra and the teachers.

By Madhu T

May 14, 2017

Great Course and Great materials. Very insightful into this very deep subject of Cybersecurity and correlation with other aspects of Technology.

By Erik I

Jul 12, 2016

A good introduction to the subject of computer security and mobile security. More of a general subject and not vert in depth, but a great start.

By Kennedy P

Sep 4, 2016

Its is a great course to take, it opens you the window for future knowlege about cybersecurity and mobility.

By Hugh J

Jul 11, 2016

So far I've gone through the first week. Lots of business and technical info. The video quality is AMAZING!!

By Osmin O

Jun 5, 2017

Muy buen curso todo lo involucrado con BYOD y la gestión de la seguridad en dispositivos móviles.

By ANKUR D

Oct 3, 2020

This course is highly recommended for a person willing to learn the basics of cybersecurity.

By midathana s

Dec 5, 2018

this is such a good course for Cybersecurity basics . thank you for providing such acourse

By Samir A T A

Jul 5, 2020

Excelente curso para tener fundamentos sobre topicos de gran importancia a futuro.

By Rachana R B - D

May 25, 2020

Very nice course, nicely created and very informative and very usefull in realtime

By Sachin k

Sep 30, 2020

nice course and can understand the awareness about cybersecurity and mobility