Chevron Left
Back to Data Analysis with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Analysis with Python by IBM Skills Network

4.7
stars
16,178 ratings

About the Course

Analyzing data with Python is an essential skill for Data Scientists and Data Analysts. This course will take you from the basics of data analysis with Python to building and evaluating data models. Topics covered include: - collecting and importing data - cleaning, preparing & formatting data - data frame manipulation - summarizing data - building machine learning regression models - model refinement - creating data pipelines You will learn how to import data from multiple sources, clean and wrangle data, perform exploratory data analysis (EDA), and create meaningful data visualizations. You will then predict future trends from data by developing linear, multiple, polynomial regression models & pipelines and learn how to evaluate them. In addition to video lectures you will learn and practice using hands-on labs and projects. You will work with several open source Python libraries, including Pandas and Numpy to load, manipulate, analyze, and visualize cool datasets. You will also work with scipy and scikit-learn, to build machine learning models and make predictions. If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge....

Top reviews

SC

May 5, 2020

I started this course without any knowledge on Data Analysis with Python, and by the end of the course I was able to understand the basics of Data Analysis, usage of different libraries and functions.

RP

Apr 19, 2019

perfect for beginner level. all the concepts with code and parameter wise have been explained excellently. overall best course in making anyone eager to learn from basics to handle advances with ease.

Filter by:

1751 - 1775 of 2,443 Reviews for Data Analysis with Python

By Veena W

Nov 8, 2020

It's a great course for beginners. A lot of topics are squeezed under this course. But, I wish the topics were a bit more elaborated and the number of videos increased. To back up the topics related to any calculations, actual algebra and statistics implementation should have been shown. Because of the confusions, tons of questions were arising during lab activity. Quizzes and lab activities were good.

By ANDRÉS A A C

May 30, 2020

Although this course comprises the most common techniques used for Data wrangling and basic modeling, it does not go any deeper into understanding the logic behind many of the subjects.

Perhaps, giving out some aditional lectures for every week lessons could be of good help to better understand this topics, so the learning process would not be just a "follow through" that just works for ideal scenarios.

By HUNG K

Apr 26, 2020

The final project left out some higher cross-validation methods like Grid search and model comparison. Nevertheless, the course tried to cover a lot of useful and relevant examples of the whole process, as well as providing good practice opportunities. Personally, I would love to have more practice on each module so that I can turn the knowledge into my own. Overall, a well-designed course!

By Teh C Y

Aug 10, 2021

Week 1 until Week 4 the syllabus are okay & understandable, but when it reached week 5 it's another level, like suddenly jump from beginner level to advance level without detailed explanation. I have to ask people or search online to look for answer & further details to understand the whole concept. This reminds me of the movie series GOT... exciting beginning but terrible ending

By Ekaterina K

Aug 20, 2019

Very good lectures, but the final project takes way longer to set up than to complete: finding the link to the final assignment and making it work in Watson took me too much time. There should be an option to do it outside Watson environment without loosing points because Watson is very slow. Moreover, the assignment and the link to the dataset should be posted more clearly.

By Celine

Jan 1, 2020

The material are structured very well. The explanation in the video and lab tutorial really help to understand. The discussion forum is active and the teachers are responsive. You will also get a free certificate and IBM badge. Though there are some typos and errors and some things left unexplained, but overall it's good. Hope you guys can increase the course's performance.

By Venkata P U

Jul 25, 2020

This Course is extremely useful for quick learning of skills. This course takes you into world of data analytics at the same time giving you practical experience, unlike many other courses. All the topics in this course are up to the point and tell you its application rather boring you with details. If you are a beginner then this is a perfect course to begin with.

By Mouafo D

Jan 20, 2020

Well design for beginners with a scientific profile. The course starts moderately and covers a large amount of concepts. I advise to take notes and often to deepen certain concepts in dedicated tutorials on google or YouTube and other appropriate platforms. Cleaning mistakes on the slides and the notebooks will be great and make the learning experience more fluent.

By Jess M

Feb 27, 2019

Covers a lot of content very quickly with not enough opportunities to practice using and applying the code. Having lots of quizzes is good for testing passive knowledge, but more active hands-on application in labs would be most welcome. Useful content, but I am going to go take an intro to Python course so that I can actually follow and use what is presented here.

By Sanjay R

Apr 3, 2020

The course videos were excellent! The final project did a good job in covering the course material. However, the support to the course was unacceptable. I never got a response to any of my questions after posting them twice and waiting for a day. I then just decided to submit my project without waiting for a response since I felt my wait will be in vain.

By Jeremiah T

Apr 16, 2020

This is a well organized class and consistent with the rest of the course series so far. One improvement could be to reinforce the concepts more such that we can create our own projects and decide what we need to do. At this point we're just performing methods for the class, but I don't yet feel comfortable starting my own project using these methods.

By Benyaphorn P

Nov 9, 2020

The overall modules were great. But a few comments, I think I am supposed to get more score for my final assignment. The reviewer did not grade me fairly, even though my answers were correct and matched the rubric. I do not seriously mind the issue. But to be honest, this is kinda annoying and your team should care about how to handle it.

By Jaime A G P

Feb 22, 2020

Es un curso introductorio, realmente no es complejo, solo se trata de entender las bases del análisis de datos. Sí, es cierto que los videos y los laboratorios tiene algunos errores (que si has pagado por el curso no serían aceptables en ningún momento). Es básicamente una introducción para saber como se trabajan en el análisis de datos.

By Eugene B

Sep 2, 2019

Some of the course skates over pretty difficult information really quick and then gives you challenges that haven't really been that well explained, so some self-research is required. The assignments are also pretty copy/paste + modify a couple of variable names so you have to put in the effort to really get good value out of the course.

By Anuradha B O

Jul 14, 2018

The course is very interesting and concise, it has a very logical flow. The best parts about the course are quiz embedded in the lectures and detailed lab assignments. However, there are few errors in the lab and assignments, which need to be rectified. Otherwise, it would have been 5star from me. Thank You for desiging this course.

By Ming

Dec 18, 2019

Easy to understand and grasp for a beginner. Good refresher for those who have some basics of programming down. Typos in the reference codes here and there but no major problems. Other than that the Watson interface is alright to work with however there will be some lagging some times. I enjoyed the process of learning this course.

By Ning C

May 12, 2020

Clear structure and message delivering. I have learnt a lot from this course within a short time. Teaching assistants answer questions in each weeke's forum also with good clarity and patience. Although some mistakes, cannnot obscure the splendor of the jade. :) Looking forward to a better version after the improvement on typos.

By Mats B F

May 1, 2020

You can consider some more explanations on how the training and testing codes are linked together and what explicitly the Python codes does. This was the elements I struggled to understand. But this was the only part that also was new to me. All in all, the material was well explained and the course was very interesting.

By José F M V

Oct 7, 2020

I just have an issue with some minor bugs with the Coursera web app. I don't know if they are specific of this course or as a whole. For example, when clicking in next assignment sometimes it jumps two assignments. Or when you type too fast the system just writes the last letter. Other than that is pretty ok.

By Jeff L

Jun 17, 2020

great lectures and projects. on data analysis topic, IBM has chopped contents into many small courses, which make student confused and hard to find which one to take. IBM should consolidate them into 4 or 5 courses that are focused, heavy weighted, so that students can build rock solid knowledge and skills.

By Roy v E

Apr 23, 2020

The courses are very good to get familiar with Data Science and what it essentially is. I would have like practise examples with answers after each chapter to practise it in but that is just how I learn. Overall I learned a lot about new resources and how to do certain things in the Data Science world.

By Ranjeeta R

Mar 25, 2020

I liked the course. Highly recommended for someone who is looking for coding experience for data Analysis using python. Please practice the lab that will make you confident. Only thing which bothered me is the final assignment review. It was not correctly reviewed. I lost 4 marks. Hope this helps!

By Joseph O

Mar 11, 2019

a few discrepancies here and there, please see the comments in the discussions. Other than that, very good! This course was more difficult than the others, and so i guess this is why employers prefer potential employees hold a PhD, or at least maintain a high algebraic/calculus/statistical aptitude

By Mohit S C

Mar 10, 2022

This is course is very useful to understand the data and analysis. You should do the labs because give us clearn understanding the concepts which see in the video lecture. So concept are difficult to understand like as Regression in the first time but if you watch the video again it will be clear

By Joshua S

Jun 29, 2021

Actually one of the better courses in the Data Science program. Information is useful, test/quizzes are related to the material, and the final exam is appropriate difficulty to the material and information being applied. This course was challenging yet the tools needed to succeed were available.