Chevron Left
Back to Data Collection and Processing with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Collection and Processing with Python by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
3,194 ratings
528 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches you to fetch and process data from services on the Internet. It covers Python list comprehensions and provides opportunities to practice extracting from and processing deeply nested data. You'll also learn how to use the Python requests module to interact with REST APIs and what to look for in documentation of those APIs. For the final project, you will construct a “tag recommender” for the flickr photo sharing site. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" and "Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries" courses (courses 1 and 2 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization). If you are already familiar with Python fundamentals but want practice at retrieving and processing complex nested data from Internet services, you can also benefit from this course without taking the previous two. This is the third of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

CM
Oct 9, 2019

This was a really excellent course. The functional project at the end helped me understand how recommendation systems work and now I'm very excited to try to build a similar system for books I love.

A
Jul 9, 2020

Very interesting and fine course, in this course I learn how to solve Nested data and new a new thing i.e REST API which seems best in course 3 now I am excited about course 4. Thanking you Michigan

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 525 Reviews for Data Collection and Processing with Python

By Yash R

Jun 12, 2020

feedback: week 3 modules were not structured properly.

By Иван И

Aug 21, 2019

Sufferings with final tests ( partially outdated )

By PRANAV G

May 30, 2020

Should bs focused more on requests module and API

By LifeExp

Aug 7, 2019

cannot access many of APIs used during the course

By Jason B

Nov 16, 2019

Really could have used more practice exercises.

By Yagna Y N

Apr 5, 2020

please provide detailed information in project

By Yuhao W

May 11, 2020

Week 3 and the final project is toooooo hard!

By Bohdan K V

Aug 17, 2020

The last assignment as always awful!

By Ioannis K

Jun 1, 2019

Runestone has a lot of bugs...

By Md. F K

Jun 19, 2020

Kind of complex to understand

By ASIF S

Aug 27, 2020

the tests are too tough

By Noel D

May 22, 2019

More support needed!

By Yueduxin W

May 13, 2020

too hard!!!!!

By 손승건

Feb 6, 2020

not bad

By Weerachai Y

Jun 20, 2020

thanks

By Vaidehi B R

Jul 10, 2020

good

By Hernan D

Nov 10, 2020

I did the course one and two from the specialization in python 3 which are really great courses. In this course 3, the first part was fine but the APIs part of the course was really incomplete and it would have been much better If the instructors had given more exercises. Another things that is very bad is the final project, although the first five exercises were ok the exercise six failed most of the time and the teachers do not answer any of my questions.

By Ching-hsiu L

Sep 1, 2020

This course gives learners the skill which learners can not take away. I am disappointed that we can not apply what we learn, requests_with_caching, while we leave Runestone interactive for other Python environment. In addition, it is not a good instructional design that this course takes 3 weeks to teach only one method.

By Cristhian E J

Sep 9, 2020

I think you need more practice to be able to accomplish the final test . Paul Resnick great teacher though!

By Jorge A L D

Aug 18, 2020

Awful experience with the last assignment, must fix all the Runestone bugs as soon as possible!

By William R

Oct 31, 2020

I loved all the previous courses, but this one was frustrating, not for the difficulty of the tasks, but because of the week 3, you need to keep the student excercising before the project or it comes almost impossible to do the task.

When I started coding for the project I did not know where to start, I needed some practice and there is not a single excercise in the Runnestone for the student to develop the knowdledge on the topic as the previous courses.

Thats my feedback, you guys are great but you should improve that to help students understand better the APIS topic, it was extremely frustrating. I was waiting for the first time I could do a code from my own and the first time coding CAN NOT be in middle of the project.

By Mohammad H

Dec 5, 2020

Unfortunately this course was not good at all compared to the rest of them. They didn't have energy to teach, and just skipped over the API, the Runstone project has a lot of errors, so you can't keep up. The teaching staff does not reply to your questions, it was a mess in General. Waste of time, all my codes were correct but the runstone project showed it was wrong, until I logged in again at night, used the same code, then it worked.

By Tymur L

May 9, 2020

Don't liked this course. Too easy. In the final lesson only few api's are studied. The only useful thing really I have been told is looking up the docs. I knew it prior to taking this course.

By juan s c g

Aug 10, 2020

Good the idea in the final exam but bad doing it due to the change of the server page please fix that problem and make some changes to solve that errors.

By Prakash K

Apr 29, 2020

Poor and non-reusable wrapper for requests. Don't see a point of practising it.