Chevron Left
Back to Data Collection and Processing with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Collection and Processing with Python by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
3,196 ratings
528 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches you to fetch and process data from services on the Internet. It covers Python list comprehensions and provides opportunities to practice extracting from and processing deeply nested data. You'll also learn how to use the Python requests module to interact with REST APIs and what to look for in documentation of those APIs. For the final project, you will construct a “tag recommender” for the flickr photo sharing site. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" and "Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries" courses (courses 1 and 2 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization). If you are already familiar with Python fundamentals but want practice at retrieving and processing complex nested data from Internet services, you can also benefit from this course without taking the previous two. This is the third of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

A
Jul 9, 2020

Very interesting and fine course, in this course I learn how to solve Nested data and new a new thing i.e REST API which seems best in course 3 now I am excited about course 4. Thanking you Michigan

CM
Oct 9, 2019

This was a really excellent course. The functional project at the end helped me understand how recommendation systems work and now I'm very excited to try to build a similar system for books I love.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 526 Reviews for Data Collection and Processing with Python

By Dr. S R

Aug 14, 2020

nice

By Anmisha

Aug 10, 2020

good

By Bindu c N

Aug 5, 2020

goog

By Stephen D

Jul 12, 2020

good

By Li K

Jul 1, 2020

good

By Fabian C H R

Jun 25, 2020

cool

By ASHISH K

Jun 17, 2020

Good

By Bhargavi V

Apr 26, 2020

Good

By Dao X H

Jul 6, 2019

good

By Sui X

May 25, 2019

good

By Nguyen Q T ( H

May 6, 2021

ok

By Kiran K

Oct 3, 2020

NA

By Raj S

Jul 24, 2020

.

By Ron M C

Mar 31, 2020

Overall good course, and definitely only worth it if you go through the series as everything does build up nicely.

I do find that the professors spend a little too much time being repetitive on basic ideas and concepts. We are all watching this on video, so we can always replay something if your explanation doesn't make sense. It would be more valuable to have more examples than to have you repeat core concepts in multiple lectures. I basically watch the videos on 1.5x or 1.75x speed to get through these and get to the examples. The practice exercises are then more valuable.

I also could benefit a little more on clearer guidance on the final project. I really like the approach of breaking it down, but I do better if I have an understanding of the big picture first, then start to break it down. This was a tough one with the 'cached' data, but I understand the rationale for it, but it made it more difficult to troubleshoot the almost secretive error messages that I was receiving.

By Alp D Y

Jun 17, 2020

The title is misleading, you only learn how to collect data from the API's in this course. For a course called data collection, we don't have much practice collecting data except the final project. The course is good if you are here to get a basic understanding of the subject and already posses some elementary programming knowledge. The online textbook is nice (It automatically grades assignments and provides instant feedback) however, for me, the daily practice exercises always comes from the first specialization course. Furthermore, if you accidentally click out of the page or time out while doing the final assignment the online textbook doesn't save your answers so you have to start over.

By Soumik C

Jul 12, 2020

I would have given this course a 5-star review. However, I feel this is the time when the students should also be exposed to full Python environment through one of the IDE's and not just Runestone. Things need to get real and I still do not have 100% confidence in venturing out in the real world applications. I had downloaded a well known IDE in parallel to Course 3- Week 3 runestone. Although my Runestone environment practice and progress are fast, I am feeling miserable in the standalone IDE.

By Ashish T

Feb 22, 2020

The course is very useful for beginners. I learned a lot of new things although not 100% especially after completing the project course. But still I would say close to 80-90% of the material. The project course had a good content but the bugs made it a mess. It was frustrating at times. So, I am giving it a 4 star or else I am thankful to the professor for teaching the content in a very lucid manner. I hope for more intense courses on python in the future.

By Tatiana A

Oct 4, 2019

First 2 weeks of the course were great but week 3 was confusing, boring, and with a lot of text and not enough practice. It took me a while to find strength and go though final assignment. It was painful experience since Runestone interactive is not suited for debugging very well and this assignment required a lot of debugging. Anyway, I am happy I am done with it and moving on to a next course of this Specialization.

By Nathan H

May 4, 2020

I would appreciate it if the Course held your hand less. In the final project I should have had to figure out how to make the ranking program on my own without being walked through the steps. The global logic is often more difficult then getting the functions to work and I feel like i'm not prepared for writing programs on my own that have more than a couple lines.

Other than that it was great.

By Frat Q

May 7, 2021

The Final Project, should not be based on a module that is not standard in Python. I ran the project with the standard module (requests) and it went fine. But when I try to do it with the non-standard module (requests_with_caching) things went south because I had to find-out how it worked, what the parameters were, and so on, with NO-DUBUG tool. Horrible!!

By James R

Jan 20, 2021

The testing in the final project was really confusing as the same code got correct answers in some questions and not in others. Particularly frustrating was the tests that called a function in the function being tested. This was super hard to debug as the error messages prevented me from seeing what input was being used by Runestone's testing.

By Josh J

Sep 6, 2019

The final on this one was a mess. You could not move the code out of runestone and it was impossible to step through in codelens. So, if you got stuck, good luck getting past it. I really enjoyed the assignments and videos, super helpful. Just didn't like the final.

By Jon L

Feb 20, 2021

This is overall an excellent course, although the last assignment was significantly more difficult than the assignments in the previous courses. Also, Skulpt posed a problem because it has limited imported ability. But I would still very much recommend this course!

By Muhammad A

Apr 12, 2020

Introduces you to using APIs, JSON data, and ZIP files - however, I felt it stopped a bit short of dealing with complex APIs. The example APIs used were fairly simple. Would have liked to see the use of some more complex use of APIs to build practical applications.

By Michael D

Mar 28, 2021

I found the API portion of the course difficult. I think we should have had more interactive exercises to better prepare for the final exercise. I felt it was rushed. This could have been a four-week course. Having said that, I learned a great deal.