Chevron Left
Back to Data Collection and Processing with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Collection and Processing with Python by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
3,115 ratings
517 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches you to fetch and process data from services on the Internet. It covers Python list comprehensions and provides opportunities to practice extracting from and processing deeply nested data. You'll also learn how to use the Python requests module to interact with REST APIs and what to look for in documentation of those APIs. For the final project, you will construct a “tag recommender” for the flickr photo sharing site. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" and "Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries" courses (courses 1 and 2 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization). If you are already familiar with Python fundamentals but want practice at retrieving and processing complex nested data from Internet services, you can also benefit from this course without taking the previous two. This is the third of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

CM
Oct 9, 2019

This was a really excellent course. The functional project at the end helped me understand how recommendation systems work and now I'm very excited to try to build a similar system for books I love.

A
Jul 9, 2020

Very interesting and fine course, in this course I learn how to solve Nested data and new a new thing i.e REST API which seems best in course 3 now I am excited about course 4. Thanking you Michigan

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 514 Reviews for Data Collection and Processing with Python

By Joel C

Jan 30, 2021

This course seemed a bit rushed and less well organized than the prior two.

I would have appreciated more practice especially with RESTful data collection before jumping into the final project

By Juan C A

Feb 11, 2020

Excellent understunding of programming. Advanced concepts such list comprenhension, map and zip make me review my way of thinking, producing better and shorten coding.

Thxs to the Instructors.

By PORBENI, E D

Feb 5, 2021

Good course like the others in the specialization! I found the end of course project unnecessary difficult because there were some subtle errors from the assessment questions and grader.

By Jason S

Feb 11, 2021

I thought the material was presented okay. The exercise examples are now out of date and should be sourced elsewhere (tastedive is going away and OMDB now requires an API Key).

By Tomas C

Aug 5, 2020

Good way to learn more about the usefulness of Python. A little bit more difficult than the previous Python 3 Programming Courses. Great lecturer!

By Shobha D

Aug 20, 2020

It was difficult to complete all questions of the final project because the information brought back was often different than what was expected.

By James U

Aug 2, 2019

more work required on presentation of the material and practice sessions to better establish the foundation principles and methods of API tools.

By PierLuigi B

Dec 21, 2019

Very nice done but a lot of problems to handle the timing of the graded assestment tool, I had to put 40000ms in order to make working my code

By Yam H L L

Jun 26, 2019

This particular course is very challenging. I found there were some issue with the assessment grading. Despite all this, is a good course.

By 郡哲 李

Oct 13, 2020

I think overall the course is well structured, but the final project's provided cache problems caused extra but not really needed efforts

By Olga K

May 31, 2020

Too theoretical. Needs more practice in between the topics. It was difficult to pass the final exam for a newbie in programming.

By Maria E N

Jul 17, 2020

The course was very good, well organised and with interesting assignments. Some of the material was quite confusing though.

By Manjistha D

May 20, 2020

The final project was quite hard and time consuming ... but it was fun to handle difficult problem....Love this course.....

By Alexandra B

Apr 11, 2020

The contents of course is great, but I wish we had more assignments to practice, like in other courses of specialization.

By Christos K

Sep 12, 2020

I believe that the course is quite helpful. However, I would like to have more examples to practice especially with API.

By ghanshyam r

Aug 24, 2020

I think you should use the IDE platform instead of your builtin IDE, which is not fully related to the original python.

By Tapas S

Nov 29, 2020

Really nice course, it explained the concept of API in a simple but effective manner with ample amount of examples.

By Vinitha M R

Oct 11, 2020

Awesome Lectures and Very creative assignments... Week 3 portions such as REST, Json could be made more interesting

By WOORADI S G

Jun 2, 2020

Final project is a bit confusing and assignments should be added for the API's as they are very confusing

By Renato U S

Apr 20, 2020

In particular in this course, too much videos, but just a few excercise. API Rest isn't quite simple.

By Ashutosh B

Sep 23, 2020

please explain a little slower in week 3 its little difficult who is dealing with API for 1st time

By Mohammad T H

Apr 17, 2020

Although most of the course materials are easy, the end of the course project is much too tough

By Pablo B C

Jul 23, 2020

Good course, but had some trouble on the last assignment with a badly configured environment

By Kuan-Chih W

Apr 17, 2020

A great course that takes me step by step learning collecting data from APIs by using python

By Gerson R

Sep 10, 2020

The course materials are good, but would have preferred a more ambitious final project.