Chevron Left
Back to Data Collection and Processing with Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Collection and Processing with Python by University of Michigan

4.7
stars
3,193 ratings
528 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches you to fetch and process data from services on the Internet. It covers Python list comprehensions and provides opportunities to practice extracting from and processing deeply nested data. You'll also learn how to use the Python requests module to interact with REST APIs and what to look for in documentation of those APIs. For the final project, you will construct a “tag recommender” for the flickr photo sharing site. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" and "Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries" courses (courses 1 and 2 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization). If you are already familiar with Python fundamentals but want practice at retrieving and processing complex nested data from Internet services, you can also benefit from this course without taking the previous two. This is the third of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

Top reviews

A
Jul 9, 2020

Very interesting and fine course, in this course I learn how to solve Nested data and new a new thing i.e REST API which seems best in course 3 now I am excited about course 4. Thanking you Michigan

CM
Oct 9, 2019

This was a really excellent course. The functional project at the end helped me understand how recommendation systems work and now I'm very excited to try to build a similar system for books I love.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 525 Reviews for Data Collection and Processing with Python

By ghanshyam r

Aug 24, 2020

I think you should use the IDE platform instead of your builtin IDE, which is not fully related to the original python.

By Tapas S

Nov 29, 2020

Really nice course, it explained the concept of API in a simple but effective manner with ample amount of examples.

By Vinitha M R

Oct 11, 2020

Awesome Lectures and Very creative assignments... Week 3 portions such as REST, Json could be made more interesting

By WOORADI S G

Jun 2, 2020

Final project is a bit confusing and assignments should be added for the API's as they are very confusing

By Renato U S

Apr 20, 2020

In particular in this course, too much videos, but just a few excercise. API Rest isn't quite simple.

By Ashutosh B

Sep 23, 2020

please explain a little slower in week 3 its little difficult who is dealing with API for 1st time

By Mohammad T H

Apr 17, 2020

Although most of the course materials are easy, the end of the course project is much too tough

By Pablo B C

Jul 23, 2020

Good course, but had some trouble on the last assignment with a badly configured environment

By Kuan-Chih W

Apr 17, 2020

A great course that takes me step by step learning collecting data from APIs by using python

By Gerson R

Sep 10, 2020

The course materials are good, but would have preferred a more ambitious final project.

By Eden P

May 31, 2020

Was able to learn some really valuable Python skills in this unit. Really enjoyed it.

By Nishad P

May 19, 2020

Just make sure to keep the Textbook environment up to date to avoid inconvenience.

By Alper K

Dec 12, 2019

Final project was very poorly designed (consider movie ratings changes over time).

By ARNAB D

Jun 29, 2020

runestone is sometimes too much painful.

overlooking this fact the course is good

By Juan D C D

Feb 7, 2019

it is a little hard in the end project but its possible if you are persistent

By Shriniwas S U

Jun 19, 2020

Good course but slightly a difficult project .Need to teach more about API

By James N

May 25, 2020

very difficult to do some of the assignments without any error messages

By Justin P B

Nov 15, 2020

Using https://fopp.umsi.education/ was very frustrating at times

By Seyyed M A D

Aug 17, 2019

Thank you. You made Michigan and MIT universities happy. :)

By Kaleem A

Apr 26, 2020

Great course learned a lot about data collection and API

By Arjun K W

Jun 8, 2020

I found API little bit tougher compared to other topics

By Jeffrey B

May 27, 2020

I liked the material on list comprehension and lambda's

By Рязанцев И Г

Apr 17, 2020

The final exam was buggy, but everything else was ok/.

By Luis M L Z

Sep 16, 2019

There are issues with the APIs of the last assignment.

By Danni C

Oct 9, 2019

The content in Week 3 is very hard to understand.